We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed in the westerwood for one night, myself and my partner! We booked an Feature room, which is the rooms that have been build on. Reception was quick and Friendly. Room was stunning. Very good decor and finishing. Very very Clean. Only let down was that i ordered a bottle of wine to be in the room for our arrival which i was just sitting there with two glasses. So was warm!! We ate in the club house which was lovely. Very friendly and helpful staff. Over all a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pebbles_Pebbles2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2009

The hotel is quite nice - not luxury, but a very good standard. The room were comfortable, well equipped and the beds were very very good. The spa treatment area is wonderful with the staff friendly, knowledgable and good at their jobs! There were a handful of families around but you can still enjoy a relaxing weekend here. The restaurant was a very high standard with foams, veloute's and those infamous chocolate fondants! Very tasty and reasonable when as part of a package deal. We will be making an annual trip back here for our spa night, instead of looking around for new places.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwray2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I have just come home after an incredible one night with my mum - a spa break of breakfast, lunch, dinner, 2 treatments and use of gym & swimming/sauna/steam/jacuzzi. We could not fault it - the staff are wonderful - all so kind and warm and helpful. We arrived at 12.30 as one of our treatments was before the check in time but infact our room was ready & they were flexible about chaning round the treatments a little. We had a 2 course lunch, then out treatments, then a workout - and they have a powerplate which is incredible, then a swim, sauna, stem etc. Then we lay around in our dressing gowns (you get them with the treatments) until it was time to get ready for dinner. The dinner was fabulous, and lovely lazing in the lounge after by fire with a red wine. Then the breakfast....wow - everything you could possibly want. Then, after checking out at 11am you were still able to use the facilites, so another workout and swim sauna etc. We could have chosen to have our lunch after checking out, or even our treatments, cos once you've put your suitcase in the car, you can go back in with your gym bag & have a shower etc after. So the one night was 2 full days. The weather was awful so to be able to retreat into this building and be swallowed up in the relaxing atmosphere was bliss. Total value for money (£89 each I found a deal on Spabreaks) We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbabe65Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Great spa weekend offer - lunch, dinner, B&B plus full use of facilities and 2 spa treatments for £89 each made a super girls weekend.
Room was lovely - request one overlooking the golf club!
Breakfast was until 11am which was most welcome on a Sunday morning!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is a great all round hotel for both business or pleasure, Very clean with nice rooms, great bathrooms and excellent leisure facilities.
However the food was not very good, we had a luke warm starter, followed by a poor main course, (possibly the toughest Sirlon ever?).
Breakfast was well laid out with a choice of Continental etc but again, cold bacon sausage etc
Reception & bar staff were pleasant, however the breakfast staff were very abrupt and never smiled once! This spoilt the experience of dining there somewhat and thus the reason for not scoring 'Excellent'.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacco212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed here on a two night conference with a group of collegues. Hotel overall was pretty good, let down only by a few niggles. Rooms are spacious and clean, ask for a golf course view and you can imagine youself in the countryside. The bathroom was good with full size bath and separate shower. Conference room on first floor was ok but suffered from very noisy air con unit on roof. You have to keep the windows shut to be heard. Food was ok which just about sums it up. Not a gourmet dining experience, one of my collegues had a starter which consisted of a single mushroom in the middle of a huge plate. Breakfast was plentiful but overall the dining lacked any real spark. Staff were universally friendly and not too formal which made for a relaxing experience. To sum up, very good for business but a bit sterile for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyinthepieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I got a cheap deal of £75 bed & breakfast and was very pleased. Lots of parking, superb bathroom, plasma tv, satellite tv channels and a cracking breakfast.
If there are drawbacks, the location is well away from the town, and they charge £7 for a nights wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
513 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
9.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
866 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range: $111 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing