We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“wauw!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Castillo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wauw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

lovely place, gorgeous view, friendly and accommodating staff, good food, fantastic infinity pool, comfortable bed,... The owner John was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone passing through this part of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinnelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
105
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
estero, fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is amazing, the view, the staff, the food, the rooms, EVERYTHING was amazing. 5 star cuisine and 5 star service. We had just come up from a few days of adventure in the peninsula and were just passing through Ojochal for one night. David, the manager of the on site restaurant Azul, greeted us at the door and offered to help us with our luggage, and the service only got better from there. We were so impressed by El Castillo's service and food we received I begged my husband to let us stay another night. When we asked John the GM about it, he said "Absolutely, we would love to have you another night." Scott made last minute supper arrangements for us, setting up a table pool side and candlelit over looking the Pacific, and the whole time insisting that it was his pleasure to do it. Russell, the head chef at El Castillo and their restaurant Azul, served up the best food I possibly have ever eaten in my life. I'm a picky vegetarian and I didn't need to make one modification to the food I ordered because it was fresh and clean and delicious. I cleaned my plate at every meal something that is unheard of for me. For breakfast every morning we walked down to the same table set up poolside for us since we so much enjoyed it that first night, and we never had to ask. While in the infinity pool taking a dip, I made a comment to my husband "This must be what rich people feel like when they are on vacation". El Castillo felt like our own private castle and the staff made us feel that they were there just for us, it was amazing. I got married just two years ago and I kept thinking how El Castillo would've been the perfect place to have had our honeymoon at. This place really is beautiful and you will not be disappointed, we were actually sad to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Gorgeous entry: through the lobby you immediately see the ocean, the river, the peninsula, above the infinity pool a few steps away from you! Our room was spacious with a kingsize bed and the same fantastic view. Sunsets were incredible! Very pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Good meals. Not one of the cheaper places, but well worth the money, absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

El Castillo is a small hotel - only 5 or so rooms - and is a perfect place to stay. The owner John is a gracious host. We had an upstairs room with a great view - very much enjoyed waking up to a view of the ocean, and watching morning activity on the water. It was one of the few rooms we stayed in during our Costa Rica stay that had reading lamps on both sides of the beds, with bulbs bright enough to really read by. Lack of light was a persistent problem throughout CR - dim lighting, usually only one reading lamp, one or no chairs to sit in while reading. El Castillo, in contrast, DID have adequate light. We were a bit disappointed there were no chairs on the balcony adjacent to out room - but John explained they'd had problems in the past when chiars were provided. The downstairs lobby/reception area was a great place to relax and enjoy the view, plus there was a nice cool breeze moving through. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are a bit more expensive, but if you don't mind climbing the stairs the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After travelling from San Jose through the "Death Highway" quite an experience we arrived at El Castillo or should I say "Heaven". It is a beautiful Spanish style old villa. When you arrive at the circular drive through the main entrance you have this spectacular view across an open air lobby which opens through French doors onto an infinity pool and an amazing panoramic view of the bay. We arrived at sunset OUTSTANDING. The grounds are gorgeous with a modern but yet old world feel.

Now at many Bed and Breakfasts you often have to source out local restaurants not at El Castillo their on property restaurant Azul was incredible. Scott reserved a pool side table for us on our arrival night. The food is beautifully presented and as a foodie the meal made my tastebuds dance with all the different and unique flavours. Make sure you arrive for the sunset it will make your entire experience perfect. We couldnt wait for breakfast again poolside with fresh fruit and wonderful Costa Rican breakfast. Scott and John were warm and welcoming it was like staying at a friend's home. Thanks for the memories guys. Debo and Gabe February 15, 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahN1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food is very good and the property itself is really beautiful- simple, elegant design, only a few rooms. Don't bother with the suites- just get one of the three rooms overlooking the ocean. They're spacious and beautiful. Down below the infinity pool is one of the nicest examples of an overdone idea... everything is just well put together.

Unfortunately, seemingly everyone in the area shows up for sunsets, and the pool turns into a heaving mass of transplanted middle-aged suburbanites.

But during the day, the small number of rooms means you have the place to yourself, and when that's the case, this hotel is pretty special.

Room Tip: Choose one of three rooms overlooking the ocean. There are two suites as well, but the rooms are ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

El Castillo is perfection. There are only a few rooms in this beautiful castle, so it feels like you are staying at your friend's amazing home. And Scott and John are the perfect hosts. The infinity pool looking out to the ocean is divine. I loved staying at El Castillo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
12.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
9.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Property: El Castillo Hotel
Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Castillo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Castillo is an adults-only, luxury boutique hotel known for its incredible staff, over-the-top service, and exclusive beach on a nearby private island. Perched 600 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the magnificent structure has arguably the most dramatic view in all of Costa Rica. Enjoy the infinity pool on the main level or relax in a cabana on the ocean-view deck below, which features a bar, Jacuzzi pool, and a full menu of in-cabana spa treatments. The fabulous Azul Restaurant & Bar, located inside the hotel, specializes in Mediterranean cuisine. El Castillo is a special place - stay as our guests or rent the entire hotel and let our staff spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing