We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Miyajima
from $46.48
More Info
from $116.35
More Info
from $1,464.00
More Info
Reviews (4,820)
Filter reviews
4,820 results
Traveler rating
3,499
1,147
143
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,499
1,147
143
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters beautiful island day trip cable car torii gate itsukushima shrine jr ferry low tide maple leaf tame deer souvenir shops friendly deer mount misen stay overnight hiroshima station food stalls small island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 4,820 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2019 via mobile

This is a great island across the bay from Hiroshima. We took the bullet train to Hiroshima, took the ferry to Miyajima and arrived on the island early afternoon. The deer here aren’t as aggressive as Nara, but in town they do try to eat your stuff. The ropeway to Mr Misen is worth the view, but know there are many steps and much walking. There are mamy shrines. The floating tori is completely covered in scaffolding and is not visible.

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank jennamoonphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019 via mobile

What a huge disappointment. It took is more than four hours extra and you can not see the gate at all.

The temple and deer were nice to see,but definitely not worth all the effort.

Please be advised to phone or check on the website and ask.

We were not impressed,specifically because they do not warn visitors. Bad taste.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank AnnelieN405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

We boarded the ferry in Miyajimaguchi for the ten minute ride for Miyajima Island. Miyajima is the island with the Itsukushima Shine. We spent time touring the shrine and other parts of the island. There are souvenir shops, plenty of places to eat and take scenic walks. There is a park on the island that has roaming deers. The deers will follow you around for food and try to get into anything you have so hold on to your purse.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

This is my second time here- and again it is a magical place with an amazing atmosphere. The gate is in renovation but still i would not miss this place.
The main temple, the deer everywhere, the pagoda, the nice museums, the streets with shops and restaurants. Half a day of enjoyment!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank 123elendil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

Was very disappointed to learn when we arrived that the gate was completely covered up for repair works because I had been looking forward to seeing it. Had to make do with seeing the Itsukushima shrine but far more special is the Daishoin temple. It is soo worth climbing the 99 steps to the top.
The cable car ride to the top of Misen was also spectacular as were the views when we got to the top.
Unfortunately we only had half a day, would recommend a full day if you can afford the time.
Also check the tide times and try and visit around high tide.(when the gate isn’t shrouded).

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank georgematthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews