We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This island is so full of different attractions, where to start”
Review of Miyajima

Miyajima
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.93*
and up
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima
More Info
$352.32*
and up
Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka
More Info
$352.32*
and up
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto
Ranked #1 of 85 things to do in Hatsukaichi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic site that includes the Itsukushima Shrine, Otorii Gate and visit to Mt. Misen.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This island is so full of different attractions, where to start”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As you come down the walkway there are many shrines and temples here, big lion statures plenty too see and of course the deers as you come onto the site.
Then on the other side the fabulous view do the lake and the famous floating Tori Gate, brilliant red, so many great photo opportunities. The main Temple has many passages so there is much to see.
Afterwards you can walk through the market streets and eat grilled oysters and yummy ice cream or do some shopping for souvenirs.
Don't miss out on this area, very pretty and lots of culture

After we left we went on the Kyoto bullet train, which was fantastically fast. Wish we had them here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,492
    835
    90
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh my deer”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a must see! Make sure you know when the tide is in, it looks a lot cooler. The ferry ride is nice and only cost 340 yen. The other huge plus is how close you can get to deer!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakeraz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but plan ahead when staying overnight.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Miyajima is a great island and the shrine is definitely worth seeing. Also staying there overnight was a good choice because it gets really empty in the evening and you can sit in front of the water close to the shrine all by yourself. BUT things really get quiet in the evening. We booked a hotel without dinner and there was basically only a single restaurant open apart from some hotel dining options which were quite pricey. The restaurant was also expensive and the quality of the food was below average. If you plan on staying, we would recommend to book a hotel with dinner included.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Very peaceful, good hikes”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I wish I had more time here. The views are really nice and looks like the hikes are quite nice. More characters for Tripadvisor

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Miyajima island is a short trip by ferry from the mainland, not far from Hiroshima. We decided to stay on the island for 2 nights as a small teat at the end of our Japanese adventure....best decision we could have made. During the day things get pretty busy on the Island but when the last ferry leaves just after 7 pm the whole atmosphere changes. It's tranquil, walking in Yukata along the beach front looking at the Torji (gate) by the light if the moon with the Temple floating on the water in the background. A memory I will have forever. If you have the chance to spend even one night as a guest....take it, the difference between day and night is everlasting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyajima also viewed

Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Miyajima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing