We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group on deal breaker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlecary House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here on a group on deal last night 2/9/12. Had read many many mixed reviews regarding this hotel prior to staying. However I have to say it was a really lovely experience. The accommodation was lovely cute bungalow type on suite rooms in the grounds of the hotel. The deal we got was dinner with wine bed and breakfast for just under £ 50. The meal was delicious two lovely well presented courses. Very very tastie indeed. The experience was made all the better for the lovely Kerry who almost single handed ran the bar, took our order and served our food. The bar was fully booked for meals we counted 24 covers that were all very satisfied with the service kerry and gave. She was so friendly helpful and efficient a true asset to the hotel. My husband and I had such a peaceful sleep we slept in for breakfast. The hotel is only ten minutes from our house but we wanted a wee treat but not with the crazy drive at the end of a busy week at work. Look forward to many bar lunches on the way past again. But unless we manage to get another group on deal at a similar price probably won't stay again at full price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 523 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wife and I stayed here a few years back and had a terrific weekend. However can't say the Same this time round. Worst thing was the service to be honest closely followed by the awful breakfast. Rooms gettin a bit dated looking too....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I go here quite regular and has never been a fault, steak pie is just lovely one of the best and there white chocolate and fudge cheesecake is just delicious I won't get anything else lol

Great service,great staff great prices lovely little place can't fault it one bit

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemzy1888_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastlecaryResponse, Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, glad you like the Steak Pie as there are a few mixed comments on this. Our Steak Pie has always been cooked in the same way for years, quite simply, old fashioned, no frills and baked with the pastry on top and not separately.
As you know, our puddings are all homemade here at Castlecary with absolutely no frozen desserts, so glad you enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed in the hotel with my wife for two nights in what was supposed to be a "get away break".
I wish i had stayed at home.
Apart from the friendly reception staff, the rest of the hotel including restaurant and bar staff were a major let down. Ordering more than one drink at a time appeared to confuse and irritate the barman whilst the restaurant staff gave the impression of wishing they were elsewhere.....come on a smile wouldn't go amiss !!.
The decor itself is bright enough and cheery and rooms fairly basic but the general demeanour of staff very downbeat.
Food in the restaurant was fairly bland. We both had steak pie and it's fair to say i've tasted better.
So overall i'd have to say the hotel is fairly disappointing and if your looking for a cheery, family friendly hotel with the odd smile ... avoid this one !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donalessex l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I treated 10 members of my family to a meal at the castlecary to celebrate my 40th birthday. I really wish I hadn't.
Four people in the group ordered steak, some ordered steak pie and some fish etc. However when the steaks arrived the stench in the air was awful, the steaks were off !. When we drew this to the attention of the waitress she simply shrugged her shoulders and suggest we order something else off the menu.
I was absolutely disgusted at what had took place and also the attitude of the restaurant staff who appeared to treat the matter in the same way as that of a dropped item of cutlery. When I finally located the manager he said it was unfortunate !!!.
Myself and my family will never return to the establishment and God help you if you order steak and God help you trying to get a coherent response from the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We arrived at Castlecary after a day in Edinburgh and checked in before being handed a key to our room which is actually in a separate building to the main hotel. The room was a decent size, with a nice ensuite and a quirky layout. Decor was nothing special but the bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet - meaning we enjoyed a lovely nights sleep.
We also took the opportunity to eat at the hotel restaurant, enjoying a very nice 3 course meal for £10.95 - which was an absolute bargain! My steak pie was fantastic, as was the chicken terrine. Desserts were only ok but to be fair we were both stuffed by then.
Breakfast the next morning was nice, there were plenty of options cereal wise and the cooked breakfast was large and tasty; they even had vegetarian haggis!
All in all a nice hotel in a quiet location that we chose for its close proximity to the Falkirk Wheel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RovingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were a group of four, my twin sisters and son, we booked three rooms, all of
which were the chalets. The 1st chalet (237)was the best, lovely and warm and
everything working with a door out to the garden, the 2 other chalets were cold and
not so inviting and showers not getting warm also TV not working in son’s chalet, had
to go to sisters for shower.. If you are looking for an overnight stop and getting there
late and up and off in the morning and this is whats left in the height of summer then
it’s fine for the price £55 per chalet and a lovely breakfast included. Also had a meal
when we arrived which everyone enjoyed and no to expensive.. Could not fault the food or the staff all very friendly and the Irish girl on reception was what a good receptionist should be. It’s a shame that the flower pots outside the chalets were empty as that would have made a
difference to the approach to the chalets. We would stay again if we got my sisters
chalet..

Room Tip: Some chalets are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
9.4 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
534 reviews
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
6 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range: $50 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing