We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price of drinks spoiled it for me.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Rooms were excellent as was spa. Unfortunately the price of drinks spoiled our stay. £4.10 for a pint of beer was extortionate. We were £30.50 for 6 drinks. Latte coffee £3.75. Dont think i will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi Marjory,

I am pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us at the Westerwood, and made use of our spa treatments also. I am however disappointed to hear that you found us expensive - we regularly price ourselves in-line with our competitors to ensure we are offering the right products, at the right prices.

I hope you have a great Christmas, and that you will consider a return visit to our hotel and spa.

KInd regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the minute we walked into the hotel we felt it had a lovely warm welcoming atmosphere. All staff we came into contact with seemed happy and relaxed which helped us to relax and enjoy our spa weekend. The only negative thing I could say is that the service in the restaurant was a bit slow but we were in no rush and wanted to relax so it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi Karen,

Thanks for reviewing us after your stay - I am really glad you could score us very highly and am pleased that our staff individuality has shown during your visit. I am concerned that you felt the restaurant service was a little slower than expected, and I will pass your comments on to our Food Services Manager so he is made aware.

Thank you again for choosing the Westerwood for your break, and if you have a Twitter account you can keep up with us on @TheWesterwoodQ.

Haste ye back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed overnight at the Westerwood Hotel recently for a business conference. The meeting facilities were excellent, the catering was efficient, and the event was well-supported by the hotel. My accommodation was also above the standard of many hotels I have stayed in for business events - the room was well-equipped and comfortable, with a huge bathroom (bath and separate shower cubicle!). Very comfortable. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainegibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for such a positive review! We pride ourselves on our service and facilities and I am so happy that we have exceeded your expectations as a business hotel.

I have passed on your great comments to our Executive head chef and Restaurant manager to feedback to their teams, and we hope you can return again to us in 2014.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here as a base for attending a rowing event in Callander. We had stayed once before several years before. The staff were efficient and very friendly, the rooms were clean and modern, and the meals we had were delicious.
The kids loved the pool, and the elder one particularly appreciated the free Wifi!
No complaints and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs0768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Firstly, I would like to thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay, and I am pleased that you all had a great time! We have since extended our WiFi areas and recently renovated our poolside with a new jacuzzi, steam room and sauna in a commitment to continue to keep our facilities at the highest standard.

If you have a Twitter account you can keep up with us on @TheWesterwoodQ, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stay at this hotel regularly and the staff are always attentative and pleasant. We have eaten in the restaurant and not only are the portions a good size, but consistently well presented and taste simply fabulous. I can recommend the Asian noodles with chicken, also the fish and chips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi Rachel, thank you for your recent feedback on your stay.

I am very pleased to see that you have returned to us, and we were able to again exceed your expectations. Thanks to our Sous Chef Iain, we have since changed our Grill Restaurant menu, and since re-launched our Breakfast offering, so you'll have to return in 2014 and tell us what you think!

Have a great Christmas, and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I would like to start with Nan who sorted out our family reservations, thanks you, on arrival we were meet by pleasnt friendly staff, our rooms were all very comfortable and clean,my mum used the beautician and enjoyed being pampered, our food in the grill resturant was fabulous,breakfst was very good also, swimming pool, steam room great as well, we all had an enjoyable stay and would defo go again, thank you westerwood

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, it is fantastic that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay, and we hope to see you again in 2014!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed overnight as part of two day conference. Stayed last year and had a good time, great atmosphere, food good (for function dining anyway) and everywhere seemed quite smart, 12 months later however, things have changed.....
It's not that it is THAT bad, it would just benefit from a little TLC. Staff at reception were warm, welcoming and efficient, staff in function suite were a young team who needed a little more "management". THREE requests for a bread roll fell on deaf ears, yet the tables nearby were getting them! Portion size for starter was tiny, main course had warm undercoooked veg (there is a limit to "al dente") and the chicken was rubbery. Pudding on the other hand was exceptionally good. Service seemed slow and inefficient. Like I said "function food" - lunchtime however with platters of savouries and snacks, there should be no excuse. How about unbaked baguettes (you know the vacuum packed ones you stick in the oven to bake) served unbaked with plastic pack sliced beef and sliced tomato? Tasteless, not a smidgeon of mayo, mustard or horseradish. Cream cheese and cucumber sandwiches that tasted like sugar had been beaten into the cheese???? Lumps of salmon on skewers with raw pepper (well it was MEANT to be cooked, but hardly had been) and the salmon pieces in many case still had the skin on? Then staff start clearing lunch away 10 minutes before it was "over" when some people had only just come out of a meeting and still needed to eat!! Big burly man in a suit kept wandering around scowling at everyone, "making sure" - not quite sure what he was making sure of, but he looked mean, someone needs to teach him how to smile! Anyway, a disappointment after last year's success. Oh and beware the dodgy fire alarm!! Went off two mornings in a row, "someone smoking in a bedroom" was the excuse used, oh come on.....

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, we appreciate the time it takes to review our hotel and we look to use all feedback gained to continue to improve our service and facilities.

I was very pleased to see that you found our reception team warm and welcoming. We pride ourselves on our first impressions, and am glad that Scott and his team have provided this, and that you had also returned from a stay the previous year. I was however concerned to read that you did not enjoy the function that you had attended this time. I have passed on your comments to our executive head chef and banqueting manager and we have put quality measures in place to ensure that we are constantly delivering the best service and standards that we can.

We treat the saftey of our guests with the upmost importance, and have our alarms regularly tested and approved for this reason. We apologise on behalf of the guest that had been smoking in their room if this had caused you some inconvienience during your stay, but we have these safety measures in place to secure our hotel and our guests within it.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
513 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
9.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
866 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range: $111 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing