We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you see is NOT what you get !”
Review of ZINGI Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

ZINGI Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Zingi sits in the heart of Ojochal, where the sounds of the river and the magnificent colors of our tropical gardens await you. ZINGI is extracted from the Latin¬ name for ginger. Our culinary idea is to infuse ginger into all our dishes in order to enjoy the amazing zestful flavors it offers, and also to benefit from ginger’s natural medicinal qualities. Ginger stimulates our digestion, blood flow, eyesight, immune system, sex drive and more.
Bocas Town, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what you see is NOT what you get !”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

we came in , restaurant looked fine , we ordered crispy rolls which were quite good , but when our main course came in , we were like , were is the beef , and what is the taste ? it was all mashed up and tasted like , rice with some brown sauce ..... so we were very disappointed since we heard all these VERY GOOD reviews , so the bill came in , it was some 45 bucks , and they had let themselves in on some 10 percent on top of that .

I would not recommen this place at all , or maybe if you want to be bitter about having gone there to eat a DECENT meal .

sorry !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maridjey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojochal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch for 30 Ladies”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Zingi was the location for today's Ojochal ladies lunch. The group has grown to around 30 ladies which definitely can challenge the best of restaurants.

The folks at Zingi did an amazing job, starting with a gracious welcome from Jamison. Beverages were served quickly and efficiently. I am pretty sure the ginger infused iced tea could be addicting. Food delivery was organized so that everyone at each table had their food at the same time, all freshly prepared and piping hot. The rice bowls had a beautiful array of veggies (along with pork for the carnivores in the group). For those of us who indulged, the chocolate cake was a great finish to the meal. All in all, an excellent experience. I look forward to dining there again to further explore the menu.

Many thanks to the Zingi team for today's lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OjochalOsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A divine treat!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

They've only just opened and I've already been twice. I love Asian food so Zingi is a gift from the heaven's for me. The owners are welcoming and friendly, the atmosphere is cosy and vibrant and the food... Yummy! The spring rolls and dumplings on the starter menu are full of flavor and a wonderful opening to a gorgeous meal. The entrees are simple and tasty, balancing sweet, sour, salty, spicy and bitter ingredients, and I love how you can adjust it to make it perfect for your palate with the fresh condiments on the table. You have to try their cocktails too, the Ginger Zingi Martini was mouth-wateringly delish!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterbabe_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you are looking for good food and a relaxing atmosphere Zingi is the place. The food and drink selection was great. We can't wait to go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osa Mountain Village, costa rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zingi, a missing niche in Ojochal Costa Rica has been filled!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The menu is simple, providing a choice of rice noodles or rice as the foundation of the dish. Then the protein being Beef, Chicken, Pork (they also have a vegetarian option). Then choose from a variety of sauces to complete the Asian dinner bowl.
It is quaint, a small bar and maybe 6 tables. All cheerfully painted with the preparation done in the same open room. The entire scene is authentic and open air under a covered roof. A nice selection of appetizers and ginger infused cocktails top off the well thought out menu. The entree was under $10.00 and we had a party of 6.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZINGI Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing