We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cooking class- yum!”
Review of Ylang Ylang

Ylang Ylang
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small, 10-12 pax, Indonesian restaurant with pacific Ocean view, authentic cooked Indonesian fare. Reservations only, visit our FB page Ylang Ylang Restaurant and use the BOOK now Button. We serve dinner (make your reservation) We cater at your house or rental (please contact us) We cater your party with Indonesian style tapas (please contact us) We do Chef at Home (please contact us) We do Cooking classes 1 or 2 persons max. (please contact us)
costa rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cooking class- yum!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not only did Caroline provide interesting and useful information about Indonesian cooking, but we enjoyed the treat of a number of delicious meals from our efforts in class. We had lots of fun learning about preparing a fabulous special meal, and I also took home skills that I will use in the kitchen, whatever the meal will be.
Thank you Caroline and Hans for making such a fine restaurant as Ylang Ylang!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balirica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Indonesian cooking classes at Ylang Ylang: A Unique Experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Cooking classes with the lovely and talented Caroline at Ylang Ylang restaurant in Ojochal, Costa Rica……fantastic! Always a fan of the restaurant and having a desire to learn the intricacies of Indonesian cooking, I took a series of classes with Caroline. It was an amazing experience to learn about the many combinations of spices used in the dishes and also the details of the processes involved in the food preparation as well. Guided by a binder provided by Ylang Ylang, I learned about the background of Indonesian cooking and was shown many techniques for making numerous dishes from various types of rices to sauces, soup, and vegetables with entrees of shrimp, fish and chicken. Not only were the classes hands on and informative, Caroline shared some of the herbs from her garden and will help provide ingredients difficult to find in Costa Rica that she imports from other areas of the world. Am I ready for the “advanced classes”…..absolutely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanAtwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant shares its culinary secrets with cooking classes”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband just completed one month of cooking instruction with the exceptional chef of Ylang Ylang. What a treat to have him replicate this amazing Indonesian cuisine. I have now had the opportunity to dine there on five different occasions and have been most impressed every time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krazyk4costarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Indonesian food.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

In my opinion, this restaurant is the crown jewel of the numerous excellent restaurants in the Ojochal area. Every dish we tried was outstanding, and the service was highly personalized and perfect. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were lucky and got a table without a reservation. Normally that is difficult but there had been a cancellation. This is a small restaurant with an amazing Indonesian chef and the waiter was so friendly and spoke perfect English. We felt right at home and enjoyed every bite. We loved the family style servings with 2 types of food for extra variety. The whole experience made this one of our favorite meals! We will be back someday!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ylang Ylang also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ylang Ylang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing