We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlecary House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed through a 5pm deal which was for DBB. The hotel staff were all very polite and friendly from reception, to bar staff and serving staff at dinner and breakfast. Our room was basic but clean and tidy and better than we have experienced in larger chain hotels in the past. Our dinner was served in the 'snug' where there was a lively 40th birthday celebration and our server was incredibly cheery even though she was rushed off her feet, food was again absolutely fine and very generous portions. I don't usually sleep that well in a strange bed but it was quiet and I didn't notice the road noise until after 7am. The breakfast again was absolutely fine, my only niggle would be that the eggs could have been cooked a little bit longer. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a short stay or just for a hearty meal after doing one of the Antonine Wall trails that end at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Just be aware most rooms have showers.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we very much appreciate your comments. It is always nice to receive positive feedback, and of course, constructive criticism regarding any of our services. Hopefully, next time you come to Castlecary, your eggs will be perfect! Please check our website for any future offers and events, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Castlecary House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 504 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my first visit and I must say it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.
The staff was very welcoming and friendly ,and would do all they could to make your stay a happy one.
Food was well worth every penny . Also if your a keen whiskey drinker there is more than plenty to choose from.
Would most definetly recommend to anyone visiting this area.
I am looking forward to going to stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you are now aware, we are very much a friendly family run hotel, with all of our food choices offering value and of course, all homemade! The selection of whisky and real ales is also something that we are proud to provide to our customers, again at realistic prices. We very much look forward to welcoming you again to Castlecary, just check out our website or call us to make a booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Im not usually a fan of eating out on xmas day as i find meals rushed and over-priced. I also normally feel that staff are in a tizz to get you served and out if their hair. This was my favourite dining experience to date! Food was delicious. There was a huge choice on the menu with no need to pre-order. Everyone in my party had different meals and we all loved the food! Drinks prices were very reasonable. The meal cost was one of the best on offer in the area too. Staff were all lovely!! What a lovely atmosphere!!!! I will most definately be coming back here during the year and for another festive dinner at the end of the year too! Thanks to all the staff from xmas day!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MsStaceyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on Christmas Day. It is always a boost when we receive such positive comments and very much appreciated. Please do check out our website for events and Tribute Nights, as these are very good value and of course our Christmas events for this year. Thank you again, look forward to seeing you back at Castlecary soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed on an Edinburgh great deal voucher by way of a wee break away from the Razzmataz at this time of year. It was certainly that: a quick 2 minute walk to check out the Antonine Wall indicator, 10 minutes to an Industrial estate and 2 minutes the other way to the Motorway but we had expected little else. We were on a bus route to both Falkirk and Stirling had we been inclined. We both liked the self contained units, which were clean, spacious and warm, although being close to the main road proved to be a bit noisy. The bathroom had a shower cubicle big enough to move about in and a towel heater ensured clean warm towels. The shower head could maybe be replaced though? The bedroom was a good size and had everything you would have wanted in it for an overnight stay. My only crib would be that maybe WiFi information could be included in the 'Welcome Pack'? The road noise does carry on most of the night.
Their Poachers Bar was friendly and welcoming and appeared to have steady local(?) custom throughout our short time there.

The hotel itself appeared fine, although we only passed through to reach the restaurant area which was very large and functional. Service was courteous and attentive and the meal (particularly the soup) was very good. There were surcharges on some things but that's down to personal choice and there's enough variety offered to avoid them. There was a meal/function on when we were there and the staff appeared to be coping well throughout. Breakfast was good: Lorne sausage and tattie scones for a change with other usual and some more unusual choices offered too. Plenty cereals, pastries, cold buffet meant no-one should go away hungry?
All in all an enjoyable enough stay and we headed off to check out the Falkirk Wheel, only to discover we should have pre-booked!! Maybe another time..............

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grampasauras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day Groupon deal at this hotel. We were in chalet accommodation just off from the main hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable with a large flat screen TV. The power shower was amazing! Our deal included an evening meal which was served in the hotel bar, which was lovely and quiet (we dined in the same place the second night and got two two course meals and a bottle of wine for £30). The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was great! You will not leave hungry I can assure you! The breakfast menu was the most extensive I have seen anywhere.
Free WiFi is available in the main hotel but is not always accessible from the outlying accommodation however I was able to get 3G connections from Vodafone and Virgin so no issues there.
This is a hotel which tries hard to please and in our opinion succeeds. I would happily go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is always nice to receive positive feedback and a real boost for the hotel and staff. We work hard to provide a warm, friendly and homely experience here at Castlecary with good homemade food and realisistic prices for beverages. So glad you enjoyed, would love to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed on 23rd & 24th November. Welcome fantastic, rooms clean and comfortable although a bit dated in the decor and a bit tired decor. Rooms are like individual bungalows with double bed, tea, coffee biscuits, flat screen tv and around 40 channels, iron and board, power shower and some toiletries. Rooms are self controlled with gas central heating. Can park right at the door or your bungalow. Very quiet even during night when there are functions on. Rooms across car park around 100 meters. Meal deal with Groupon or without Groupon is fantastic, huge portions and a wide choice of food to cater for all tastes. Kerry in the bar is one in a million. She is attentive, friendly, accomodating and fantastic at her job. To be honest all staff at the hotel are fantastic. 2 course meal £10, pint Guiness £2.60. Fantastic value for money. Breakfasts huge portions and a variety of hot options and the customary continental style buffet. Quick service and very attentive staff. 10-15 minutes from Falkirk wheel. Will definately visit again especially with Groupon deal.

Room Tip: We were in 246 and 245
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beg132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We always appreciate feedback, especially nice when it is positive and of course, always good when our staff receive a little mention, a real boost. Look forward to seeing you again, please check out our website for any special offers or events which run throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

i stayed here last night it was on groupon so i divided to try it and it was great we got the evening meal in with the price and the food was great very clean the room was great big tv in the room big shower would of liked a bath but it was fine .our room was at the side of the hotel our bed room was on the diffident floor from the wc i liked the lay out the staff were so friendly and welcoming loved evy min of it i would recommend this hotel to anyone :) thanks from smith party hehe :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. So glad you all enjoyed the warm, friendly service that we pride ourselves in, it would be a pleasure to have you come back and stay with us again. Check out our website for up and coming events and special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range: $55 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing