We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phidjie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phidjie Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Based on the reviews we read, we expected a lot from Phidjie Lodge. We got so much more! The bungalow: clean, charming, comfortable with lovely decor. The grounds: OMG the garden is so beautiful, the pool so inviting. The hosts: Olivier and Isabelle are astonishingly nice and helpful. They hooked us up with best snorkeling adventure and great birding hike, dinner reservations in town, scrumptuous breakfasts poolside... We are bird nerds, and we really enjoyed watching the colorful euphonias and parrots in the garden trees. It's impossible to adequately describe our comfort here. We just loved it!

Room Tip: There are only two bungalows. They are identical. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    18
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
85
155
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roquefort les pins france
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A big thank you to Olivier and Isabelle for welcoming us into their little corner of paradise.
You will be surprised by the beautiful landscaped garden, very nicely decorated and comfortable bungalows. The kitchens are well equiped but there are also some very nice restaurants in town that Olivier and Isabelle recommended to us as we did not really want to cook on our holidays. We appreciated the hot water at all time which is not everywhere in the country, all the windows are well screened so no mosquitoes inside unless you leave the door opened !
Ojochal is a cute village and an ideal base for a lot of day trips and tours and Olivier and Isabelle have been there long enough to advise you and help you plan your tours. I would recommend to stay at least a week as there is plenty to do in the area but you have to have your own transportation as we did.
Travelling is also about meeting people, we will always remember Olivier and Isabelle, lovely people who pay a lot of attention to their guests.
Take time to chill out by the pool and to take a walk around the garden to see all differents sorts of birds, you might be lucky to find an iguana in the pool, if not ask Olivier to show you the photos !
We are already dreaming about coming back, guys me miss you !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A wonderful find! Olivier and Isabelle are great hosts, they shared their knowledge of the region to make our trip more enjoyable and run their lodge very efficiently. I really liked the self catering option of the cottage, it's kitchen is well equipped. The pool and gardens are amazing, the peace and quiet makes for an intimate stay here. All in all excellent value, for those who want to get away from the crowds in the idyllic location of ojochal...this is it.
Thank you both for making our stay a pleasure

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved it here! This was our favorite part of our trip. Upon arrival, our senses were stunned by all of the beautiful landscaping, cozy bungalows and restful space by the pool. My fiance proposed to me here, I couldn’t have asked for a better more romantic, positive place to do so. Olivier and Isabelle happily helped him coordinate the evening, it was perfect!

Isabelle and Olivier know the area at large very well, and were able to recommend excellent tours and great beach locations for us to visit. It is not more than roughly a 30 minute drive to Sierpe, where you can catch a large variety of tours from mangroves (where we found the best place to catch great views of so many birds, considering our many other international vacations and tours), or snorkeling on an unpopulated island off the coast. If you want a beach, it is no more than a 5 minute drive to a beautiful spot where you can relax on some sand, take a stroll, or play in the waves.

Phidjie Lodge is remote enough you are not pestered by tourists and heavy traffic, but populated enough to have great classy restaurants and a bakery to enjoy as well. If you would rather cook, the bungalows are properly equipped with dishes and cookware so that you can make your own meal, or enjoy your beverage cooled in the fridge. There is also a good sized variety market to buy your food near by.

We originally planned to stay 3 nights, but really benefited by staying a fourth night. Isabelle and Olivier are excellent hosts and were always readily available to help us with suggestions and book a tour or restaurant.

We highly recommend Phidjie Lodge, for I couldn't imagine Costa Rica without this experience!

Thank you Isabelle & Olivier!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an amazing 4 nights at Phidjie Lodge. We enjoyed every day our breakfast next to the pool watching and listening to the birds and being surrounded by lots of flowers. Oliver and Isabelle took time to explain us all the different plants and advising us when there were other animals in the garden. Like the big iguana that was eating away on bush, we got some amazing photo's and videos of it. We couldn't wait every evening to get back to our bungalow and prepare some sun-downers that we had next to the pool while it got slowly dark. Isabelle and Oliver recommended us very good restaurant in the area for dinner. It was a great place to take my parents too and we all decided it could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travel to Ojochal, with nice references of the town, but, what a good surprise, the people, the food, the feeling...

This little lodge is well equiped, more than a description could tell. An the attention of the owners is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are equals, furniture hand made (wood)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

You wake up with the birds in this paradise !

We spent a week in this eden. what a beautiful place, full of colors and scents. Olivier and Isabelle are two adorable creatures, very helpful and always available. It was a pain to leave this place and to come back to Quebec during winter...

I strongly suggest this place for those seeking a peaceful and beautiful place. More than a bed and Breakfast, Phidjie Lodge is a home in nature.

Thomas and Charlene.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene_Debruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
0.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#1 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#6 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diquis Del Sur
Diquis Del Sur
#1 of 11 in Ojochal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phidjie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidjie Lodge

Property: Phidjie Lodge
Address: Calle del Bosque | 200 mètres au nord de l'école, Ojochal 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidjie Lodge is located on the south Pacific coast, in a charming village called: Ojochal. This B&B, owned by a French couple gives you the opportunity to hire a fully equipped and selft contained bungalow. Wanna fancy surfing? diving? going to the beach or on a boat ride to see whales and dolphins? Everything is possible here! If you would rather relax by the swimming pool under the gaze of the toucans and parrots, you can do that too. Phidjie Lodge is above all a peaceful and relaxing place but also a wonderful base for many activities such a horse riding in Marino Ballena park, do kayak, snorkeling and/or diving to Cano Island, go for a whale and dolphin tour, do canopy, meeting Indians, discovering the rich fauna and more, even Manuel Antonio and Osa peninsula! with it famous Corcovado NP ! Besides booking excursions for you, we can also provide you with a rental car and give you advices and information to make your stay even more enjoyable. So, come and join us to discover wonders of Costa-Rica southern Pacific! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Phidjie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phidjie Lodge Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing