We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Viva
Nearby Hotels
$240
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Arena Dorada(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Villas San Sebastian(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mexicana Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Raul 3 Marias(Zihuatanejo)
BestDay.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacifica Grand(Zihuatanejo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
204
2
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
2
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle sanctuaryopen airother guestssolar powertaking long walksevery morningrejuvenating experienceatv adventureyoga classesbeach paradiseeco friendlycrashing wavesprivate paradisefamily vacationoutdoor showerocean viewlounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 209 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We felt blessed to be able to spend a week at Playa Viva! What an amazing experience! A unique eco friendly and self-sustainable resort with meals so fresh!, Every meal was cooked with love from the incredibly friendly staff, with produce from their own organic garden.
Do not miss the basil margaritas by Johnny!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aleny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This place was a wonderful surprise! With 5 beach front villas and communal dining - it was a great retreat and very enjoyable to co-mingle with other guests. Just enough privacy and just enough socialization.

Being able to release some newborn turtles in to the ocean was really cool!

The cell and internet service are spotty. So, prepare to set you phone, your laptop and your watch in your luggage not be be looked at again until you get back to civilization!

It was warm even at night and the rooms are open air - so sleeping comfortably took a few nights to settle in as it was quite warm and muggy. But, the rooms have mosquito netting over the bed, so the bugs weren't an issue.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the only standalone villa. The other four share are connected to each other.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellnessProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We just returned from a trip to Playa Viva. This is a very different type of all-inclusive resort. Ideal for folks who enjoy nature, great healthy food and wonderful yoga. Julia, the amazing manager, arranges for whatever guests would like, including some great cooking lessons. Heidi offered great morning yoga classes on the deck with the ocean view. Johnny kept my husband happy teaching him how to fish with the net! Even when hitting some unexpected bad weather, the staff did everything possible to keep the guests comfortable. Additionally, I gained a deeper understanding of some of the social, cultural and economic realities in Mexico. Both my husband and I would love to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindabell322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed there for a week. Just was fantastic. Great food, great location. Super relaxing. All we were looking for. Our little daughter loved the pool. The ocian view is fantastic. Hope we can go there again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I had a (too quick) four day stay at Playa Viva -- and it was outstanding. The experience was very flexible -- the staff was respectful when I wanted to do nothing except laze on the hammock by the beach, reading and napping -- and they were also helpful when I wanted to have fun, swim in the ocean, get some drinks.

My main goal for the trip was to relax and recharge my batteries, which was easily accomplished at the resort. Falling asleep to the sounds of crickets chirping and the ocean waves roaring; and waking up (without an alarm clock) to the similar soothing ocean sounds -- made for very restful nights. The morning yoga sessions, facing the beach, were satisfying for the soul. The massages on the terrace, overlooking the ocean and beach, were relaxing. The food was fresh, delicious, tasty; and the daily fresh juices quenched my thirst. And the scenery -- beautiful.

I also appreciate and admire the resort's ecological mission and its ties with the local community. But what truly made the stay outstanding was the staff -- Playa Viva felt more like a home than a resort. The staff members were warm, hospitable, attentive, and helpful. Especially Cassie, Carson, Minerva -- they made the trip truly fun and memorable.

I want to return in the future, but my only reservation is that this trip was so great -- I am fearful that any future stay at Playa Viva will not live up to the high bar, the high standards that have been set from this recent trip!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank stccali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews