We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of Exotica

Exotica
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: European, Central American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 32km south off Dominical GPS 9°4'53"N, 83°39'8"O
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were a group of 9 celebrating my sister's birthday in Costa Rica and made reservations at Exotica based on an enthusiastic recommendation by our villa hosts. We booked about 2 weeks out because of the popularity and intimate size of the cafe. I am so glad we didn't miss out on this beautiful and delicious evening! Lucy makes you feel like she has invited you into her own home for dinner and wants nothing more than to see you happy. Choosing an entree when they all sounded amazing was indeed difficult but we shared bites of each other's meals so we could experience the incredible flavors of these delectable combinations. At the end of the evening Lucy gave us hugs-a wonderful finish to a memorable birthday dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liba7810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    45
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super hostess”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lucy has a way of making you feel at home in her kitchen. From the fresh flowers decorating her serving plates to her knowledge of the area and it's effect on the menu selection, this is a restaurant to please even the most demanding of world travellers. The atmosphere is magical and the food is exotic. We had to try the desserts which came highly recommended. Be sure to make a reservation. You would hate to miss the experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdnBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinning pleasure.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

From the warm greeting with Lucy and the excellent dinner selections and preparations you will not be disappointed. Like us you will return again and again. Since all the meals are divine the only problem is making a choice. We want to try everything thus we need to go back and we shall. Lucy is such a lovely host who makes you feel special and we thourghly adored her and her restaurant. You will too! It is a must stop if you are anywhere near Ojochal, Costa Rica

Helpful?
1 Thank KH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDSOR COLRADO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a great dining experience. In the middle of Ojochal, this little gem is special. Madame Lucille is so gracious. The food is impeccable. We had the Fillet of Beef with pepper sauce, Chicken Exotica( breast stuffed with cream cheese, plums and bacon) Went back later had duck and tuna with wasabi sauce. Just awesome. The service great, dessert wine coffee top shelf and a great price. We will always return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIMD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easy the best in Costa Rica”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

For the attention, for the quality of the food, for the place...everything is spectacular.

Try different food, exotic, mixes of traditional frech or european cusine with tropical ingredients

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exotica also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Exotica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing