We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located hotel for exploring the Ojochal area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Mono Feliz
Ranked #3 of 10 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A well located hotel for exploring the Ojochal area”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My good childhood buddy and I stayed 3 weeks at El Mono Feliz and used it as a jump off point to explore Southern CR from Dominical south to visit the Baruca Tribe east of Palma Notre.

We were greeted by by the Owners Anja and Otto. The B&B grounds were well manicured and inviting, especially the pool after the long drive from San Jose. All of the buildings have a natural looking flavour and are reasonably close to the parking area.

Daily we rose early to enjoy a fresh fruit breakfast prepared by Anja and Otto, also members of the Holland Hotel group. We saw a wide variety of birds feeding on a high platform that Otto and Anja had built. We met many other travelers (USA, Canada and a whole lot of Dutch people, go figure)

The room our room was comfortable with cooking facilities for us along with A/C. If we ever ran out of beer, more was available for purchase on the honour system near breakfast area of the swimming pool The swimming pool is a reasonable size (not diving depth) but you could do laps. The pool is naturally heated and is a comfortable 92 deg F. There is a nice shaded seating area on the side.Not being used to a lot of humidity, the pool surprisingly helps to briefly counteract the humidity directly around the pool. The Toucans and Parrots seemed to fly over each day around 4:15pm,

Otto and Aja have been well entrenched in the Ojochel community for about 30 years and are extremely knowledgeable about the area and the residents. In fact, Anja participates in a community women's group and teaches English to local women. Otto on the other hand, knows many individuals in the area. We are building a house south of Ojochal and is information helped to provide me with more information on local trades and suppliers.

I will be briefly returning later in May to watch the construction of our house and fully intend on saying at El Mono Feliz again.

Room Tip: The single rooms in the main building apparently do nor have A/C (confirm). Building we stayed in ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRBuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello John and John,
thank you so much for your kind words, the next time you are coming a cold beer is waiting for you! Kind regards, Anja and Otto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had planned on spending the second half of our trip at this B&B, but after a long drive from Arenal we arrived around nightfall to find out neither of our 2 gps (one iphone and one from the car rental agency) could locate this hotel. There are a few signs telling you when to turn off, but after you get on the unpaved road, good luck. We spent about 30 minutes driving all over the jungle completely lost looking for any hints (we did see two signs, apparently there are 5, guess we weren't ever close). We ended up staying somewhere else, that we could find. We also booked a reservation, therefore we were charged for staying at this hotel even though we couldn't even find it.

My advice: if you want to stay here don't make a reservation or pay until you are physically at the hotel. We traveled during "high season" and found many hotels with plenty of vacancies. Don't let the false fear of not finding a room trick you into paying for a place before you can see or even find it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hotel El Mono Feliz is not right away at the noisy highway, but calm and quiet situated 300 meters north of the centre of the village of Ojochal. Seven (7) signs along the road will show you the way to the hotel. At the entrance of Ojochal is a ground-plan of Ojochal, were you also can find the direction of the hotel. And, in contrary to what the Mr. Rees says, our hotel is situated in all the NavSat or Germin GPS maps, and also in Google maps. Asking the local people or other hotel-owners in Ojochal will give you always the answer were to find Hotel El Mono Feliz.. You also can find a route description at our website. Is it really difficult to find our hotel with so may resources??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We weren't expecting much considering the lack of available information and the few reviews. This is a quirky gem of an intimate bed and breakfast. We stayed in a two person bungalow and it had everything that we needed. The property is naturally beautiful with landscaping touches that added to the appeal. The biggest surprise was the delightful swimming pool. WIthout it, the heat and humidity would not have been nearly as bearable, especially for visitors from more nortern climates. Pools are often not as attractive in person as in photos but this one was well maintained and delightful. The breakfasts are also very good and one can easily fill up before heading out on adventures. There is an ample assortment of restaurants, banks, and supermarkets in the area, especially if you are willing to drive a short distance to Uvita. The local beach, Playa Ventanas, is very beautiful and offers the safety of patrolled parking for a nominal fee. We would also recommend the boat tour on the Sierpe River, where we were lucky enough to see a great variety of wildlife up close, including white-faced monkeys and scarlet macaws. We also drove to Boruca and enjoyed selecting a great mask crafted by the people there but there was no formal tour. A small museum is apparently under construction. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we can make it down to that area of Costa Rica again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We remember your enthusiasm about, and interest in the nature of our garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my sister for two nights at El Mono Feliz, and we were happily surprise by a perfectly well kept b&b. The owners were very kind and accommodated our every need. Thank you very very much for your hospitality and for showing me the wonderful Ylang Ylang flower!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariolo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
The ylang ylang flower is used in the Chanel nr.5 and grow in our garden. We are happy that you remember the lovely scent of that flowers in our garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I love this place! Tucked away in a quiet location, El Mono Feliz provided a perfect getaway…we saw beautiful butterflies at breakfast and then down by the river. The owners treated us like family. I’m looking forward to going back!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
you are always very welcome! I will tell the morphos (the bleu butterfly) to be there when you come..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Bilt, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here the first 5 nights of our CR holiday. Great place, great people! Otto and Anja were very helpfull in guiding us to the best places, not only around Ojochal, but also to those in other parts of the country!
Our room was perfect, nice and clean. As stated clearly on the website, they have different types of rooms for different prices. Same for breakfast - so please do not complain about eggs and cheese if you choose the $3 variant; for $6 you can eat as much as you want, including a nice fruit salad, cheese and eggs... Gosh, what are we talking about?
Anyway, great value-for-money !!

Finally, Otto, thank you for teaching our kids the voices of Kroet and Polifinario !!

Room Tip: The family room is perfect for a family of four; and closest to the WIFI zone ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank so much for your visit. We always appreciate your comments.
Anja and Otto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights last winter (2012) and absolutely loved it. Otto and Anya are so kind and helpful. You couldn't have better hosts. The breakfast was excellent no matter what you chose.. my favorite was the Gallo Pinto. The setting is so beautiful and relaxing... lots of birds and butterflies... the Blue Morpho fluttered thru every morning and evening! The room is small (it was clean and comfy) but you can relax out in the common area ... I'll always remember our stay there fondly and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanPSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
2.4 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
240 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Diquis Del Sur
Diquis Del Sur
#1 of 13 in Ojochal
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yaba Chigui Lodge
Yaba Chigui Lodge
#2 of 10 in Ojochal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Mono Feliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Mono Feliz

Property: Hotel El Mono Feliz
Address: Calle del Jardin, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Mono Feliz is in the small village of Ojochal, - the Foodie Capital of Costa Rica. We're 10 minutes from some of the most amazing beaches in the world, as well as a seemingly endless supply of adventure, birding, nature, and water activities. From zip lining to ultralights and from bird watching to whale watching - it's here for you to enjoy. Our 3 acre property consists of several types of hotel rooms and bungalows - several with private kitchens and all with private baths, , a large outdoor swimming pool, walkable gardens - and over 130 species of identified birds that frequent our haven. This hotel is perfect for people who would like to slow down, unwind, and relax at the speed of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Mono Feliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Mono Feliz Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing