We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

after visiting quite few proper hotels and proper ryokans in Japan this place was a cheesy version of both. Also not that clean like other places we saw, especially the hot bath part. Breakfast was very good though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geelonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the first Japanese-style hotel we stayed in on our travels and it was probably the best. Although very Western looking initially the hotel was very Japanese at heart.

In particular the room was outstanding - it was huge (a whole family came out of the room next door!). The separate seating area by the window had a view over the bay which was fantastic. We spent most of our time in the room sitting there and enjoying the view, and looking over the hill where the deer were roaming too.

The futon beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom area was very pleasant as well - with separate toilet and sink area. The yakata provided were very lovely and we couldn't fault the quality of the room or cleaning at all.

The onsen was outstanding as well - it was large, well equipped and the outside area was lovely to look at.

There is limited food available on Miyajima after dark so we chose to eat in the hotel and paid for this with our booking. On arrival in Japan we realised that getting vegetarian food may be difficult so emailed ahead. This hotel promptly confirmed they would be able to accommodate this (another hotel didn't) and they didn't disappoint. We had 2 nights of full Japanese meals with an incredible number and range of dishes. The food was spectacular (although we were pretty full by the end) and in particular the effort that had gone into making the vegetarian option was impressive.

Admittedly the dining room was a bit odd (a massive banqueting room!) but that didn't detract from the enjoyment of the food at all and the large banqueting tables were almost essential with the amount of food we were brought...

The service for dinner and breakfast was excellent - although we didn't communicate in the same language we got by and were given everything we asked for, with a smile. Equally at the front desk the service was excellent - we asked for an advance view of our bill to make sure we had enough cash and they happily obliged.

The hotel is well located in all aspects - it is less than 10 minutes from the ferry terminal and again less than 10 minutes to the main shrine. But being on a hill provides some rooms with a view which is fantastic.

There isn't wifi but there is a computer avaiable for guests' use - this seemed to be a common theme in the hotels we stayed at across Japan.

Miyajima is an expensive island to stay on, and although not cheap, I think this hotel was relative value for money. This hotel actually wasn't our first choice but it was a fantastic place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieh313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here with my family of 10 and it was awesome. I've never felt more relaxed and my experience really set the tone for the rest of my trip.

Nice staff. Everyone was so friendly and humble.

The rooms were traditional with tatami mats on the floor, a sliding paper door that led to a seating area near the window, and a fantastic view of the small city and water. Take your shoes off before you step into the room. The staff even provides hot water and a tea set for you. The toilet seats are heated. The shower is separate from the toilet, and there's a bunch of cute sundries like toothbrushes and combs for you to use.

Downstairs there is a communal bath, one side for the ladies and the other for the men. You wash yourself at a seated shower station and then enter this amazing hot spa. Our tour guide said to do this three times. Once before dinner, once before bed, and once you wake up.

We had a nine course dinner that was spectacular, all predetermined by the chef.

I highly recommend staying at this cute little traditional hotel for the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoodleyDooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night there on our overnight on Miyajima from Hiroshima.
Price is quite steep, so you'd expect great quality baths, clean and/or modern rooms/bathrooms, which wasnt the case
The trash in pur bathroom was not empty when we checked it at 6pm.
Then the bathroom in itself is quite aged.
Bath is old / only one interior one.
if i came back to Miyajima, i would either choose another place / not spend the night and stay in Hiroshima which has much nicer hotels for almost half the price.
Service was good/polite, no issue there

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypersphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Many previous reviews have mentioned, that if possible, a traveller should stay overnight on Miyajima Island instead of just being a day tripper and leaving on the last ferry. My wife and I were able to spend one glorious night on the island. The Hotel Mankato exceeded our expectations in every way. The information booth at the ferry terminal will call the hotel and arrange to have your bags delivered to your ro if you wish to shop first in the village. The hotel representative also gave us umbrellas at the terminal. At check-in you will be asked for your breakfast time. Breakfast service stops at 9:00. We chose the western breakfast and were very happy with our choice. Waiting for us on the table were eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, rolls, and coffee. A great way to start a sightseeing day. Do not forget to take advantage of the Japanese bath that the hotel offers. An excellent facility with an outstanding staff

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cseesaw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel is really a Ryokan (Japanese Inn). We called and were picked up at the ferry terminal. The rooms are spacious with tatamis and use futons for sleeping. There's also a safe in the room for your valuables. Was a pleasant change not to have internet available at all (a time to do some bonding). All staff members were very helpful as is the norm in Japan. Altho check-in was not until 3PM, we took the opportunity to explore the area near the ferry terminal. Our booking did not include dinner so we decided to look for a restaurant in the shopping area. Unfortunately we were warned that many shops and eateries close at 6PM. However, we did find a small restaurant that offered juicy BBQ fresh oysters. Very delicious paired with sake! For the evening, we reserved a private bath and sauna for two (see pic) at no extra charge. Our booking included breakfast. We chose the Japanese style and were not disappointed. Variety was excellent as was the service. Everything operates on clockwork so be on time so in order to savour the food at its best. Unfortunately the next morning rained but still a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Spent one night at this hotel in July 2010. The hotel booking includes dinner, bed (futon!) and breakfast. Rooms in this hotel are spacious and are furnished in a traditional Japanese style with Tatami mats, low table and chairs and futons that are made up after dinner for sleeping on. Despite us having little Japanese between us we had no problems at this hotel - the staff were incredibly helpful and one member of staff appeared to be charged with looking after us as she had superb English. The waitresses had less English but were extremely friendly and helpful when explaining how to eat the ten course Japanese dinner (some of which you cook yourself which is an experience). We had the standard dinner (there was a deluxe and a budget option avaiable as well) and found it very advenurous for our Western palates but was definitely an experience that should not be missed. For breakfast we choose the Japanese option (rather than a Western style breakfast which was also available) - again this was quite a culinary adventure. Overall a wonderful hotel on a lovely island - if you have time to fit in a visit to miyajima would thoroughly recommend staying here for a night or 2 - you may run out of things to do on the island if you stay much longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APMGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#5 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
308 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Aki Grand Hotel
Aki Grand Hotel
#16 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
236 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
#3 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
296 reviews
Hotel Kikunoya
#11 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
98 reviews
Kurayado Iroha
#7 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyajima Hotel Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyajima Hotel Makoto

Address: 755 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi 739-0518, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Hatsukaichi
Price Range: $189 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyajima Hotel Makoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Miyajima Hotel Makoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyajima Hotel Hatsukaichi
Miyajima Hotel Makoto Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing