We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, and very good value”
Review of Hotel le Cara Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Cara Sol
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elne
Certificate of Excellence
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Delightful, and very good value”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Cara-sol is classified as a 2-chimney establishment in the French Logis guide – I’ve stayed in many 2-chimney Logis, and I think that Cara-sol is infinitely better than any of them. It is moreover excellent value for money: we had a modern, clean, comfortable bedroom with a stunning view over the plain of the Roussillon towards the Pyrenees, and a copious breakfast, for 85 euros. Bathroom well-equipped, but a hairdryer would be useful. Bed and pillows a little hard. Good restaurant, with terrace sharing the same wonderful views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    48
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
74
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed four nights and didn't want to leave.Great views of the "Pie Renees" I really loved the food and the local red wine was too good to be true(You can keep your Chateau Petrus) I will be back."General Mc Arthur 1942"

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtrotterLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

After returning from a spain vacation, we stayed a couple of nights in this great hotel. Sitting on the walls of Elne, you have a stunning view on the Pyrenees. The restaurant is great, wonderful meals, the english cook is doing as good, if not better than any french cook in this price range. John, the owner and host is always helpful. While staying there, the hotel went through some major extension with adding more rooms. The town is easy to reach from here, as well as the sea cost and Perpignan. The rooms are good size, nicely equipped and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Always_0n_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have stayed in the hotel Cara Sol a number of times now and just can not fault it in any way even more so after the hotel has had a whole transformation. You will arrive to the most spectacular views across the Pyrenees and greeted by such friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are modern and clean with all the facilities you require. The beautiful restaurant and bar which serves excellent food and wine, the outside terrace is also a real treat. Well worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapman-Crisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel with my partner,so lovely,great view for mountains,quiet and very close to our new house

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nici-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

a quite relaxing stay, food excelent, a la carte and set menu. good wine list. rooms spotless with flat screen tv's (satellite ) proprietor and staff helpfull and friendly.

breakfast on the terrace with fantastic views.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We have stayed at Hotel Cara Sol for 2 summers now and we just LOVE IT! The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, the restaurant has excellent food and the view is fantastic. The Hotel has a perfect location in the old city of Elne perched on top of the old town with a beautiful panoramic view to the south and west. We had many wonderful dinners on the terrace, with fantastic sunsets!
Elne is the perfect jumping off point for the whole region, close to the sea, mountains, and all the well known quaint coastal towns. It is a peaceful home away from home that time has forgotten and a place where you can truly relax and enjoy a holiday with your spouse or family in a perfect setting!
We have found our paradise!
A happy family from Norway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elne
3.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Las Motas
Hotel Spa Las Motas
#1 of 2 in Alenya
147 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Lagune Beach Resort and Spa
La Lagune Beach Resort and Spa
#3 of 5 in Saint-Cyprien
259 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
540 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel L'Ile de la Lagune
Hotel L'Ile de la Lagune
#1 of 5 in Saint-Cyprien
370 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#7 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Cara Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cara Sol

Property: Hotel le Cara Sol
Address: 10 Boulevard Illiberis, 66200 Elne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Elne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Cara Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel le Cara Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing