We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give it 10 stars”
Review of Hotel Mamma e Papa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here two nights and dearly wanted to stay longer; we would have gone out of our way to do so if we hadn't already booked reservations further up the coast. It really isn't too hard to reach the property - no vertiginous climbs, and the roads aren't too bad. The property is just stunning, a steep, sweeping, beautifully landscaped sort of valley culminating in a surrounding of lush rainforest and mountains. The owners, Enzo and his lovely wife Jeanette, are such gracious hosts, obviously very proud of their property, and Enzo was delighted to show us around the grounds, pointing out vanilla bean vines, pineapple plants, guanacaste trees and ylang ylang. The grounds are beautifully fragrant with the scent of ylang ylang flowers.
Be prepared to descend quite a few steps built into the hillside to get to the cabanas, which each have their own hammocks and are breezy, lovely, and so clean you could eat off the floors. I don't know what it took to get such amenities into the Costa Rican rainforest, but the owners obviously care very much about the comfort of their guests.
After checking in and relaxing, we walked back up the hill and dined by candle light in the open air restaurant on the side of the main hotel property. Do yourself a favor and order the fresh pasta. My pasta-loving husband was on cloud nine! Gorgeous ribbons of tagliatelle with porcini mushrooms, or clam sauce, or carbonara...I salivate at the memory. Not even the gorgeous-looking pizzas could tempt us away from having pasta both nights. Breakfast is equally delicious, served in the same area, overlooking that magnificent vista of rainforest and mountains.
It's also a spectacular place to bird watch - many species come to visit from the forest and their calls are as varied as the fauna. Surrounding the properties base, if you are willing to venture a bit further, is a stream that runs back through the rainforest, ripe for exploring.

When it was time to pack up and go, the husband got a bit misty-eyed. The only negative thing about our experience at Mamma e Papa is that it's 2500 miles from our home!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank portiafimbriata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mamma e Papa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was such a beautiful place to stay. Your room is in an individual cabin which made it feel so special. The biggest thing for me though was the unbelievable food. Anyone who has been t CR often knows that there tends to be little variety in the food. Well the food here was no only great for CR, but amazing all around. Truly some of the best authentic Italian food of my life! So good that I drove back almost an hour out of my way to eat there again before my trip was over. The couple that run the place were really nice too. FYI the man speaks very little English and the woman speaks none. Oh and also you have to make a reservation at night to eat, even if you are a guest at the hotel. Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in this small hotel for 5 days in March 2013 with our six year old daughter and her grandparents. On previous trips to the area, we had eaten at the Mamma e Papa restaurant on a few occasions and our experience was always exceptional - terrific food, terrific service, terrific atmosphere. Enzo, the owner/host, is always friendly and attentive and upon discovering that there was a hotel on the property, we decided to try it out. They have four private cabinas/chalets and we booked two; the family room, which had a queen bed and a single bed, for us and a chalet with a king size bed for the grandparents. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained and had very comfortable beds. There is a lovely pool with a common area including a self-serve beverage fridge, as well as an outdoor entertainment room with a television and a pool table. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful (be aware that there is a set of steps to get down to the hotel that would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues). We even had the opportunity to see toucans in the trees surrounding the pool during an evening swim - beats high end luxury any day! Our experience was excellent and we will stay here again in August and on any return trips to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adodwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is spectacular... Weren't sure what to expect.. after driving up a dirt road (common in costa rica) we arrived and were astounded by this place.... it reminds me of switzerland but in a rainforest environment. The landscaping and surrounding environment is heavenly. This place is CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!!! The owner has class and is obviously very passionate about this place in making it first class and in maintaining it well. This place is family owned and they are wonderful people which makes it even more pleasant. The food here is also very good, italian style. The cabins are great and we ended up staying here instead of going to the beach as it was a very nice place to relax, play pool, swim, and take a nap in the hammocks. We would have loved to stay here longer...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperMariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mamma e papa' is a great place to stay. The restaurant is amazing. Enzo was so accommodating with everything. The rooms are completely separate from one another they are like their own little cabana. They are very nice and clean. The pool is situated at the bottom of a hill with beautiful landscaping everywhere.

Holly and Jason

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwade24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to spend a few days in the Uvita area and we chose to stay at Mamma e Papa hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. Let me tell you, this place is paradise, the hotel and restaurant are carved into the side of a hill facing east, the grounds and views are GORGEOUS, the cabins are private and amazing, and the food... don't get me started on how wonderful the food was. We sampled a few of the pasta dishes (all phenomenal), a pizza, caprese, bruschetta, and breakfast fruits and pancakes! All made from scratch, mostly in house, some of the best Italian food I've ever had. Enzo and Jeanette, the hotel proprietors, were the most gracious hosts, everything was clean and tidy, simply wonderful. I absolutely would recommend Mamma e Papa to anyone traveling to Costa Rica, especially who wants to visit the Pacific Coast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

With my husband we spent 5 nights in Hotel "Mamma e Papa" in November 2012. We loved the place and we loved the owners. Beautiful garden, very clean rooms, A/C, WiFi, hot water, we could not ask for more. The food at the restaurant was delicious, the coffee was real strong Italian expresso. Both the hotel and the restaurant are great! But what makes this place even better are the owners Enzo and Gianette: they are so nice, kind and helpful, ready to answer all your queestions. And they do it in such a friendly and sincere fashion. We did feel as we were their friends not customers. We highly recommend "Mamma and Papa" and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neviana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.4 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
623 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 13 in Uvita
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma e Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma e Papa

Address: Calle Perezoso | 15km South of Uvita de Osa, Ojochal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range: $118 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma e Papa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 4 fully air conditioned Bungalows surrounded by lush tropical green gardens in front of the pool. To ensure a cool and safe environment for our guests they are constructed out of concrete. On entering our establishment cleanliness and freshness are the characteristics you will first notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mamma e Papa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamma e Papa Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing