We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
137
36
9
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
36
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner japanese style room opposite the ferry terminal hot stone lotus root don't eat meat likes and dislikes separate sleeping warmth and friendliness staying overnight small bathroom japanese food our week stay fresh oysters japanese family loved staying here highly recommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 192 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We arrived here yesterday, enjoyed all the sights on the island and were in hot pursuit of sushi! We had found it very difficult to find and by 2.30 a lot of places were closing to get ready for the evening. We arrived at Yamaichi just after 2.30, to find it closed. We looked at all the super food in the window. Very quickly the hostess came out and invited us in! We were thrilled! We ordered our food, chatted amongst ourselves for 20 mins and then some amazing sushi appeared! Easily the best food we’ve had in Japan! We had a super experience - would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Joan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Rationals are :
Location : on the pier aera, 50m from ferry station.
Rooms : simple and clean tatami rooms, nothing outstanding but do the job. Bed’s comfort is above average.
Food : outstanding.

This being said, if traveling means for you something more than consuming a panel of services, choose yamaichi bekkan.

The ryokkan is held by a so gentle lady. She welcome, helps, advise... so generously and kindly. The chef is passionated, he explains you the best way to appreciate his delicious and so various food. My wife is vegeterian. Far from being a problem, it was an opportunity for her to taste new things.

If i believe the number of postcards they receive from all over the world, I’m not alone to think so. Rare experience !

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

The Ryokan is directly opposite the Ferry Terminal which was ideal as we arrived pushing our cases... (but you have no noise issues).
Met by the owner who is charming and speaks some English .. also a sign outside saying they cater for Vegetarians ( my daughter is and this is unusual as in general saying vegetarian may remove chicken & beef but fish will still be served).
Our cases were taken up whilst we were given cold water to cool down and then we were shown to our room by Yamaititeppei ... his English is good and he gave us a tour of the room before going through all the local attractions which he marked out on maps to include times it took to walk to them.
The best known feature on the island is the Shrine Gate on the beach and he took care to let us know when high & low tides were ... without this we could have missed the chance to walk out and touch the gates later that evening.
Dinner was served downstairs and Yamaititeppei took time to explain to us what had been served ( we tried things we otherwise may have not been brave enough to try and in the main enjoyed ). True to there word my daughters meal was Vegetarian and excellent.
Thoroughly enjoyed the trip here and our favourite Ryokan of the 3 we stayed at.
Lots of shops and temples within easy walk.
The trip to Mt Misen is worth using the free shuttle bus but be prepared for a challenging walk up once out of the 2nd Cable Car ( ropeway in Japan) especially if very hot and humid as we found the day we tried it.
Would happily return here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank waterdeep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. Directly opposite the ferry and run by the lovely Shinko-san who is so welcoming and gracious. The food here is absolutely delicious and is presented beautifully. Every plate was a delight and Shinko-san takes the time to explain the ingredients which are all incredibly fresh. The rooms are very clean and our Japanese style room had very comfortable futons and a sitting area next to the window, which overlooked the water.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

I had a great dining experience at Yamaichi Bekkan. They were open later than most places and the service was great. I also spoke to two wonderful women from Osaka while eating so the atmosphere was very friendly and open. I ordered a beer and their sushi set, which they told me was really popular and I understand why. It was very delicious and tasted incredibly fresh. The servers kept their cool when a deer wandered in right through the front door! Fun times were had by all at this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraO3454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews