We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Homemade Pasta”
Review of Mamma e Papa

Mamma e Papa
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible Homemade Pasta”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The homemade pasta here is amazing. Attentive and friendly staff serve up perfect proportions with delicious sauces. Everyone was passing around their plates so they could try it all. Even though we were stuffed after we finished, we still went for dessert- best choice we made all night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank live2travel8417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    67
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely marvelous Italian food , and in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ojochal is a hot bed of GREAT restaurants, so you have a lot to pick from, but make sure to go to Mamma e Papa. It is run by an Italian, and it shows!!! The location is off the beaten path, as are all restaurants in the Uvita and Ojochal area , so finding them is half the fun!

We got to Mamma e Papa after we braved the weather - August is 'green season' here, and we had received probably 5 inches or so of rain in just a few hours ( seriously!!) We were staying up the mountain at Oxygen and we were trapped for a while because the streams were flooding the road out - we thought about it for 10 minutes or so, then decided to brave the river ford. Luckily we made it!

We arrived to an empty restaurant , which was really romantic! We are vegetarians, so looking for a places with options for us is hard.. not here - the food was amazing!!

Everything was first rate Italian- I had the gnocchi , and my wife had the eggplant.... Vegetarian or not you MUST try the eggplant dish, even if you do not like eggplant. It may have been one of the best Italian dishes we have ever eaten!! no hype - it was that good.

Near the end of dinner a bus of 18 came in - so they can handle crowds too! And they have pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomaSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in Costa Rica”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Been here quite a few times over the years and a review is well overdrew. The best value restaurant in Ojochal by far, great fresh Italian food. The owner Enzo and his wife Gineth make you feel welcome and offer a first class service. The dishes are hand made and fresh, with many imported ingredients including hand made fresh pasta with Porcini Mushroom spaghetti one of my favorites and you can’t go wrong with the Pizzas. Great garden setting and a tasty fantastic value for Ojochal and this area, you can’t go wrong. Mamma e Papa is for us one of two choices in Ojochal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restaurants I've been to.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had the Pasta Carbonara, and while waiting for the food the owner explained the his pasta is hand made. When my food came out, my taste buds exploded with a wonderful creamy flavor. The texture of the pasta definitely goes with the owner's claim that they hand make it. Needless to say, when ever I stay around the ojochal area, I will be a repeat customer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballena, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch at Mamma e Papa”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to Mamma e Papa for lunch and expresso with milk aka in USA (Starbucks) as latte.
It is very pretty - covered patio type that is the norm for this area. A young man (owner/ower's son?) waited on us. I ordered a latte and he asked me if I wanted milk. I said no, a latte - coffee! LOL I found out much to my chagrin that in Italian latte means milk - no coffee. If you want what Starbucks calls "latte" you ask for a machiatto (spelling-sorry) or latte machiatto I think. Really after getting the order right I did not put enough attention to learn it correctly - spelling etc.. The young man was Italian and I asked him how long he (or his family- parents etc..) had been in Costa Rica and he said 22 years. Of course he speaks Italian, Spanish and English fluently!! Another surprise in Costa Rica and especially in Ojochal !!! I would definitely return. I have to confess I forget now what we ate but that maybe a function of the memory of the 'latte' incident overpowering the others !!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abuelabibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma e Papa also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Mamma e Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing