We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated and pricey...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I'm surprised to see so many positive reviews of this place. The owners need to spend some money to update just about everything. They did warn that the hot water takes awhile to reach your room; but after letting the water run for over fifteen minutes, I gave up and opted for a cold (low pressure) shower. The resort is a couple of miles from sights and restaurants. It needs paint and updates through out. I saw one review that said they had wifi, this not in the room but in the lobby as stated on a small sign in the elevator. Our room smelled like an ashtray. I probably would not have written this review if the room hadn't cost over $250.00 USD. I understand and appreciate the concept of a Ryokan, but this is a large old building with rooms that look like a 'Ryokan'. The one saving grace was the staff who were amazing, courteous, and professional. The owners on the other hand need to invest some time and money revamping this property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightfoot-OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Miyajima Seaside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 292 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

One of the cheaper places to stay in Miyajima as it doesn't have a view of the Ohtori gate. It's a good walk into town but there's a regular mini-bus going form the hotel. We found if you just asked at reception the guy would take you down any time you liked! Only a public Onsen compared to some that have private ones in each room. Dinner was an experience and served in our room which was nice. Great views of the small harbour and the wildlife (deer, hawks, cranes etc).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinBrianDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel has an "Onsen" hot water baths and only has typical Japanese style rooms. For the first time in our lives we slept on "tatami's" mattresses on the floor which was just fine.
The hotel isn't new but very clean and offers free WIFI in the rooms.
We had a Japanese dinner at the hotel and it was lovely.
The buffet breakfast was great and the gift shop had a large variety of lovely gifts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights while on a tour with my partner.

From the moment the bus picked us up at the Ferry Terminal, We really felt welcomed.

The Onsen was REALLY hot, so I only used it once. The showers up in the room took a while before the hot water got to us, but they do warn of this in the room.

The view from the rooms were beautiful.

The restaurant had some beautiful food. Definately enjoyed our meals, and they offered both japanese and western brekkies for people who don't feel like fish for brekkie.

The rooms were traditional futons on tatami, and the bathrooms, allbeit the same size of every other japanese bathroom, was clean and the toilet was in another room which made it a bit more manageable.

Loved it, and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatandAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

A traditional Japanese Inn that will provide an interesting cultural experience. Very peaceful in a nice setting with very helpful staff and of course scrupulously clean. Possibly a bit dated or quaint for some tastes, and not for those wanting European style accommodation and food, but then why go to Japan and not experience the culture. The room we had was roomy by Japanese standards. The beds are made up on the floor each evening and we found it preferable to use 2 or 3 mattresses rather than the normal 1.

Wi Fi was available in the lobby area. No problem with pick up from the ferry or return at any time but a phone call is required when arriving.

The island is an interesting tourist destination in itself, and access from Hiroshima is rapid and frequent making it suitable as a base for a day trip to the city. We felt one day in the city visiting the Peace Park was sufficient for Hiroshima.

We enjoyed the experience and recommend it although it may not be the cheapest option.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Cons: The hotel is out of the centre of town and it's a long walk. The good news is that there's a shuttle which goes into the centre every half hour in the morning (takes a few minutes) and they'll ocme and pick you up whenver you want - just give them a call.
The western breakfast is a bit limited - but adequate to start your day.
Pros: Everything else.
The hotel is not new, but it's spotlessly clean and well kept. The rooms were very large and comfortable, with loads of bedding. We had a lovely view of the sea from our room, and sitting there watching the sun go down, with the deer wandering along the beach below the window - well, it doesn't get much better than that!
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and a couple of them actually spoke some English - a pleasant surprise.
The island itself is fascinating - take the cable car up to the top of mount Misen and walk down (the Daishoin path - about 2.5 hours - has magnificant views) through the forest for a wonderful day's outing.
Of course the floating Torii gate is the main attraction, but the temple beside it is also worth seeing - we saw a Kabuki theatre show in the temple....very interesting.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed at the Miyajima Seaside Hotel for 1 night, arriving late afternoon and then leaving the next afternoon.

Miyajima is marvellous and I recommend staying on the island, but I suspect you could find better places than this hotel. It's quite a distance from the centre of the island, it took us about 20 minutes to walk from the ferry and, although the hotel offers a pick up bus when you arrive, otherwise you have to walk into the centre. It also runs a shuttle bus back in the morning, but only at set times so if you want to travel at other times you can't take the bus, which is annoying if you have suitcases.

The hotel itself is a pleasant Japanese style place with nice views of the sea, but our room smelt odd and it didn't have the specialness of other places we stayed at. The staff weren't quite as friendly, the food wasn't quite as good (especially the Western style breakfast, which we couldn't eat). There was also a noisy karaoke party going on in the hotel which was disturbing and meant a lot of non-guests were hanging around the lobby, so I felt uncomfortable visitng the baths.

I also think it was quite expensive, for what we received.

I wonder if it would be better to visit in the summer, we may have caught them off season which may excuse a few of my complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetterOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#7 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
304 reviews
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
#15 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
125 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajimaguchi Station
Aki Grand Hotel
Aki Grand Hotel
#16 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
230 reviews
Hotel Kikunoya
#11 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
97 reviews
Kurayado Iroha
#6 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyajima Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyajima Seaside Hotel

Address: 967 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi 739-0501, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels / Ryokan in Hatsukaichi
Price Range: $218 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyajima Seaside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute drive from Miyajima Ferry Port with its free shuttle, beautiful ocean views can be enjoyed from Miyajima Seaside Hotel. The hotel features a public bath, a karaoke room and free WiFi at the lobby. Japanese-style rooms feature a tatami (woven mat) floor and shoji sliding paper screens. Some rooms offer tranquil views of the Seto Inland Sea. They are fitted with an LCD TV, a mini-fridge and traditional futon beds. An en suite bathroom and yukata robes are provided. The hotel serves Japanese and western-style breakfast between 07:00 and 08:30 and traditional Japanese Kaiseki dinner from 18:00 until 19:00. Miyajima Hotel houses a soothing hot public bath, a souvenir shop and free-use laundry facilities. Drinks vending machines are on-site, and free parking is available. Seaside Hotel Miyajima is a 5-minute drive from the Itsukushima Shinto Shrine, a Unesco World Heritage Site. It's a 5-minute drive from Senjokaku Hall, and an 8-minute drive from Daisho-in Temple. Miyajima Ropeway lift is a 5-minute shuttle and a 20-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Rakuten, Priceline, Otel, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Miyajima Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyajima Seaside Hotel Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing