We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phidjie Lodge - an amazing pleace to be!”
Review of Phidjie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phidjie Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Phidjie Lodge - an amazing pleace to be! Wonderful garden, the owners are so friendly, helpful and also funny. The bungalows are fanastic and very artful, everything is handmade by the owner in a very creative and special way. Even the breakfast, which you can take on the pool, is a little work of art and taste delicious. We loved to stay at phidjie lodge - it was a great time and one of the best accommodation we had in costa rica during our trip! So, don't miss a stay at Phidjie Lodge. We wish Oliver an Isabelle (the owners) the very best for the future!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiSv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 307 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2011

We had unforgettable days in the Phidjie Lodge. Our bungalow (with also a nice kitchen) was very clean and cosy, in the middle of a "Garden of Eden". Olivier and Isabelle, they know what is hospitality! We'll never forget the breakfast near the swimmingpool, the dish with fruit, enough for the whole day and served like a work of art . From our bungalow and from the table near the swimmingpool, we have seen the most nice birds! This place is more than worth to visit and to enjoy. Olivier and Isabelle can tell you very well what you can see close by and where you can go. They are never to tired to help you with everything you need or like to know!! Realy it could not be better!

Will and Thea Kuiper, Leek, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willenthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

The Phidjie Lodge was the highlight of our honeymoon-tour through Costa Rica!
Close to the ocean, very green, peaceful and beautiful, the Phidje Lodge is hidden located in Ojochal, south-west of Costa Rica.
Olivier and Isabelle, the owners, are a very very nice, friendly and funny French couple who made us feeling like staying with friends.
During our stay Olivier and Isabelle organized a amazing boat trip with snorkeling and gave us very good hinds of excellent restaurants. Talking with them always was funny and interesting for us.
There are two very nice and cozy bungalows which are fully equipped and just recently redecorated. Olivier did very much handcraft - it spreads the nature atmosphere all over the place.
All the rooms are on a very high standard and tasteful equipped! Staying there was one of the best in Costa Rica for us! It´s like being one with the nature!
The grounds of the Phidji Lodge are very very green with lot of tropical plants and animals which create a unique tropical feeling. We have seen seldom birds! Even on our little balcony the hummingbirds waited for being photographed.
The pool is just perfect and surrounded by banana tries and other exotic plants and flowers. Here you can relax all the time. Olivier and Isabelle also provide a amazing tasty breakfast which they also serve on the pool site.
The ocean is about 5 min. drive by car. You will find tropical beaches and you might see seldom birds, fishes or whales.
We definitely can recommend the Phidji Lodge and also would go back there at any time!! This place with Olivier and Isabelle made our honeymoon to something very special and to one of the best trips we ever had.
Thank you very much for everything and all the best!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfloetner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Phidjie Lodge was one of our best lodging during our travelling in Costa Rica.
Isabelle and Olivier life their dreams in a little paradise. We enjoy our 3 days every minutes.
Early in the morning we woke up by a little gecko. At 6 o’clock we observe the little toucans on the papaya tree and many hummingbirds in the garden. The breakfast at the pool including fresh fruits and fresh juice was the highlight! The bungalow was very clean and the interior is tastefully furnished self made by Isabelle and Olivier.
Would you like to relax and enjoy during your Costa Rica trip, you have to stay at Phidjie Lodge!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rixi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Isabelle and Olivier's Phidjie lodge (named after their 2 cats) is an island of calm and beauty 5 minutes up the hill from the main road heading south from Quepos / Dominical. The beautiful garden is well looked after and the clean lovely bungalows with open windows (with insect nets) and fans make this a true jungle experience. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable with fully functional kitchen. Waking up to a concert of birds songs was a true pleasure. Breakfast by the pool was sensational, featuring fresh tropical fruits and Isabelle's home made jams. All in all this is a unique place with a very personal and warm touch that I missed in some other highly recommended places in Costa Rica. Definitely my favourite among all the places I stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whynotusemyrealname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Phidjie Lodge is a charming, comfortable and peaceful place to stay. Isabelle and Olivier are very helpfully and considerate, told us a lot about sightseeing and recreational activities! The rooms are furnished with loving attention to detail. Also we saw a few cusingas (toucans) in front of the bungalows.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Olivier and Isabelle are your hosts at Phidjie Lodge in Ojochal. If you want a taste of paradise and to be self sufficient but also be well looked after this is the ideal place. The bungalows are clean and comfortable and there is everything you need in the well equipped kitchen to self cater should you wish to. Towels and bed linen are all provided. The artisitic flair of Olivier and Isabelle resonates in the decor witihn the bungalows and around the pool which is pleasingly deep and long enough to swim. Olivier and Isabelle go out of their way as hosts to ensure you have everything you need whilst you stay and that you are comfortable and informed of all the excursions and sights to see and do. They really have thought of everythng as there is power at the outdoor table allowing you to breakfast or dine by the pool! The garden is a tropical paradise with Ylang Ylang trees (the beautiful scent is intoxicating in the evening) orchids, cocounut trees and lots of exotic plants and flowers. The wildlife is equally amazing as there are resident iguanas in the garden and regular visits from many of the Cost Rican bird species including hummingbirds.

We were backpacking and did not have our own transport which is really essential for exploring this area as local buses are unreliable and there are few taxis.

There are plenty of good restaurants witihn walking distance should you want to dine out.

Ojochal is nice and remote and the only noises you hear are from the abundant wildlife.

This is really a place where you instantly relax and let go and are made to feel at home. We would love to have stayed longer and will return if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon_Fae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
1.5 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
221 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
630 reviews
11.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phidjie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidjie Lodge

Address: Calle del Bosque | 200 Mètres Au Nord De L'école, Ojochal 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range: $79 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidjie Lodge is located on the south Pacific coast, in a charming village called: Ojochal. This B&B, owned by a French couple gives you the opportunity to hire a fully equipped and self contained bungalow. Wanna fancy surfing? diving? going to the beach or on a boat ride to see whales and dolphins? Everything is possible here! If you would rather relax by the swimming pool under the gaze of the toucans and parrots, you can do that too. Phidjie Lodge is above all a peaceful and relaxing place but also a wonderful base for many activities such a horse riding in Marino Ballena park, do kayak, snorkeling and/or diving to Cano Island, go for a whale and dolphin tour, do canopy, meeting Indians, discovering the rich fauna and more, even Manuel Antonio and Osa peninsula! with it famous Corcovado NP ! Besides booking excursions for you, we can also provide you with a rental car and give you advices and information to make your stay even more enjoyable. So, come and join us to discover wonders of Costa-Rica southern Pacific! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Phidjie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phidjie Lodge Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing