We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Padrisimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Viva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Viva
Ranked #1 of 1 Petatlan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sonoma, California
1 review
“Padrisimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Playa Viva for too short a stay. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the property – staff, architecture, design, beaches, solitude, trash/walk bags, solitude, location, accommodations, water, solitude, peace, and on.

I knew I was in the right place when I started observing the pelican formations follow the cresting wave lines, watching the Willets methodically stock their prey on the beach, and forgetting about everything else. We spent a good part of our meals studying the beautiful joinery in the ceilings of the pavilion and any number of other skillfully executed design details throughout the property.

Thank you for creating what we truly understand was an act of love, commitment, patience, tenacity and attention to details.We travel extensively and know just how special this property truly is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
79
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The architecture and design is awesome. The location is beautiful. The staff is amazing and gracious. The food is authentic and delicious. We couldn't have asked for a better get away. I would highly recommend Playa Viva to anyone wanting to experience an amazing part of Mexico away from the large tourist crouds and beach front highrises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFairchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I don't even know where to start but everything about Playa Viva gets 5 stars. The entire staff are warm and welcoming, going out of their way to ensure you stay is one of relaxation. Their food is made fresh daily using locally grown fruits and vegetables for their meals. You have to drive down a long slightly bumpy dirt road to get there, but once you do you walk into a small piece of heaven. Your casitas are open air, allowing you to fall asleep to the waves crashing on shore. If you take an excursions I recommened the ATV ride up into the Sierra mountains to meet a family that have no eletric living entirely off the land making their own coffee, chocolate, grow their own vegetables. It was truly a life altering experience. We met some amazing people while there, enjoyed interacting with them but still having plenty of time to relax. We didn't want to leave and are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: any rooms here are nice. Some are private casitas, some share a bath. but regardless what room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

As well traveled people we appreciate and seek out beautiful, tranquil isolated places. Playa Viva appealed to us on every level. The gracious staff really makes the experience complete, they are well trained, kind and team spirited. Communal meals are delicious, the beaches are empty and the days were restful and uncomplicated. Julia, the resident manager runs a very tight and tidy ship. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are selectively sharing the secret with some friends. This is the sort of place you dream about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSonomaCounty_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We have just had 10 days at Playa Viva and loved it! The setting is spectacular, located down a long bumpy drive and what emerges is a coastal haven. The views are spectacular, pristine beach and open-air genuinely thatched contemporary casitas. Sleeping at night to the sound of crashing waves with the gentle sea breeze is magical. We loved the communal daily routine of shared meals, bonding over Basil margueritas, releasing of the baby turtles, morning yoga and nightly games of Uno and Werewolf!! Of particular note is the quality of food and staff. The food is absolutely delicious - fresh, seasonal and all prepared and created there (we finished one meal and couldn't wait till the next!). The staff are magnificent! The majority are locals and everyone is friendly, personable and goes the extra mile. Johnny the tour leader and ' bar man' was standout for us with his energy and enthusiasm. Highlights for us were spotting whales from the resort, watching a mama turtle lay eggs, releasing baby turtles as part of the sanctuary programme, Sierra mountain tour, wildlife refuge tour, learning to cast a net like the locals ( we've bought a net back to NZ!), the beach and food! We met the most amazing people who were there as fellow guests and between the staff and themselves contributed to our amazing experience. Such beauty and environmental experience doesn't come without its challenges such as mosquitos, inconsistent lighting, water supply and internet access. None of this matters in this setting which is truly unique, luxurious and beautiful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SallyPB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

How many times do you plan a vacation and look forward to rest and relaxation ,but then it turns out to be just as hectic as being at work? That won't happen here! This was the most relaxing, tranquil and fun 7 days we've ever had. We booked a return trip next year before we left!

First of all, David, the owner, is a very helpful and gracious host. He provided us with lots of personal attention while planning our trip, answering our questions and helping us get ready. When our flight was delayed, we called him in the states, and he contacted the onside staff to let them know for us!

When we finally arrived in Zihuatenejo, the promised transportation was easily found and ready to go. It's about a 45 min ride.

As one of the other reviewers mentioned, "off the beaten path" is an understatement! It's located about a mile or so down a dirt road, through a small stream, over a small bridge, through the jungle, and suddenly, you are there! It's an adventure from the very beginning!

No words can prepare you for what you'll find. Open air casitas (you can't call them 'rooms'), the freindliest staff members, pure PRISTINE beach as far as the eye can see in either direction, amazing food, and of course, unique Basil Margaritas, made from locally grown organic basil!

The casitas are like living in a Swiss Family Robinson tree house, with thatch roof, rope handrails, but with your own bathroom! All open air, no windows, and basically, shutters for doors. Awesome!

The beach and ocean are the focus, but it is unlike any beach we've been to in Mexico. Clean, pristine, unspoiled for miles in both directions. The only folks we saw were a few fishermen casting nets, and some locals folks wandering by every other day on horseback. No vendors hawking their wares every five minutes!!!! Most of the time, we had the beach to ourselves!

The onsite staff are an amazing team. The staff are all local residents, except for Evan, the yoga and massage guy, and Emily, who was there doing work in the local community as an intern. The rest of the staff are all local people who have experience from larger resorts, but have come home to work here. Julia, the manager, and Johnny, the bartender, tour guide, and surfer in training, are incredible folks, along with Olga, Gloria, and Abram the chef, as well as all the other folks you'll meet, are truly doing a fantastic job. What an amazing team! They really know how to make you feel right at home.

We were there the week before Thanksgiving, and happened to be the only two guests there. It's not large, only 8 casitas, so, 'full' means only 16 or 20 guests anyway. We felt like we had our own private beach house for a week! Evan and Emily kept us company at mealtimes, and we had some great discussions and dominos games ! We really appreciated their company!

Ok, I haven't even mentioned the main attraction - the sea turtles! We went in November, because David recommended that as a particularly active time if the year for turtle activity. Every night they come up and nest on the beach, local volunteers donate their time to find the nests, collect the eggs, and re bury them in a protected sanctuary, where they can hatch unmolested. Then, after they hatch, they bring them to the resort for the guests to release them into the sea. We were lucky enough to do this almost every day. It's amazing. Words cannot describe the feeling! Imagine sending 300 hatchlings out to sea on their first day of their 7 year adventure before they will come back to the same beach to nest and start the cycle over! Incredible.

We spent our time relaxing on the beach, taking long walks, hiking the property - its 200 acres! - and we went on some local tours with Johnny as well.

And the food was incredible. Abram and Olga made everything fresh and homemade. You hav to see it to believe it! We even had sushi one night! I wasn't expecting that.

All in all, a fantastic week. We loved it and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pformosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the start it was great! when you walk up the trail to the main are the view was spectacular! The staff invited us in like we where family. We got into the open air rooms and it really felt like the was you dream a tropical home on stilts. The pool and ocean complement eachother. The food was so good! It had all the feeling of being home at moms house, having dinner 3 squar meals a day meat lovers and vegetarians delite. If you want to just put your feet up and read a book or do yoga on a open air perch this is the place. The turle release program is so cool! its a must do every morning! All around a great place to vacation family mellow style! Other than the 6 guest and staff and a couple of fisherman I did not se another soul on the beach. Many days I walked the beach and not a person for the eye to see! It was just all around relaxing place, really makes the world slow down to a turtels pace! loved it! cant wait till next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are rad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeydlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Viva

Property: Playa Viva
Address: Carretera Zihuatanejo-Acapulco | Playa Icacos Juluchuca, GRO, Petatlan 40834, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Petatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Viva is a sustainable boutique hotel with 8 rooms on a private beach located 30 minutes from Zihuatanejo-Ixtapa International airport. Play Viva is located on 200 acres with 1.3 kilometers of beach front. 85% of the property is in a Private Reserve for use of guests and includes a turtle sanctuary, archaeological site, working permaculture farm, forest restoration, estuary and much more. Come enjoy yoga, surfing or any of the many local activities. Playa Viva is off grid, operating 100% on solar power, solar thermal water heating, grey and black water management systems and built with local materials and craftsmanship. We specialize in farm to table, sourcing much of our food locally and can handle a wide variety of dietary concerns from vegetarian and vegan to many types of allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Playa Viva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Viva Hotel Petatlan
Playa Viva Mexico/Petatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing