We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dinning experience”
Review of Ylang Ylang

Ylang Ylang
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Small, 10-12 pax, Indonesian restaurant with pacific Ocean view, authentic cooked Indonesian fare. Reservations only, visit our FB page Ylang Ylang Restaurant and use the BOOK now Button. We serve dinner (make your reservation). We cater at your house or rental (please contact us) We cater your party with Indonesian style tapas (please contact us) We do Chef at Home (please contact us) We do Cooking classes 1 or 2 persons max. (please contact us)
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb dinning experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

No other restaurant in Ojochal can be compared to Ylang Ylang. Hans and his wife have the perfect setting over looking the Pacific Ocean with a pristine building and garden. We had never had Indonesian food and were so surprised by the wonderful dishes. Hans graciously explained the how the food was prepared and the flavors to experience. For all you foodies out there, you will want to make a reservation at Ylang Ylang. You won't be disappointed. This is a five star experience!

Helpful?
Thank KH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“memories of java”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

having been fortunate enough to spend time in indonesia years ago, it was like a trip down memory lane with the flavors and aromas...all with a tico twist and made with extreme care and attention to detail by hans and his lovely wife. went with a group so were able to sample each of the available menus - all excellent in their own way. if youre in the area, you'd be remiss not to stop in for a meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamezyjamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ojochal”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ate at every restaurant in Ojochal. This was our favorite. Indonesian brunch was novel and delicious. The view of the Pacific Ocean and Playa Tortuga could be a tourist attraction in and of itself. Even during a busy brunch operator/host/waiter Hans took time to show use his mango and banana garden and give directions to a few not-in-the-guidebooks caves. If you eat in Ojochal, eat at Ylang Ylang.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyOpinionsAintFacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real Indonesian Food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

awesome views, talented chef and real Indonesian dishes coming out of the kitchen. Not cheap, but authentic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Intimate restraunt”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great food and good prices. Great location to view sunset! Owners are delightful and the service is great. The aroma of the Ylang Ylang trees adds to the wonderful atmosphere!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ylang Ylang also viewed

Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ylang Ylang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing