We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

An easy to get to venue, close to the M8, but then you do get a fair bit of noise from the motorway in my room over looking the motorway. But the room was very comfortable and clean with a nice big bath and shower. The bed was very comfortable with good pillows. The food at the dinner was great and the conference suite was well laid out with plenty of flexible space.

If you're is private pilot, Westerwood is right next to Cumbernauld airport, so perfectly located and with the added bonus of its golf course.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ACETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thankyou very much for choosing to stay with The Westerwood and for leaving us feedback. This helps us to continually improve our hotel to make it as good as we can for our customers. I am pleased to hear you found your room "very comfortable and clean" and the conference suite "well laid out".
We do have a fantastic location for the motorway and unfortunately at busy times there can be some traffic noise but we are continually working on ways to reduce this noise getting into the bedrooms.
Overall I am glad you had a very pleasant stay, thanks again for the review.

Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    495
    223
    105
    52
See reviews for
320
486
44
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside Mill B & B
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we arrived to find our rooms not ready till after 3pm, so had to sit around waiting,
spa treatment not worth having, as you felt just like you lay there in a room
, food most of us did not eat it, as we where had a pour lunch box of for lunch, but dinner at night was very small amount on the plates but not much poor choice,
wine very very over prices £30 a bottle for white wine,
room ok but broken tiles in the bathroom floor, for £134 per night break for 1 person,
best part of the break was the breakfast very good choice good food,

Room Tip: rooms over looking Golf course are quieter as they have wedding party's on and other party's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HML--Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
We appreciate your custom and your feedback positive and critical allows us to continually improve. I am pleased to read that your breakfast was very good this is something we are getting consistently good feedback on. I am however concerned that you did not find our spa treatment "worth having" and some items over priced. The spa generally receives very positive feedback and we have just invested a great deal of time and money in changing this over from an Elemis spa to an ESPA. I hope that if you return you have a better experience. With respect to our pricing, we do regularly carry out an extensive process of price comparisons within both the local area and on a national scale to ensure that we are competitive and offering value, this includes all our Food and Beverage products.

Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went to this hotel for a spa day. The deal included a 2 course lunch. The spa was lovely the treatment was nice and relaxing and the staff were very friendly and professional. When we went for a refreshment before our swim the lady behind the bar advised we could do lunch anytime up until 5pm. I said we were initially told lunch was up until 2.30 only. So we went for a swim and went back for lunch just after 2pm. The waitress serving advised our deal included lunch which was a box meal priced at £10! I said we are entitled to a 2 course lunch and we do not have to pay anything. The waitress then brought over a different menu and said we have £10 pp to spend on the bar snacks menu. I said we have paso for a 2 course lunch. The waitress then checked with the chef to see if he could still give us the lunch menu as the lunch menu finished at 2pm. This was ok so we ordered from a lovely menu. However when the meal came it was stone cold!! The waitress took it away, reheat it and brought it back to us. The lasagne was terrible after being re heat in the microwave. I do not believe reheating in a microwave, turning the food to rubber is acceptable for an a la carte menu. It didn't quite taste right. Not happy that I paid the extra money to have the 2 course as part of the deal for it to ruin the whole experience. You pay for additional luxuries and do not expect this type of service. In the end we left half our meal and paid for our drinks and left. You would of thought they would of at least let us off with the 2 soft drinks. Not the best customer service. I would go back to the spa but I will be paying extra for the lunch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KELLS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We appreciate your custom at the hotel and I am extremely pleased to read that you found your spa treatments very good and our staff friendly and professional however I am concerned about your lunch experience. I can only apologise for the confusion about what was included in your deal and with your food being served cold. Following this review I have picked up with our spa team and bar and grill team to ensure they are both up to speed in exactly what is included in each online deal. I have also spoken to our head chef regarding your food being cold. This is not the standard we work to I will ensure this doesn't happen again. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a wonderful overnight with my school friend. Fantastic spa treatment s food excellent great menu to choose from chefs special was great. Staff nice and friendly room was big and spotless . Will return again soon can highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.

We appreciate your custom at the hotel and I am extremely pleased to read that you found the rooms comfortable and spacious, your spa treatments very good and your meals were great. We always try and offer the best quality of service at a great value for money price so I'm glad you appreciated this.

Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from an over night stay as part of hen party. The hotel advertises 'Special Occasion Packages' so you would think that they would be used to dealing with groups and have some sort of organisational skills.....
We arrived but the rooms they said we could have as early check-ins weren't ready, which is fine and I always consider it a bonus if it is.
We had Bento boxes for lunch as part of the deal and the minute we had finished eating, they started clearing the table. This includes clearing the tables away! Felt a bit miffed by this but took the hint. Moved to the Flemings bar downstairs and were told we couldn't use it as there was a wedding on. We got that, that was understandable but where were we supposed to go? Went back to the bar and grill upstairs and had to try and squeeze 14 of us into a tiny corner as we were not allowed to sit anywhere else.
We were allocated a small conference room to have cocktails and a DVD night but couldn't access it til 6pm giving no time to set up or decorate.
Dinner was nice (I enjoyed mine anyway). The restaurant manager abruptly came over to us as we were getting seated and made some comment about the standard of behaviour expected and there was to be no 'willy' paraphernalia etc at dinner. We had only just got seated and had nothing except a veil and an L plate! The 70th birthday party were making more noise than us!
Rooms were comfortable and spacious as was the bathroom.
Breakfast was good. only because I got in the queue early. They kept running out of hot food. The poor waitress kept coming out with a plate with 5 fried eggs on at a time and was getting pounced on by the 70th birthday party!
The hotel itself is a bit of a maze and only one lift which is slower than a week in the jail !
Treatment was good. My only complaint would be that the chill out zone backs onto the gym. There was an exercise class going on so was extremely noisy.
If this hotel wants to complete with the likes of Stobo and Blythswood etc then it has a long way to go. It has ideas of grandeur which is not founded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uamb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
We appreciate your custom at the hotel and I am pleased to read that you found the rooms comfortable and spacious, your spa treatments very good and your meals were nice, however, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations fully on this occasion. We aim to offer the best possible packages at competitive rates and feel we are continually improving our service on these so we do welcome your feedback.
Regarding the breakfast, we deliberately cook little and often to keep up the quality and standard.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A recent weekend was spoiled by two experiences that can be addressed by Hotel to make it a really good experience for anyone. The room was excellent overlooking the Golf Course. Large and roomy. TV Channels are naff with only a few. No Freeview or Sky but not to bothered about that. First night we ate in the Bar and it was great. Ambience and food was very good as was staff. The second evening we ate in the Restaurant. The atmosphere was dire and the portion control was horrendous and I mean awful. That was the first negative experience. The second was the Spa where the staff need lessons on etiquette and customer care. A smile would be good. Other than that it was enjoyable but overall the Hotel is now showing wear and tear. Restaurant and Bar area need total revamp

Room Tip: 240 - 257 all have views and are roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tufty194059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us, i am sorry that Flemings Restaurant was not to your liking, we receive very favorable feedback with regards to service and meals. it is disappointing to read such feedback.
We are constantly reviewing the hotel both internally and externally for upgrade and maintenance, an action plan is in place along with a rolling maintenance plan to ensure the hotels standards are maintained.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is deceiving as the buildings look dull from the outside but my room was great. It was very spacious, well equipped and had a really nice bathroom. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all very good. The hotel is right beside the motorway but inside you wouldn't know it. Staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
We value your custom at the hotel and it is a pleasure to read your review, i am pleased that you found the rooms spacious and well equipped. The team endeavour to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay.
Our location in the heart of Central Scotland makes the hotel a great base for exploring Scotland's Castles, Gardens and other attractions.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
476 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Property: The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing