We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Mono Feliz
Ranked #3 of 10 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I love this place! Tucked away in a quiet location, El Mono Feliz provided a perfect getaway…we saw beautiful butterflies at breakfast and then down by the river. The owners treated us like family. I’m looking forward to going back!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
you are always very welcome! I will tell the morphos (the bleu butterfly) to be there when you come..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
De Bilt, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here the first 5 nights of our CR holiday. Great place, great people! Otto and Anja were very helpfull in guiding us to the best places, not only around Ojochal, but also to those in other parts of the country!
Our room was perfect, nice and clean. As stated clearly on the website, they have different types of rooms for different prices. Same for breakfast - so please do not complain about eggs and cheese if you choose the $3 variant; for $6 you can eat as much as you want, including a nice fruit salad, cheese and eggs... Gosh, what are we talking about?
Anyway, great value-for-money !!

Finally, Otto, thank you for teaching our kids the voices of Kroet and Polifinario !!

Room Tip: The family room is perfect for a family of four; and closest to the WIFI zone ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monofeliz, Owner at Hotel El Mono Feliz, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank so much for your visit. We always appreciate your comments.
Anja and Otto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights last winter (2012) and absolutely loved it. Otto and Anya are so kind and helpful. You couldn't have better hosts. The breakfast was excellent no matter what you chose.. my favorite was the Gallo Pinto. The setting is so beautiful and relaxing... lots of birds and butterflies... the Blue Morpho fluttered thru every morning and evening! The room is small (it was clean and comfy) but you can relax out in the common area ... I'll always remember our stay there fondly and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanPSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at mono feliz during our holiday. Its a beautiful , affordable place with very kind owners Otto and Anja. Its a little of the mainroad in the little village of ojochal. the hotel has rooms as well as houses and the grouds are beautiful and perfectely kept. We saw many birds and other wildlife. there is a great pool and many tours can be done in the area. The little village has many great restaurants and we really recommend Mono Feliz to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junglegirlcostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed three nights at El Mono Feliz. Two in one of their cabañas and one night in a standard room. The cabaña was great, the standard room not so much. The grounds are lovely and the pool was nice and warm.

Room Tip: Go for one of the cabañas if you want a nice room. The standard room was very small and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This little hotel is situated in Ojochal, a little and friendly village. I stayed here for a couple of days and enjoyed it very much. I stayed in one of the rooms. This room was simple but nice. The hosts, a dutch couple, are friendly, courteous and very helpful. The breakfast is not included. If you dont have a car it's not that easy to get there. Because from the bus stop it's like a 30 min walk up the hill. But the hosts will pick you up, if they know you're coming.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in Mono feliz during our round trip. We really liked it there. We were impressed by the cabina, but also by the breakfast and the warm welcome we had from the owners, Anja and Otto. We recommand this place to everyone! It may not be in a jungle, but you can see lots of nature around. We saw the baby turtles crawling back to the ocean and whales in national park Marino Ballena which is only a few kilometres away. Extra tip the italian restaurant next door. The owner is somewhat peculiar, but he makes great pizza's.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabina, it cost a little more but it is really cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Femke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
1.5 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Tangara Azul
0.8 mi away
Diquis Del Sur
Diquis Del Sur
#1 of 14 in Ojochal
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Mono Feliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Mono Feliz

Property: Hotel El Mono Feliz
Address: Calle del Jardin, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Mono Feliz is in the small village of Ojochal, - the Foodie Capital of Costa Rica. We're 10 minutes from some of the most amazing beaches in the world, as well as a seemingly endless supply of adventure, birding, nature, and water activities. From zip lining to ultralights and from bird watching to whale watching - it's here for you to enjoy. Our 3 acre property consists of several types of hotel rooms and bungalows - several with private kitchens and all with private baths, , a large outdoor swimming pool, walkable gardens - and over 130 species of identified birds that frequent our haven. This hotel is perfect for people who would like to slow down, unwind, and relax at the speed of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Mono Feliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Mono Feliz Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing