We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phidjie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phidjie Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spend a perfect night in a beautiful, confortable and peaceful bungalow. Surrounded of nature and every little place where full of amazing handmade details. You feel like you are part of the place. The bungalow was equipped with everything that you need we find everything clean and confortable to cook and to spend time in side. The pool was great at every time of the day hidden by nice gardens that make it very private. Near you can have good restaurants , beach, waterfalls, whales watching, bird watching, walking trips very accesible. Whe definitively feel the love that this couple put into this place and how they enjoy to make you have the best time in this piece of Paradise they make.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    18
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
85
156
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have just finished a 3 night stay in a bungalow at the Phidjie Lodge and it truely was amazing. If you are a gardner, you will appreciate the time and effort that Olivier and Isabelle have put into developing the property. You feel like you are living in a conservatory and every corner has something interesting to admire. The swimming pool is a must have in this part of the country,as the temperatures are so hot. Their pool is clean and relaxing and it is so private.
The tours that Isablee and Olivier suggested - snorkelling and horseback riding were fabulous, and we would also recommend them to anyone staying in this area.If you are looking to get off the beaten track and to venture into a true Costa Rican village, then this is the experience for you! Grant and Claire from Winnipeg, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

What an experience! At Phidjie Lodge you will feel at home far from home. It was so hard to leave this place after just 4 nights of lodging here. The parental care we enjoyed and the feedback given on local community was priceless on top of the Fodor’s book that covered the basic attractions. For example, instead of using mysticdivecenter (Fodor’s choice) for a snorkel trip to Cano Island, Olivier reserved us a boat through a local restaurant in Sierpe. So instead of boating with a large group of 20 -30 people we ended up paying the same but enjoying a private snorkeling trip with just one more tourist on a small boat. We went through a mangrove forest chased dolphins along the way and check several snorkeling spots. On our way back on Sierpe River the local guide from the village anchored on a small empty beech similar to a blue lagoon where we were able for taste for the first time some of the wild delicious fruits that only grow in this area; a unique experience.
Enough was said about the bungalows, their hand crafted decorations and their unique art and style. How about waking up every morning in your personal botanical garden with a mesmerizing view, a slick shaped pool in the middle of it and enjoying a copious fruity breakfast beyond organic? Exotic birds and animal encounters are typical in this garden.
You are a short distance away from the top choices of local and French cuisine available in the area. What mostly mattered for us was to experience the traditional life style in Costa Rica through the “local eye” and concentrate as many activities as possible in 4 days. Isabelle and Olivier were the answer we were looking for. Nous vous remercions de tout cœur et à la prochaine. Cristian & Kasia, Chicago.

Room Tip: Although the place is well lit a good flashlight help you spot nocturnal nightlife around the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in Phidjie Lodge for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The bungalows are delightfully decorated and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. We found the properties very clean, neat and well equipped. The owners are wonderful people: really friendly and very helpful - they will do anything to help and make you feel comfortable but leave you alone as well if you prefer solitude. The pool was nice and deep and the location is wonderful as in the village there are loads of nice little cafes and some good restaurants. Can’t say too many positive things about this place ! We loved it and would definitely recommend it ...... You will not be disappointed ! Merci Olivier et Isabelle !!

Room Tip: Both bungalows are beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halsnaes
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just stayed 4 days in the beautiful Phidjie Lodge. Absolute wonderful and charming hosts Isabelle and Olivier. Thanks for your help and hospitalily.
Gerner and Kirsten from Denmark

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, vers clean and nice. You definately need a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kigebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Thank you,Oliver and Isabelle, for your wonderful hospitelity and comfortable accomidations. Very clean and beautiful cabin and gardens....the pool, so private and clean. Convieniently located close to every thing (grocery,resteraunts,etc.) Two of the friendliest caring people we met on our stay.If you are looking for a clean and relaxing place, with a kitchen and nice people....THIS IS IT!.......Dena & Mick (Illinois)

Room Tip: Both cabins are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbccci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Loved this place. The place is very simple. It's not a huge international resort. Just clean rooms and a great little pool (that you most likely have all to your self). Pretty tropical grounds. Something we really liked was the fact that the rooms were so close to the pool. The rooms have a nice fridge so you can make pool drinks or beers and enjoy them without paying exorbitant prices. This also helps if you want to make a snack if you have a child like we did. Pool is good for children- with a little shallow area for entry.

Breakfast by pool was great- like others have reported.

Olivier and Isabelle couldn't be nicer people. Olivier has tons of personality and goes out of his way to help with anything really.

Would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBianco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
0.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Hotel Mamma e Papa
#4 of 5 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diquis Del Sur
Diquis Del Sur
#1 of 11 in Ojochal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phidjie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidjie Lodge

Property: Phidjie Lodge
Address: Calle del Bosque | 200 mètres au nord de l'école, Ojochal 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidjie Lodge is located on the south Pacific coast, in a charming village called: Ojochal. This B&B, owned by a French couple gives you the opportunity to hire a fully equipped and selft contained bungalow. Wanna fancy surfing? diving? going to the beach or on a boat ride to see whales and dolphins? Everything is possible here! If you would rather relax by the swimming pool under the gaze of the toucans and parrots, you can do that too. Phidjie Lodge is above all a peaceful and relaxing place but also a wonderful base for many activities such a horse riding in Marino Ballena park, do kayak, snorkeling and/or diving to Cano Island, go for a whale and dolphin tour, do canopy, meeting Indians, discovering the rich fauna and more, even Manuel Antonio and Osa peninsula! with it famous Corcovado NP ! Besides booking excursions for you, we can also provide you with a rental car and give you advices and information to make your stay even more enjoyable. So, come and join us to discover wonders of Costa-Rica southern Pacific! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Phidjie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phidjie Lodge Costa Rica/Ojochal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing