We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views and property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Castillo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed in an incredible room with extremely high ceilings, incredible architecture, and breathtaking views of the ocean. We went for a wedding which was absolutely stunning. I'm convinced that the wedding photos that come from this, will be the best I've ever seen. It has the feeling of an awesome bed and breakfast with incredible staff, good food, and the ability to completely unwind. The infinity pool, which is the first thing you see when you walk in, will have you immediately sold on the place. There is a tiny town that technically is walkable, but having a car (4 wheel drive) is highly recommended. I surfed daily in Dominical which was about 30 min north. We had one small problem with the lock of our door suddenly not working, but they fixed it immediately.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    13
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
131
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

El Castillo Hotel recently hosted my daughters wedding. From the rehearsal pizza party to the elegant wedding ceremony and dinner, Scott, Russell, John and their amazing staff went above and beyond to provide an exceptional experience for our family and friends. The Hotel is absolutely gorgeous....with 5 spacious suites with balconies overlooking the infinity pool and Pacific Ocean. The restaurant, Azul...provided a wonderful buffet for 50 people...no small feat for a small venue! I highly recommend this place for a destination wedding or romantic vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A bad start. We arrived midday tired after a 5 hour hazardous drive looking forward to a Sunday lunch in the well promoted restaurant. We were early ti check - in so lunch was in order. We arrived to find a wedding party in progress and told to come back at 3 and all would be organised for us. When we came back hoping for dinner we were not greeted properly our bags were in the hall, it didn't seem that we were expected and we were told that the restaurant was closed. After complaining, like others have said its dangerous to drive on the entrance road at night, We were offered a cook on their day off, which was embarrassing and after a lot of fuss we were given a pretty awful pizza at 6 dollars a go. The wedding party returned , we were out of place and we were told that they had reserved the whole hotel. If so why were we there? There are lovely hotels nearby our agent could have changed our booking and we would have done so.
The service was ok, but average, we had to ask for coffee in the room and coffee was often available downstairs ie when requested told no. Having been so poorly welcomed I would have thought that some kind of apology or gesture may have been appropriate - it's not normal to go to your hotel and be refused admittance!
The restaurant was Mediterranean but very creamy, so not what we have experienced in S France, Italy or Spain. The views are lovely, the building is beautiful but there is too much hype on the website. The balconies are nice but they are shared and thus there is a loss of privacy. Room was a good size as was the bed but the mattress was unsupportive. A lot of room for improvement, but the view is the big draw

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brillandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trav1964, Owner at El Castillo Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Honestly, you really didn't meet our expectations either. You were cranky when you arrived and it continued throughout your stay. Obviously nothing was going to be right. You had a 5 hour hazardous drive down the paved highway? Odd. It should have been the first clue.

When you arrived you were informed compassionately that check in time is 3pm, not refused admittance. When possible we are glad to check guests in early, store luggage, etc. That day it wasn't possible but we did store your luggage. And yes, the bride and groom did see you scowling from the front door wondering if they had done something to upset another guest. But the check in time had nothing to do with the wedding. The wedding party did reserve the restaurant for lunch that day and evening. In your review you are mixing the restaurant with the hotel. When you came back at 3pm, your room was clean and ready for your check in as promised. We apologized when we couldn't check you in early and about the restaurant being reserved. But, you of course were having none of that.

When you told us you wanted something to eat, we had our chef come in and prepare what you asked for on his day off…and this was somehow bad? You’re welcome.

That night the wedding was over, with only a few guests spending an extra night. So it was a normal guest experience.

On our sauces, maybe you are referring to our Greek Tzatziki sauce placed on some our Greek dishes? It is a creamy yogurt-based sauce, but I assure that is part of the Mediterranean.

Coffee is always available in our rooms and in the mornings, downstairs in the lobby. There are coffeemakers in all rooms with packets of coffee. Just in case you would like a cup before coming downstairs. Uh, now what was your complaint there?

That is the first complaint on our beds. In fact, it has been the opposite. There is so much of your personal preference that comes into play concerning beds. But we will certainly check that.

I respect your opinion to a limit. We have so many wonderful guests that make me love what we do. I won't let people like you ruin that. My best to you, but please know you are not welcome back in our hotels.

Respectfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at El Castillo. The view from rooms and pool are lovely and David, the man at the front was great! Very helpful in attending to our needs, making reservations etc ...
I took one star off for the food. at dinner, the restaurant looked promising but disappointed. We had to send back the steak dish (not prepared right both times) and my dish was not good at all. The rice was mushy and gooey and the chicken was pretty horrible. Other than that all was great.

Room Tip: Ask David about a restaurant near by, don't remember the name but really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

When you walk into El Castillo - you feel like you are in paradise. It has the most perfect view to watch the nightly sunset from its beautiful pool. It is a charming hotel with an exceptional staff there to make your stay perfect. Coming from a foodie town in the US - we were pleasantly surprised at the amazing dinner that we had at Azul inside the hotel. They had wonderful choices and the food was exceptional, as well as the wine selection. It was the best meal that we had during our weeks vacation in CR. They were also very accommodating for my six year old son who is a picky eater - he thought that the homemade pasta was delicious! I wish we had had the opportunity to eat there more than once. The daily breakfast was also scrumptious. A definite stop for travelers going to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The suite was a perfect size for the three of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer Lake, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My first visit to Costa Rica, we chose El Castillo for its excellent reputation and stunning location above the small village of Ojochal with magical views of both the coast and the mountains. Comfort, elegance and friendliness awaited us, all contributing to our delightful six-day tropical getaway from one of the coldest Colorado winters on record.
Scott and Russell and their superbly attentive staff did their utmost to ensure our visit was relaxing, delicious and memorable in every way. The gracious Spanish architecture and our soothing, beautifully furnished room embraced us. We appreciated the attention to even the smallest of details that made us feel like pamper guests. The air condition was a welcome amenity.
The on-site restaurant, Azul, serves wonderful cuisine starting with the terrific breakfast served pool side to overnight guests. We breakfasted with binoculars at hand, in case we spotted a Scarlet Macaw or other tropical wildlife. Our visit included Valentine’s Day, so we enjoyed an amazing filet mignon and shrimp dinner.
From El Castillo’s lofty perch we overlooked the river, inlet and ocean. We enjoyed watching the tidal flow as it revealed sand bars, river’s edge, mud flats and rocky outcroppings. The hotel coordinates several adventure excursion, but we opted for walking the beach Playa Tortuga when the tide was low. Lingering in the infinity pool was enchanting especially at sunset and the glorious views ensure a strong turn-out of dinner guests each evening.
The location provided nearby swimming and beach-walking at Playa Tortuga, Cascadia waterfall and an array of restaurants, in addition to the incredible cuisine served by Azul at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is a truly beautiful place with the most amazing view and sunset. It is a small hotel run by Scott and Russel who are doing an excellent job and making you feel at home. The staff is also dedicated, Jose and David are doing a great job. Thanks for giving us three very relaxing and enjoyable days. We also ate at their Azul Restaurant and enjoyed the good food and special way of dining at the pool with the most amazing view. We would recommend this hotel to become adults only as it is a perfect place to relax and unwind in quietness away from the kids. The concept of the hotel is outstanding and the people working for it are very committed. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.3 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
12.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
9.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Property: El Castillo Hotel
Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Castillo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Castillo is an adults-only, luxury boutique hotel known for its incredible staff, over-the-top service, free gourmet breakfast, and exclusive beach on a nearby private island. Perched 600 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the magnificent structure has arguably the most dramatic view in all of Costa Rica. Enjoy the infinity pool on the main level or relax in a cabana on the ocean-view deck below, which features a bar, Jacuzzi pool, and a full menu of in-cabana spa treatments. The fabulous Azul Restaurant & Bar, located inside the hotel, specializes in Mediterranean cuisine. El Castillo is a special place - stay as our guests or rent the entire hotel and let our staff spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing