We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing place to relax and enjoy Costa Rica's nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phidjie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phidjie Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Amazing place to relax and enjoy Costa Rica's nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an amazing 4 nights at Phidjie Lodge. We enjoyed every day our breakfast next to the pool watching and listening to the birds and being surrounded by lots of flowers. Oliver and Isabelle took time to explain us all the different plants and advising us when there were other animals in the garden. Like the big iguana that was eating away on bush, we got some amazing photo's and videos of it. We couldn't wait every evening to get back to our bungalow and prepare some sun-downers that we had next to the pool while it got slowly dark. Isabelle and Oliver recommended us very good restaurant in the area for dinner. It was a great place to take my parents too and we all decided it could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    18
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
85
155
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travel to Ojochal, with nice references of the town, but, what a good surprise, the people, the food, the feeling...

This little lodge is well equiped, more than a description could tell. An the attention of the owners is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are equals, furniture hand made (wood)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

You wake up with the birds in this paradise !

We spent a week in this eden. what a beautiful place, full of colors and scents. Olivier and Isabelle are two adorable creatures, very helpful and always available. It was a pain to leave this place and to come back to Quebec during winter...

I strongly suggest this place for those seeking a peaceful and beautiful place. More than a bed and Breakfast, Phidjie Lodge is a home in nature.

Thomas and Charlene.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene_Debruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spend a perfect night in a beautiful, confortable and peaceful bungalow. Surrounded of nature and every little place where full of amazing handmade details. You feel like you are part of the place. The bungalow was equipped with everything that you need we find everything clean and confortable to cook and to spend time in side. The pool was great at every time of the day hidden by nice gardens that make it very private. Near you can have good restaurants , beach, waterfalls, whales watching, bird watching, walking trips very accesible. Whe definitively feel the love that this couple put into this place and how they enjoy to make you have the best time in this piece of Paradise they make.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have just finished a 3 night stay in a bungalow at the Phidjie Lodge and it truely was amazing. If you are a gardner, you will appreciate the time and effort that Olivier and Isabelle have put into developing the property. You feel like you are living in a conservatory and every corner has something interesting to admire. The swimming pool is a must have in this part of the country,as the temperatures are so hot. Their pool is clean and relaxing and it is so private.
The tours that Isablee and Olivier suggested - snorkelling and horseback riding were fabulous, and we would also recommend them to anyone staying in this area.If you are looking to get off the beaten track and to venture into a true Costa Rican village, then this is the experience for you! Grant and Claire from Winnipeg, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

What an experience! At Phidjie Lodge you will feel at home far from home. It was so hard to leave this place after just 4 nights of lodging here. The parental care we enjoyed and the feedback given on local community was priceless on top of the Fodor’s book that covered the basic attractions. For example, instead of using mysticdivecenter (Fodor’s choice) for a snorkel trip to Cano Island, Olivier reserved us a boat through a local restaurant in Sierpe. So instead of boating with a large group of 20 -30 people we ended up paying the same but enjoying a private snorkeling trip with just one more tourist on a small boat. We went through a mangrove forest chased dolphins along the way and check several snorkeling spots. On our way back on Sierpe River the local guide from the village anchored on a small empty beech similar to a blue lagoon where we were able for taste for the first time some of the wild delicious fruits that only grow in this area; a unique experience.
Enough was said about the bungalows, their hand crafted decorations and their unique art and style. How about waking up every morning in your personal botanical garden with a mesmerizing view, a slick shaped pool in the middle of it and enjoying a copious fruity breakfast beyond organic? Exotic birds and animal encounters are typical in this garden.
You are a short distance away from the top choices of local and French cuisine available in the area. What mostly mattered for us was to experience the traditional life style in Costa Rica through the “local eye” and concentrate as many activities as possible in 4 days. Isabelle and Olivier were the answer we were looking for. Nous vous remercions de tout cœur et à la prochaine. Cristian & Kasia, Chicago.

Room Tip: Although the place is well lit a good flashlight help you spot nocturnal nightlife around the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in Phidjie Lodge for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The bungalows are delightfully decorated and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. We found the properties very clean, neat and well equipped. The owners are wonderful people: really friendly and very helpful - they will do anything to help and make you feel comfortable but leave you alone as well if you prefer solitude. The pool was nice and deep and the location is wonderful as in the village there are loads of nice little cafes and some good restaurants. Can’t say too many positive things about this place ! We loved it and would definitely recommend it ...... You will not be disappointed ! Merci Olivier et Isabelle !!

Room Tip: Both bungalows are beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
0.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#1 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Hotel Mamma e Papa
#4 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diquis Del Sur
Diquis Del Sur
#1 of 11 in Ojochal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phidjie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidjie Lodge

Property: Phidjie Lodge
Address: Calle del Bosque | 200 mètres au nord de l'école, Ojochal 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidjie Lodge is located on the south Pacific coast, in a charming village called: Ojochal. This B&B, owned by a French couple gives you the opportunity to hire a fully equipped and selft contained bungalow. Wanna fancy surfing? diving? going to the beach or on a boat ride to see whales and dolphins? Everything is possible here! If you would rather relax by the swimming pool under the gaze of the toucans and parrots, you can do that too. Phidjie Lodge is above all a peaceful and relaxing place but also a wonderful base for many activities such a horse riding in Marino Ballena park, do kayak, snorkeling and/or diving to Cano Island, go for a whale and dolphin tour, do canopy, meeting Indians, discovering the rich fauna and more, even Manuel Antonio and Osa peninsula! with it famous Corcovado NP ! Besides booking excursions for you, we can also provide you with a rental car and give you advices and information to make your stay even more enjoyable. So, come and join us to discover wonders of Costa-Rica southern Pacific! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Phidjie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phidjie Lodge Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing