We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Find”
Review of Alma de Ojochal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma de Ojochal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Rare Find”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I booked a room here for 1 night, but would of stayed longer if they hadn't been booked up. This place is a definite gem and priced very reasonably compared to what you get at some other overly priced places in the area. We reserved the standard room which was by no means standard with ocean and mountain views, nice sized private balcony facing the ocean, a comfy kingsized bed, AirCon and hot water it was a treat to relax here. The included breakfast was the BEST we had yet in Costa Rica being that it wasn't the typical dish…."fresh & creative". Scott and Russell were super friendly and informative. We would definitely come back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlayCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
123
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days/ 3 nights in Alma de Ojochal. Scott, Russel and all the staff were attentive hosts with a good eye for detail. Every morning a different freshly prepared breakfast. Rooms, lobby, and swimming pool were well designed and clean. Good advice w.r.t. sights, trips and restaurants. Ojochal has excellent restaurants, which was a surprise to us considering that it is such a small village; restaurant "Azul" in the adjacent hotel El Castillo (same management as Alma de Ojochal) is highly recommended.
The surroundings are simply beautiful; close to white-sand beaches and green hills. Rooms have a large balcony and some have ocean view, which allows you to enjoy a magnificent sunset.We will definitely come back on a future trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3, which has ocean view and a large balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank matthijsdebruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Costa Rica but our 1st time to this part of the country. We were a party of 5, 3 adults and 2 children (girls, ages 7 & 11). Our plan was to land in San Jose, pick up our rental car and drive to Ojochal. Upon arrival however we were told there was no car available and most likely wouldn't be. (As we are still having conversations with the rental car company about the incident I will refrain from using any names here.) Sheer luck found us in a shared shuttle that happened to be going to Ojochal (from San Jose) and happened to have room for the 5 of us. On the way I called Scott at Alma and asked him to start looking for a car. When we arrived at Alma we met John who checked us in and showed us around. We explained our situation and explained that Scott was looking for a car but in the meantime we needed some food. An outstanding breakfast is served at Alma every morning, but their restaurant is at their sister hotel El Castillo just a short ride away. John piled us all into his car and drove us there so we could eat lunch and spend the afternoon in the pool. Over the next several days Scott and Russell ensured we had a car service to get us where we needed to go. Scott and I had exchanged multiple emails in the months leading up to the trip and had been invaluable in arranging activities including a zip lining canopy tour that our entire group could participate in.

In the evenings for dinner Russell would drive all of us in his truck to a restaurant for dinner and then come back and get us when we were finished. I cannot begin tell you what that meant to us to be so completely and graciously taken care of.

The setting is gorgeous and intimate and the atmosphere makes you feel as though you are visiting friends. Scott, Russell, John, David, and Jose did everything in their power to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. After 4 days Scott was finally able to arrange a car, which had to be delivered from San Jose, and was just in time for our move to our next destination.

We loved Alma and would have planned to stay there again anyway, but it truly was the genuine care that we received that turned what could have been a very difficult situation into something manageable and even few good laughs.

Thank you to everyone at Alma and El Castillo
We love you,
Tim, Susan, Kitty, Aubrey and Josie!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandSu97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is very clean and nice! the balcony of the rooms is gorgous and really big! you feel comfortable and welcomed right from the beginning. the breakfast is served from a terrace with a beautiful view over the sea and the two owners are so friendly and really contribute to the good atmosphere and are very helpful.
we enjoyed our stay with them a lot and can recommend it totally!!

Room Tip: we had rooms in the upper level and the view was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Scott and Russell were the most gracious hosts. We were warmly welcomed and well attended to our entire visit. Wake up to the cacophony of birds flitting around just off your private balcony, and enjoy one of Russell's outstanding breakfasts with a sweeping view down the mountainside. End your day with a cocktail or glass of wine by (or in!) the swimming pool as the sun sets spectacularly over the Pacific. From Alma its just minutes to many of the excellent upscale restaurants around Ojochal, including Azur at the sister hotel El Castillo a few hundred meters down the road. Alma is also conveniently located to explore the beaches around the Ballena marine sanctuary, to try some authentic Tico cuisine at the roadside "sodas," or to pop into Uvita for a bit more activity. We had a great time and would recommend Alama to anyone traveling to the central Pacific coast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafecooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our second time visiting Alma, and both times completely exceeded our expectations! Where to even begin... I'll start with Scott and Russell. They are amazing and make the whole experience unlike any other. You aren't just staying at a hotel, you become part of their family and feel like you are at home! After our first trip, my daughter knew that she wanted to get married in Costa Rica and stay at Alma. We had a large party that occupied both Alma and El Castillo, their sister property. Absolutely everyone had the most amazing time and all are talking about when they can return to Alma again! The view is spectacular from the hotel, on one side you have the ocean and the other way you have this beautiful mountain view. The rooms are spacious and so comfortable. They have gorgeous photography on the walls! They have a wonderful staff that makes sure that you are 100% taken care the whole time. My husband only drinks one kind of beer, and it is extremely hard to get in Costa Rica, but they made sure they got enough for our visit. There are so many things like this that they do to make your trip perfect. You could not pick a better place to stay in Costa Rica. My daughter's wedding was beyond perfect! You will not be sorry if you choose to make this a stop on your journey, in fact you will find it hard to ever travel anywhere else once you experience Alma!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursebusyb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! My wife and I were driving down from Honduras with our dog, so after a long day on the road this was a amazing stop. The location is beautiful, views of the ocean and hills. A delightful deck overlooking trees teaming with birds, great place to watch the jungle come to life with a cup of coffee in the morning. Scott and Russel are great hosts, and the banana pancakes! We highly recommend Alma and will definitely return and stay for longer than one night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC76240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.3 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
245 reviews
10.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
5.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma de Ojochal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma de Ojochal

Property: Alma de Ojochal
Address: Calle Perezoso | 800 mtrs este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma de Ojochal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a mountain overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Alma de Ojochal awaits giving you a respite to connect with your soul. Alma boasts 5 well appointed rooms, incredible views of the ocean and impeccable service. Come celebrate your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alma de Ojochal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma De Ojochal Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing