We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pwrfect place to stay on miyajima” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest House Kikugawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Kikugawa
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hatsukaichi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“pwrfect place to stay on miyajima”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very nice place to stay on this stunning island. It is pretty good value, and very well kept and maintained. The staff are fairly helpful, but nor on a par with other places we stayed in Japan. They were not great hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runnergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed 1 night in this ryokan with my family ( 2 adults And 2 small children). Excellent location just 3 minutes from the ferry, friendly welcome. The room was japanese type with good futons and traditional pillows ( quite hard so be prepared), decent seize for 3 futons. We didn't do dinner or breakfast there as prizes are steep. That is the main drawback really, as it seems that everywhere in the Island you tend to pay more for less. But it is well worth it as you get the Island almost for yourself in the evening and early morning and it gives you the possibility of going up Mt Misen on the ropeway and walk around there. On a fine days it is fantastic and was our best day in Japan ( out of 35!).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here one night on our trip to the island.It was conviently located, very close to the ferrys which was a major plus since we were taking an early ride out. The island itself is very tiny, we were very close to the main streets and temples. We had two rooms there, one a traditional japanese room and a more western style one that had two levels, a living room area and an area on top where the mats were. I find japanese bedding to be too thin but luckly they had extra mats and pillows in the room. The room faced the street but it was a very quiet peaceful road, no noise from traffic or other rooms what so ever

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lumasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels and ryokan over four vacations in Japan and this establishment I think provided the hardest bed and pillow (even though we stayed in a Western-style room and not a traditional one). The walls are also very thin: we heard people in next room having a simple, quiet conversation.

Good location (very close to ferry terminal, just a few minutes walk). Friendly staff. They let us keep our baggage by the front desk after our checkout in the morning until the afternoon. Breakfast was included and was Western-style, but very small. Breakfast service was also VERY slow (20 minute wait to get a cup of coffee and we were the first to arrive for breakfast!). Free wifi (but didnt work from our room - had to take our computer to the dining room to access internet).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Located close to the JR ferry drop off, the main shopping street and beer/chu hi vending machine in a narrow classical Japanese street. Nearby, the steep steps to the shinto shrine also accommodate some of the local deer all adding to the location.
The staff, the elderly owner and daughter, provide high service typical of the country. The Japanese style room was clean and and seemed new with the building retaining the old features typical of a Ryokan.
Make sure you get the dinner(3500 yen for 2 and breakfast 1000 yen for two) The dinner is a 7 course meal with the precision in the preparation of the food equal to any high class resturant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crispo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

This guesthouse was a bit of a splurge from our backpacking budget, and we thoroughly enjoyed the upgrade - especially the size of the room! Our room had a good-sized private bathroom, a TV, and tea-making facilities - all of which were most welcome. The staff weren't overly friendly, but they certainly weren't rude. It was easy to find and only a short walk uphill from the ferry. We found an awesome okonomiyaki restaurant just along the waterfront on the main drag to the temple - about 200 yards from the ferry building - fabulous food!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobtheDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

We found this hotel after a 5 minute walk from the ferry at noon (long before check in at 15:00) They took our luggage and we went off for sightseeing. We returned much later to see our rooms with the luggage in them. We were three, my wife and I, and our son in a separate room. The rooms were renovated, clean and comfortabe, thje bathroom was small but fine. Later,,,,,,,,we went to dinner and that was a surrpise. It was" kaiseke", in which food is artfully presented and delicious! We had sake (our choice). The next day we took the lift to the top of the mountain. Our son walked down and we took the lift to return. The "shopping street" was near the guest house. The second day we had another "kaiseke" meal with different items and again it was excellent. I should add that the breakfasts were plentiful and good;. We would certainly stay in this guest house again!!! We thought that the price was fair.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
0.3 mi away
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#6 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
#3 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kikunoya
Hotel Kikunoya
#10 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sakuraya
Sakuraya
#2 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iwaso
Iwaso
#1 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iroha
Iroha
#7 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Kikugawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Kikugawa

Property: Guest House Kikugawa
Address: 796 Miyajimacho, Hatsukaichi 739-0511, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hatsukaichi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Guest House Kikugawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Kikugawa Hotel Hatsukaichi
Guest House Kikugawa Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing