We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere - Try it once and you will go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exotica

Exotica
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: European, Central American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 32km south off Dominical GPS 9°4'53"N, 83°39'8"O
Tucson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - Try it once and you will go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Exotica not only has great presentation of the food, but also a very friendly atmosphere.
The night we were there, we were met at our vehicle, by Luci, the owner and she had umbrellas ready. It was raining a typical Costa Rica downpour.There were three couples and we ordered a variety of dishes and everyone found the food delicious.
Yes, as some mention, it is a little more expensive than some of the other restaurants in the area, but well worth it. Try it, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    43
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch European Cuisine in the Jungle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lucy & Rob bring an exceptional dining experience (and a very good wine cellar) to this intimate (10 tables) restaurant. Turn off the Costanera highway into Ojochal, cross the bridge and hang left for approx 2 km. Fillet Mignon is very good, as is their Tuna. Reservations are required. Contact info can be found at www.SouthCostaRica.com

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bernieschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place to have diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Good place to have diner in open air. Nice and tastfull decor (a pity of those plastic chairs ...) . The food is very good. A bit more expensive than other restaurants.
Friendly service but we found the owner a bit 'overacting' and in our opinion she insisted too much to order drinks and deserts.
It seems necessary to make a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoKa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sea food and deserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great dining experience that included a nice decoration, a very friendly and informative service and really great food at a fair price given its quality. Our overall evaluation: worth to visit, highly recommended for those looking for great food at sea

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballena, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“World Class Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were very pleased in every way with Exotica and would recommend it unqualifiedly to others. We will definitely be back when in Costa Rica again! We went for dinner on a rainy evening without knowing exactly where it was etc.. We found it but were unsure where to park - wanting to park as close as possible because of the rain but not where inappropriate. The owner appeared under a umbrella and indicated where to park (close) waiting for us to alight and then handed us umbrellas that she had so graciously brought with her to insure that we would not get wet on the way in !! The evening went as good as the auspicious beginning. I believe this one of the more (if not most) upscale restaurants in the vicinity. We come from Chicago which is famed for the celebrated chefs that avidly compete for acclaim as well as clientele. I can say with all sincerity that the food was of the quality of a very good (if not better) restaurant in Chicago. The food itself, the menu, the artistic presentation of the selections and even wine selections! Ambience was great too. We had some expensive meals in Costa Rica but they did not come light years within Exotica. We were happy even though it was expensive because it was the quality of a very fine restaurant in Chicago but LESS than we would have paid there! What is really surprising is to find the type of establishment that this is, as well as it being of such high quality in a village on the southern pacific coast of Costa Rica, an area 4 1/2 hours from the capitol, San Jose ! Exotica and Ojochal it appears are marvelous surprises awaiting the intrepid travelers !!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abuelabibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exotica also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Exotica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing