We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
It took a long time for this dream to become a reality, but we're so very glad it did!
Plenty of comfy sun loungers, chairs and cushions to relax on and make yourself at home!
*New outdoor shower area by plunge pool, overlooking jungle canopy & bamboo gardens
The view of the villa as you arrive from the road with Pura Vida Ecolodge Reserve in the background
Front deck and balcony to the jungle villa - offering impressive panoramic and ocean views
The open-plan stylish living space on the first floor with wrap around teak decks.
Open-plan kitchen (with NEW teak benches, pictured in next photo) comfy living area with sea views
Fully equipped open-plan kitchen and dining area with new handmade teak benches for up to 6 people
We've recently added a yoga exercise deck hanging over the reserve at the end of the stepping stones
Spacious deck perfect for sunbathing, yoga or admiring the nature reserve, animals and sea views
Our infinity plunge pool,  plenty big enough for escaping the tropical heat! Sea and jungle views!
Our Location with 2 routes upto lodge from the Costanera (Coronado and Puntalmala, near Ojochal.)
The front of the jungle villa with its impressive bamboo palapa roof.
Wrap-around teak decking offering impressive sea, mountain and jungle canopy views
*NEW outdoor shower by the plunge pool, perfect for cooling off after the beach!
Welcome to Pura Vida Ecolodge - your retreat, your lifestyle, your experience!
The new stepping-stones path from the lodge down to the yoga deck and body-weights gym
NEW yoga exercise deck complete with rustic dining/chill-out area. Offers valley and ocean views
NEW yoga deck hanging over the edge of the plantel offering stunning valley, ocean sunset views
NEW Rustic seating and cocktail area in front of the lodge overlooking the valley  and Pacific ocean
Walking back up to the jungle villa from one of the reserves nature trails
Contemporary  spacious master bedroom offers ocean views, sun-deck delightful en-suite bathroom
Wake up to panormacic ocean/valley views out of the bedroom window in the Ocean view Suite upstairs
En-suite bathroom with walk-in powerful rain shower (solar powered heated water 24/7)
Handcrafted teak and bamboo sliding doors so you can have the villa as open or as closed as you wish
Jungle-view Suite has its own private deck overlooking the jungle canopy with all its nature
Downstairs Jungle Suite, offering guests great jungle views, ensuite bathroom and private deck area
Spacious en-suite bathroom with walk-in rain shower overlooking jungle (with heated water 24/7),
Wake up with the howler monkeys as the villa hangs dramatically over the jungle canopy
As you come up the stairs to the 1st floor you enter wrap-around teak decks with panoramic sea view
The toucans especially love these tress that you can literally reach out and grab from the deck
Fun trek along 1 of the nature trails brings you to freshwater plunge pool and waterfall for swim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
EllenG275
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Pura Vida for six nights at the end of February and absolutely loved it. The location is remote, which is a big part of what we enjoyed about it. As everyone has mentioned, the dirt road up to the lodge is very bumpy, but once you make it up the mountain and into the rainforest, you understand that it is worth the trek with the spectacular views you get from the lodge! We had an automatic 4x4 and it was fine. We really enjoyed the location of the lodge on the southern end of the Pacific coast. The further south you go, the less developed it appeared to be (a positive for us), but there were still enough small towns for plenty of restaurants and groceries. The welcome packet was a great guide to activities in the area, and the pictured landmarks were helpful in the directions to the lodge. Trip highlights: -Boat tour with Gersan - Private tour of one of the most beautiful and remote beaches I have ever been to. -Manuel Antonio - Definitely worth the hour+ drive. Lots of animal sightings and beautiful beaches at the National Park. Would also highly recommend El Santuario Canopy Adventure Tour. -Exotica and Citrus restaurants in Ojochal -Massage on the beach in Dominical -Exploring local beaches, especially Playa Ventanas Be prepared to wake up at 5:30am each morning with the animals. I am not usually an early riser, but it helped us get a head start on the days' adventures. Gersan was great! His wife made us a home-cooked meal upon arrival and for the boat tour. He even invited us into his home for a fruit smoothie. I would recommend a Spanish dictionary for communication! We made friends with the neighbor two houses up the hill - Seyran (who served as a great translator between us and Gersan!). He was very nice and let us use the trail he created on his property. We hiked down the hill and up the river to a waterfall. You are definitely out in the wilderness - luckily no snake spottings, but we did see a poisonous dart frog. As part of the "green" theme of the house, you have to put all of your toilet paper in the trash can and take all the trash out yourself. This threw me off a little, but I guess was part of the "experience." The internet was a lot more spotty than we expected. Only one of the sim cards had been preloaded, and the internet only worked briefly for two of the nights, even after we reloaded one of the cards. Seyran let us in on a good tip - there is a restaurant with free wifi up the highway just before you get to Uvita. You can pull in their parking lot (next to a BM) and access their wifi. In general, I would not bank on internet connection! Wonderful trip overall, and we would highly recommend Pura Vida!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful few days in Garden of Eden!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Arriving late in the afternoon sunshine at Pura Vida ecolodge in the sumptuous Costa Rican jungle felt like arriving in the Garden of Eden! The whole experience was magical and unique and was enhanced by Joe and Kika's attention to detail; they've thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable and life-enriching as possible.

The villa is spacious, thoughtfully designed and beautiful; natural and harmoniously respectful of the surrounding beauty by minimsing the impact of our stay. We spent many a warm, sunny afternoon on the outdoor teak deck contemplating the beauty of where we were. The trails and walks from the villa down to the waterfalls in the jungle were great fun and I particularly enjoyed working out on the new yoga deck (a new addition apparently) with views over the jungle and on towards the ocean.

The infinity pool is so cool! They have cut back the foliage so there are, again, stunning views from the pool - I can think of very few places in the world where I can relax in a plunge pool with breath-taking views over the rainforest to the sea. Some memorable afternoons were spent there!

Finally, I'd really recommend Gersan's boat trip; another entirely new and unique experience for us; beautiful wildlife through the mangroves to Gersan's 'secret' island; coconut's and galla pinto on a deserted beach in a tropical paradise.....and we didn't see another soul!! Thanks Gersan.

Unique one in a life time experience - can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you Joe and Kika.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeren...
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“These are old pictures”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly I booked this Villa because of the picture showing the infinity pool and jungle/sea views.
I was very disappointed with this aspect because these pictures are two years old from when the villa was newly built, in the last two years the jungle has grown rapidly.
Now THERE ARE NO VIEWS FROM POOL because 3 No 25ft trees/bamboo have grown infront of the pool and tower 8ft above the pool (see my hoto showing this) stopping a lot of sun too.

You also need a mobile phone to contact the hired help (Gersan) he only speaks Spanish, if not you can message the owner who will work with Gersan to help you out.

The internet is advertised as supplied but the welcome pack explains there is a SIM supplied with credit, when this has ran out put in the second SIM which should be okay, but if this runs out you add credit yourself.

There is no ladder in this villa which is a big help when putting a new lightbulb in, I nearly killed myself going on tip toes to replace a light bulb in the bathroom, turns out the switch is broken. In the second bathroom there is just a wire hanging from the ceiling.

Before you go ask for a list of things currently in stock in the villa, as we had to buy a sponge and washing liquid (for washing pots), bags (for the bin).

The villa has ice blocks and no ice box which would be great for shopping and the beach.

It doesn't have a BBQ which would be a great addition.

You are in the jungle with the wildlife, I had to remove a scorpian from the bedroom on the first morning. There was a friendly bird eating snake in the roof too.

If the infinity pool goes green and mouldy as it did when we were there, check the chlorine tablet and there are extra in the pump room.

In the welcome pack it mentions about candles for when there is a power cut, it doesn't tell you where to find them though.

This place says it sleeps 6, it has 2 double bedroom and a big settee.

There are two routes to get to this place a easy route and hard but no explanation why. The quickbut difficult route 8-12 mins, first time round will probably take you 20+ I did it in 12 mins once went like a madman to do it in that time and scared the hell out of my girlfriend. This difficult route has one problem it crosses a river that can go too high to cross in your 4WD. The easy route takes ages 40 mins the first and only time we did it.

All the above practicalities said this is a beautiful villa in an amazing position easily best position on the hill. Well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: No View from the Infinity Pool (contrary to advertised).
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 24, 2014
We’re obviously disappointed to receive a 4-star review rather than what has almost become the ‘norm’ 5-star review! On top of that we feel it’s a shame Diane and her partner seemed to focus on the negatives rather than the endless good and unique things about Pura Vida Ecolodge. Having read their comments it would also appear that they weren't very prepared for the trip as a lot of their comments are addressed (very clearly) in the welcome pack. For these reasons, we felt it necessary to go through each of their points one by one, so that future guests are absolutely clear on exactly what is on offer at Pura Vida Ecolodge.

SWIMMING POOL VIEWS - First things first, since Diane stayed we have cut back the bamboo and other foliage (balsa trees) and can confirm that the views from the pool now extend over the jungle canopy to the Pacific Ocean which has always been the case since we opened (other than in November 2014) when Diane and her partner visited. As we explained to the guests at the time, that November was a very extreme month in terms of weather - we received 70 inches of rain in a week so it wasn’t a particularly ‘safe' week to start scaling trees and cutting back foliage (which we generally do most months during ‘green’ season). While we’re obviously disappointed for the guests to not have had the entire views they were expecting (from the pool), we did point out that the Pura Vida Ecolodge reserve is to some extent a wild and organic combination of primary and secondary rain forest and NOT a manufactured garden. That said, it is regularly maintained and guests can count on the valley and sea views from both the pool and various balconies, terraces and yoga decks that our lodge offers. (It’s also worth pointing out that from every other part of the upper level of the lodge, the panoramic views were 100% 'in tact and as photographed'

The plunge pool itself is always treated with Chlorine tablets (as is necessary due to the humidity and location) and as long as it has the leaves cleaned out every morning (as explained by our housekeeper), will stay lovely, fresh and clean throughout your stay.

MOBILE PHONE - As our welcome pack indicates, guests are well advised to have a working mobile phone at Pura Vida Ecolodge and indeed throughout their stay in Costa Rica. We actually advise buying a Costa Rican SIM card in the arrival hall of the airport which costs just a few US$’s and will save you roaming fees and is very easy and handy when booking tours, restaurants and day-to-day use.

LADDER - Again, as explained in the welcome pack, there is no ladder at the lodge but as guests are meant to be on vacation, any bulbs that might need changing that are out of reach we can happily send the housekeeper Gersan up to help out - definitely no need to tiptoe and risk falling over and hurting yourselves please!

KITCHEN SUPPLIES - The lodge is fully stocked with the very basics, bin bags and washing liquid included - don’t know how Diane didn’t manage to locate these :( That said, and again mentioned in the welcome pack, guests are advised to ‘stock-up’ on food supplies before they arrive.

BBQ - Both our profiles for Pura Vida Ecolodge (on Airbnb and TripAdvisor) clearly indicate what we do offer guests up at the lodge. There is no BBQ to date.

CANDLES - The candles are in the wicker basket next to the wifi router in a large bag labelled ‘Candles’. There are also two ‘wind-up’ lamps in the bedrooms for if and when there is a short power cut.

SLEEPS UPTO 6 - As very clearly explained in our profiles, the lodge sleeps UPTO 6, with 2 double en-suite bedrooms and a large double sofa bed in the open-plan lounge area. A little strange that Diane decided to focus on this in her review, given that it was just her and her partner and it’s all very clearly explained in our profile anyway.

As we said in our private message Diane, we are so happy you had such a great stay, apologise for the temporarily overgrown bamboo but are disappointed you focussed on all of the above when you had previously said what a fantastic stay you had.

We are happy to confirm that the photos are current and up-to-date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view and location
Liked least: The road to the house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris M
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My Girlfriend and I had an unbelievable experience at the Pura Vida Ecolodge recently. The pictures certainly do it justice! Costa Rica is a beautiful country and this location and lodge is the perfect place to stay. Very Tranquil location surrounded by rainforest. Joe and Kika are very responsive hosts. Definitely rent a 4 wheel drive vehicle as you will need it! No complaints! Would love to come again!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingstr...
Los Alamitos, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Magical Honeymoon, like no other”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Gosh, it seems impossible to put into words how amazing this place is. My husband and I went here on our honeymoon and still look back and the photos and long to return. So hard to describe how peaceful, beautiful and relaxing this place is. It is completely secluded, no people in sight. Everything is so well kept and comfortable. I love the scroll back doors that let you be technically "indoors" but having the entire house open to the jungle while you sit on the couch and read a book or while you're sitting at the table eating breakfast. But then, if it becomes a little too much my husband and I would go to our "escape" (aka the bedroom) and there is a very nice AC unit that works AMAZING and a beautiful rain shower. The price is AMAZING for this place, I'm so thankful I found this website. So many local adventures to do in the area. We would wake up and go to an excursion (zip lining, CANYONING!!!!, or just explore a beach) and be back up to the house at around 2pm and just enjoy the balcony and pool at the house. **sighhhhhhhhhhhhhh** Just talking about it makes me wish I was back there again. And the FOODDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!!! Oh so good!! We went grocery shopping to have food at the house (passion fruit, pinapple and mango juices are AMAZING!!) but we also tried out the local restaurants and they were SO GOOD!! Man, words and pictures don't do this place justice, trust me when you say that you HAVE TO GO!! My husband and I are already planning when we can go back to visit!! ANDDDDDDD, the housekeeper Gersan is so amazing!! He even handmade my husband a bamboo coffee maker because he loved the one that was in the house!! Gersan also invited us to his house to meet his wife and 2 month old baby girl. They are so friendly and welcoming, it was such a delightful treat. I have traveled to over 15 different countries and done some pretty cool things but this by far was my favorite place to visit and CANYONING (costacanyoning.com) has been my favorite thing I've ever done!! Thank you so much Pura Vida Ecolodge!! We'll see you in the future for sure!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open doors to the jungle
Liked least: Nothing!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing