We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and warm welcome”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have just spent 2 days at this hotel on business. I found the staff very friendly and welcoming. If i was on my own i dont think i would be uncomfortable here. The hotel itself was very good. It will definitly be my base for Glasgow and Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmcc259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read your feedback, the team and I appreciate the 5 out of 5 score.
We have a lot of business guests staying both in groups and on their own, we understand that it can be difficult to be away from home, the team aim to ensure that all guests receive a warm and friendly welcome.
The Westerwood has retained our Gold Award in Venue Verdict for the past 2 years, this award is for consistently achieving high standards throughout the hotel and our conference facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    495
    223
    105
    52
See reviews for
320
486
44
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first time here and we will definitely be back. What a stunning hotel, and immaculate accomodation. Highlight of my room was opening curtains to see 3 deer grazing on the grass outside! Very peaceful. Roll on the next visit. The staff were wonderful also. 5 stars from us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read your feedback, the team work hard to ensure that all our guests receive warm and friendly service throughout their stay. We are very lucky with our location, close to Glasgow with great road and rail links but far enough away to have beautiful views of the Campsie Hill and wildlife roaming on the golf course.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for girlie wknd diner bed and breakfast, food amazing , had diner in club bar and spent the sunday relaxing in flemings bar took advantage of my 20% discount as I'm member of the lesuire club , great perk , will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrib80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read your feedback, the team are always happy to ready feedback such as yours. Not matter how far you travel getting a night away and someone else doing the cooking and cleaning makes all the difference, sounds like you all left the hotel full relaxed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to host a family birthday and needed somewhere central in Scotland. Our ages ranged from 2 to 80 and of our party of 15 all were extremely satisfied with the venue, the food, the facilities and the rooms. The hotel staff were very accommodating of our requests and with playing along with the surprise for the birthday guest, my mother-in-law. We had a range of rooms from standard twins to family rooms and a superior double, all of which were very well appointed, tastefully furnished and well equipped. Our main guest was a bit delayed in arriving and the restaurant staff were very accommodating in providing excellent service during our meal in a private dining room.
The staff have been clearly well trained and friendly without exception and responded positively to all requests making this an excellent choice of venue. My wife and I used the spa area which was very nice although my wife said that the ladies changing rooms was a little in need of some minor renovation (the men's was fine). One of our party played golf and said the course was very good.
Would be very happy to recommend this.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MacPropCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
The team and I appreciate your 5 out of 5 score in relation to your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to be part of a special occasion and the team work hard to ensure its a memorable one for all involved, i am pleased that all your party enjoyed their stay at the hotel.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westerwood Hotel.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on our way to The Highlands in February 2013.
We needed somewhere that could accommodate the dog also.
The dog was allowed only in the room for a very modest surcharge. But unfortunately not allowed into the lounge or bar area. If this had been for a longer stay, we would have had to look again.
However for the one night we enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent, and very modern. The bathroom was how a hotel bathroom should be. It was like we were the first to use it.
There was a very large outdoor space behind the hotel to run the dog, not the golf course.
My other half thought the breakfast was the best he had in a long time in a hotel. The bacon was crispy...just how he likes it and not the damp insipid stuff we are usually faced with in hotels.
The breakfast was for me just ok, not bad...but not the best. I don't have cooked breakfasts.
We had dinner on the evening we stayed and the food was lovely. We would have spent more time in the lounge area which was very welcoming had we been allowed to have the dog with us. I understand totally the rules of the house, and wouldn't dream of wanting dogs in the eating areas. But it seemed a little extreme not to allow her into the lounge area.
This is a very pleasant place to stay, and if we need another stopover, we wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
I'm delighted that we could accommodate your dog, we understand that that dogs are a big part of family life. Due to food and drinks being served in the lounge and restaurant areas we can not allow dogs in these areas.
Our location in the heart of Central Scotland makes the hotel a great base for exploring Scotland's Castles, Gardens and other attractions.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night in a family room as a treat for my daughter's 11th birthday, the hotel knew it was her birthday and put a card and sweets in the room she was delighted (nice touch). The treatments and spa were fantastic and the chill out area a real treat. All the staff are extremely friendly and very effecient nothing too much trouble. Food was excellent and the room spacious and well decorated. Already planning my next stay for two nights as one wasn't enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
The team endeavour to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay, they are always keen to make any special occasion even more memorable. Our Spa breaks are very popular offering a full range of treatments to help you relax and re charge the batteries.
Our location in the heart of Central Scotland makes the hotel a great base for exploring Scotland's Castles, Gardens and other attractions.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We again stayed here for three nights B&B in our preferred room, It was quiet and very clean. Breakfast was of a good standard with some local touches. Dinner was also pleasant if a little on the limited side with regard to portion size with some choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamWrawby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
We appreciate your regular custom at the hotel, as they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day, i am pleased that you enjoy your experience.
Our location in the heart of Central Scotland makes the hotel a great base for exploring our historic Castles, Gardens and other attractions, with both excellent rail and road links.

Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
476 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Property: The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing