We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely farm stay”
Review of Fattoria di Marena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria di Marena
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We had a lovely stay at this farm. Our apartment had everything we needed for a family with two-year old twins: there were two cots en even two highchairs. Our boys loved to watch all the animals on the farm: goats, chickens, ducks, dogs, cats (including kittens), horses and cows. Tuscany in the fall looks just great: the colours are unique. Our favourite visit was Poppi zoo but we also went a couple of times to Firenze. Eating out was no problem since Italian restaurants tend to be more childfriendly then the ones at home - and most children like pasta.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siska80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

We recently returned from spending 9 nights at Fattoria di Marena with our 7 year old son, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Isabella and her family are very welcoming, accommodating and give wonderful advice for day trips, restaurants and local foods to sample.

We stayed in a very clean and spacious two bedroom apartment-villa across from the main house, with high timbered ceilings and beautiful rustic furnishings. The kitchen was fully equipped, and there was even a cold meal waiting for us in the fridge for our arrival in case we were late.

The setting was very authentic with a small scale operating farm (beef cattle) and a menagerie of other animals to keep children entertained - chickens, ducks, donkey, goats, dog and cats. There is a nice long farm roadway, which is great for morning and evening walks among the fields and animals. A large, clean pool with a beautiful view over the countryside was a focal point - and a meeting place for the various families staying on the farm (there are about half a dozen different lodgings). A children's riding school operates on the farm - our son took one lesson, but I wish we had arranged for more. The instructor, Alessandra, is very professional, great with children and has beautiful horses. Another unique feature of the farm was the daily morning visit of 'the bread lady' who arrived with a truckload of fresh breads and pizzas (the onion pizza was our favourite) to purchase.

The location is wonderful for families - many interesting day trips are possible - Poppi castle and zoo, La Verna Monastery (my personal favourite), Arezzo, Cortona, and various other churches, castles and monasteries.

Bibbiena is a good size town with all amenities, and Soci, just a couple of KM away, is a really nice little village with a lively square on a Friday or Saturday night, a weekly farmer's market and a wonderful little restaurant (La Vita) that Isabella recommended and we visited twice!

Definitely, a memorable stay for us and an experience we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

First of all I would like to thank Isabella and her family for the perfect vacation we just have had. We have visited 3 places in Tuscany, but her place was the best!
Its a nice country house near Bibbiena village, just 30 km from Arezzo. We had 3 spacious rooms with an amazing view on the forest, which at night was fascinating by the lights or fireflies, which was almost a fairytale view.
The farm was great! Our daughter made friendship with Tasha, an absolutely adorable dog, and was excited to visit cows, horses, meet a donkey or goats, play with cats.
I would certainly recommend this place for those who are looking for a runaway from busy towns and wants to enjoy peace and nature.
Isabella was also very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We – two families with four girls - have stayed at the Fattoria Marena for two weeks (end of August and beginning of September) in Casa Berto and Casa Fornace. All of us have enjoyed this vacation a lot – it was the perfect mixture for everybody. Swimming in the pool was great (the pool is large so you can really swim), relaxing (this is how you imagine tuscany), great view, a nice city close by for going out in the evening and doing the shopping, hiking, having a short walk through the forest close by and riding (Alessandra was a great teacher) !!! And for sight-seeing we visited Florence! Isabella and her family were always helpful and made sure we had a great stay. This was a great family vacation!

Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
3  Thank MunichMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davideF6196DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danilobad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibbiena
4.9 mi away
I Tre Baroni
I Tre Baroni
#1 of 1 in Moggiona
378 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Collina delle Stelle
La Collina delle Stelle
#2 of 7 in Bibbiena
249 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Casentino
Agriturismo Casentino
#1 of 7 in Bibbiena
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast La Collina
2.4 mi away
Poggio a Poppi
Poggio a Poppi
#1 of 5 in Poppi
132 reviews
10.8 mi away
Agriturismo Montemezzano
Agriturismo Montemezzano
#1 of 9 in Pratovecchio
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria di Marena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Marena

Address: Loc. Marena, 52011, Bibbiena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Bibbiena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bibbiena
Price Range: $116 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old farm offering self catering accommodation (for a max of 10 families) in apartments and detached farmhouses with family friendly activities and services: pool, horse riding school for children, bikes, foothpaths, guided farm tours. All accommodations are large and fully furnished, with table and seats for the outside. Landlord family living in the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria di Marena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Marena Italy/Bibbiena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing