We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Fun & Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistro - CLOSED

Le Bistro
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: It's time to get your Pura Vida Vibe. Ojochal's only tapas lounge gives you your space to smooth out those jungle blues. Whether before dinner tapas and cocktails or a closure for the evening...You will relax in a lounge designed for your comfort and relaxation. Cool music, comfy couches, great friends are the recipe for anything that ails. Hosts France and Tommy will keep your cocktails full and your mood high. Menus vary by the day, so come often. See you soon.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Fun & Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you travel then you know that the best places are where the locals go.

Le Bistro is that place.

The food is great, the atmosphere comfortable and the staff are warm, friendly and always up for conversation in English, French, Spanish or a mix of all three as tends to happen on Friday nights when the place is in full swing- definitely be ready to party! Stop by on a lazy afternoon and you'll find restaurant and hotel owners hanging out for a beverage on their day off.

As you discover all the great things Ojochal has to offer, you'll be sure to find yourself going back to Le Bistro and the friendly staff and locals who are happy to chat you up and share their local knowledge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow service, small portions, expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a very pretty location and the staff are friendly, but we had to wait an hour for some meager and rather expensive sandwiches, and one of our group had a hamburger that was quite oversalted. We wouldn't go here again - it cost over $10 apiece for a small sandwich and salad. Don't consider it good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ziplininggal222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice gem in the jungle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited Le Bistro several times during our stay in Ojochal, It was hard not to stop in every time we passed through. The staff is warm and welcoming the beer is cold and I think i had the best salad in Costa Rica there. Don't miss Friday night for some late night fun and live Dj. Love everyone there cant wait to get back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmills13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food, great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Le Bistro is a clean, stylish, laid back, well managed and staffed alternative to the high end restaurants in Ojochal. If you want to experience the colorful mix of local Tico and expat culture in SW Costa Rica this is the place to do it. You can belly up to the bar and start a conversation with anyone and they'll welcome you with a smile and a story. I was pleasantly surprised to find the food outstanding, prepared with fresh ingredients and local flair. Prices are great considering that portions are quite large. Make sure to stay for the Friday night bacchanal where you can dance and mingle - or just sit back and enjoy the scene.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimisora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Le Bistro is such a find! Delicious and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Le Bistro is a wonderful and charming cafe and bar that seems to open its arms to you as you come into Ojochal. We were in the area for a week and loved their fresh, delicious salads and sandwiches. We also went to Le Bistro on a Friday night, which is the one night they are open after 8pm, and had a blast hanging out the regulars, international travelers and a great DJ! The owners and the staff are also warm and engaging and go out their way to make you sure you enjoy your entire experience. When I think of all of the beautiful things that Ojochal has to see and offer, my list wouldn't be complete without Le Bistro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KikGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing