We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night Groupon Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlecary House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“2 night Groupon Deal”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed on 23rd & 24th November. Welcome fantastic, rooms clean and comfortable although a bit dated in the decor and a bit tired decor. Rooms are like individual bungalows with double bed, tea, coffee biscuits, flat screen tv and around 40 channels, iron and board, power shower and some toiletries. Rooms are self controlled with gas central heating. Can park right at the door or your bungalow. Very quiet even during night when there are functions on. Rooms across car park around 100 meters. Meal deal with Groupon or without Groupon is fantastic, huge portions and a wide choice of food to cater for all tastes. Kerry in the bar is one in a million. She is attentive, friendly, accomodating and fantastic at her job. To be honest all staff at the hotel are fantastic. 2 course meal £10, pint Guiness £2.60. Fantastic value for money. Breakfasts huge portions and a variety of hot options and the customary continental style buffet. Quick service and very attentive staff. 10-15 minutes from Falkirk wheel. Will definately visit again especially with Groupon deal.

Room Tip: We were in 246 and 245
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beg132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We always appreciate feedback, especially nice when it is positive and of course, always good when our staff receive a little mention, a real boost. Look forward to seeing you again, please check out our website for any special offers or events which run throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    166
    67
    46
    35
See reviews for
137
184
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

i stayed here last night it was on groupon so i divided to try it and it was great we got the evening meal in with the price and the food was great very clean the room was great big tv in the room big shower would of liked a bath but it was fine .our room was at the side of the hotel our bed room was on the diffident floor from the wc i liked the lay out the staff were so friendly and welcoming loved evy min of it i would recommend this hotel to anyone :) thanks from smith party hehe :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. So glad you all enjoyed the warm, friendly service that we pride ourselves in, it would be a pleasure to have you come back and stay with us again. Check out our website for up and coming events and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at THe Castlecary on 15th Nov with my parents. Sadly this was not a family holiday but we were attending my grandads funeral the next day. The meal following the funeral was being held there etc. the staff were very friendly in all areas of the hotel from the evening we arrived and had dinner in the quiet bar with some family which was very cosy and I can highly recommend the black pudding balls as a starter!

However the rooms are very basic and I did not like the idea there was no mattress protector on the bed, the duvet looked it had been half heartedly ironed. Nothing really matches ie carpets, curtains or duvet.

I much prefer the standard of rooms at The Westerwood, however it does not have the friendly staff and cosy bars that Castlecary has, therefore depends what you are looking for hopefully this review will help you decide!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggeronTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback we receive and are sorry that your stay with us was not under more fortunate circumstances.
We are under no illusions that we can please everyone that stays with us, however, we note from your comments that you did enjoy our friendly staff, good food and cosy bars.
Unfortunately, it would seem that your room was not what you would have liked, we take your comments on board constructively.
It is also worth noting, that our competitors offer different services with different pricing, therefore, as you so rightly say, it is all down to personal preference and expectations.
Thank you once again, come back and see us when you are in the area, at least to have some black pudding balls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went for a family dinner on a Monday night in the restaraunt. Six of us turned up on speck and were given a table without a problem. First the tables for larger groups are round which are great and table decor was lovely. We were there for the £10.99 three course deal and the food was first class. The staff also were lovely and attentive and couldn't do enough. I have eat in the lounge before several times and have never been disappointed but this was the first time in the restaraunt and will book again next week for my daughters birthday. A definite must for a great meal in lovely surroundings, only gripe my elderly in-laws were cold and was a bit airy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackihig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals in Camerons Restaurant and indeed came back for a birthday celebration.
Please check out our website for special offers which may become available, also out Dinner and Tribute nights which are great value and a fantasic night out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed one night on a Groupon deal. The room was clean and comfortable. The shower really good plenty hot water. All amenities in the room. The meal was excellent and breakfast also. Staff very attentive. Furniture in room a bit tired but this is an observation and not a complaint as we did not have any. Will be looking out for another deal and would return on that basis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We do appreciate all of your comments and observations, please check out our website for any special offers and events.
Look forward to seeing you again here at Castlecary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. The room was lovely, food was excellent - had an evening meal and breakfast and couldn't fault either.The staff were attentive, friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definately be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage room. The room was spotless, spacious and well stocked with tea, coffee, suga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and indeed for taking the time to write. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we visited castlecary house hotel on a groupon deal £50 for a two course meal bottle of wine overnight stay and breakfast the room was a wee bit dated but clean and tidy the power shower was amazing our dinner was very nice chicken terrine with a lovely chutney brased steak and red wine bottle of rosie wine and the sticky toffie pudding was also very nice breakfast was also very good staff also very pleasant maybe other restaraunts on groupon deals should pay notice thanks for a lovely saturday night

Room Tip: the room we were in was one of the chalets so i cant speak for any other rooms but going with other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Castlecary. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and wine, especially the Sticky Toffee Pudding. We continually strive to give our guests a positive value experience while staying with us, look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
9.4 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
193 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Property: Castlecary House Hotel
Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing