We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little ryokan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Kikugawa
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hatsukaichi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here one night on our trip to the island.It was conviently located, very close to the ferrys which was a major plus since we were taking an early ride out. The island itself is very tiny, we were very close to the main streets and temples. We had two rooms there, one a traditional japanese room and a more western style one that had two levels, a living room area and an area on top where the mats were. I find japanese bedding to be too thin but luckly they had extra mats and pillows in the room. The room faced the street but it was a very quiet peaceful road, no noise from traffic or other rooms what so ever

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lumasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Guest House Kikugawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 93 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels and ryokan over four vacations in Japan and this establishment I think provided the hardest bed and pillow (even though we stayed in a Western-style room and not a traditional one). The walls are also very thin: we heard people in next room having a simple, quiet conversation.

Good location (very close to ferry terminal, just a few minutes walk). Friendly staff. They let us keep our baggage by the front desk after our checkout in the morning until the afternoon. Breakfast was included and was Western-style, but very small. Breakfast service was also VERY slow (20 minute wait to get a cup of coffee and we were the first to arrive for breakfast!). Free wifi (but didnt work from our room - had to take our computer to the dining room to access internet).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Located close to the JR ferry drop off, the main shopping street and beer/chu hi vending machine in a narrow classical Japanese street. Nearby, the steep steps to the shinto shrine also accommodate some of the local deer all adding to the location.
The staff, the elderly owner and daughter, provide high service typical of the country. The Japanese style room was clean and and seemed new with the building retaining the old features typical of a Ryokan.
Make sure you get the dinner(3500 yen for 2 and breakfast 1000 yen for two) The dinner is a 7 course meal with the precision in the preparation of the food equal to any high class resturant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crispo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This guesthouse was a bit of a splurge from our backpacking budget, and we thoroughly enjoyed the upgrade - especially the size of the room! Our room had a good-sized private bathroom, a TV, and tea-making facilities - all of which were most welcome. The staff weren't overly friendly, but they certainly weren't rude. It was easy to find and only a short walk uphill from the ferry. We found an awesome okonomiyaki restaurant just along the waterfront on the main drag to the temple - about 200 yards from the ferry building - fabulous food!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobtheDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We found this hotel after a 5 minute walk from the ferry at noon (long before check in at 15:00) They took our luggage and we went off for sightseeing. We returned much later to see our rooms with the luggage in them. We were three, my wife and I, and our son in a separate room. The rooms were renovated, clean and comfortabe, thje bathroom was small but fine. Later,,,,,,,,we went to dinner and that was a surrpise. It was" kaiseke", in which food is artfully presented and delicious! We had sake (our choice). The next day we took the lift to the top of the mountain. Our son walked down and we took the lift to return. The "shopping street" was near the guest house. The second day we had another "kaiseke" meal with different items and again it was excellent. I should add that the breakfasts were plentiful and good;. We would certainly stay in this guest house again!!! We thought that the price was fair.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aggtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Very expensive for an ordinary style Japanese hotel. The internet was coin operated and although it was a nice quiet island location not really worth the money. Miyajima is worth a day visit but not worth an overnight stay as it is only a short trip by rail from Hiroshima.

6  Thank grahamfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had breakfast & dinner here for an extra 6,000 yen/person/night extra.

The chef at this hotel is very good. He cooks original and interesting dishes, which were the cullinary highlight of my trip to Japan. Dinner consists of around 8 courses which was easily enough to fill me up.

Dinner is pricey, but well worth it, but Breakfast is a bargain as its not some standard buffet-style breakfast, but instead its a gourmet breakfast.

The hotel itself was nice, but not particularly special. It was really the food which made me very happy with this place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank MeowMui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
175 reviews
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#7 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
302 reviews
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
#14 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajima Guesthouse Mikuniya
#1 of 8 in Hatsukaichi
206 reviews
Iwaso
#1 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
528 reviews
Sakuraya
#2 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Kikugawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Kikugawa

Address: 796 Miyajimacho, Hatsukaichi 739-0511, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hatsukaichi
Price Range: $61 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Guest House Kikugawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Kikugawa Hotel Hatsukaichi
Guest House Kikugawa Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing