We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Cumnock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are members of the breakaway club and have used this hotel on numerous occasions. This is the first time that we have been disappointed. The room was a bit tired and dated, but was clean. Even though the dining room wasn't busy, they brought me the wrong main course. At breakfast again it was not busy but we had to ask to order our cooked breakfast. We asked for a late checkout and this was refused due to a conference. I don't think that we will be back here for some time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It is disappointing to read your review, as a breakaway member and a regular guest of the hotel i am sorry that we have not met your expectations on this stay. I have asked my departmental managers to review your feedback and take any appropriate action. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked on the day of your departure, we do endevour to meet all guests requests for late check outs when possible.
I am disappointing that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    510
    226
    110
    53
See reviews for
335
505
44
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I went there for a dinner dance on 26th Feb 2013. The room was okay, but the lighting was dire. The only place you could read was if you sat up in bed. The bathroom lighting was so useless I had to put my makeup on by looking in the hall mirror.
The dinner was truly awful. Main menu - chicken breast with veg. Dauphinoise potatoes that looked like a cube of polenta, almost uncooked veg. The soup seemed tinned. The apple tarte tatin was simply a piece of puff pastry with apples in the middle, BUT the veggie option (I was the only veggie apparantly) was so bad I sent it back. A tired leathery crepe with, guess what, the rock hard veg that I had as an accompaniment, with a dollop of luke warm passata plonked on the top. No attempt to actually make a proper meal. I asked for a cheeseboard instead working on the principle that the 'chef' would not have a chance to ruin it.
PS Don't be fooled by the Glasgow address. It's actually Cumbernauld.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
I am surprised and disappointed to read your feedback, we have received numerous feedback from the organisers and other attendees of the event all praising the evening and the meal. I can confirmed that the meal served was all prepared by the chefs in the hotel.
I am disappointing that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel and facilities on offer exceeded our expectations including cleanliness and variety. My wife has food allergies and usually we have to spend half our time asking people "can she eat this and that" but the menus throughout the hotel clearly displayed what she could eat and the choice was larger that many our hotels and restaurants. The Spa side of the complex was superb you were able to slip in to your robe and slippers and feel at home regardless if sitting in the lounge having a drink or by the pool. Would recommened this hotel to anyone looking for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
Myself and the team appreciate your 5 out of 5 score in relation to your recent stay. The team endeavor to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay. We have become more aware of dietary requirements for guests, the team are keen to ensure all guests needs are met. So we have introduced additional items on the breakfast buffet and also highlight gluten free food on our menu.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westerwood Hotel.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

went here with 3 friends for a girlie night, Staff were lovely, Room was clean and comfortable, We did not book any treatments but were still want to have the comfort of sitting by the pool with robes on, We were told at reception to get these from the spa area, The girl told us not in the nicest customer service way we could not have any although reception did try and sort this out we were left dissapointed, The food was to a very high standard although we assumed we would have veg with dinner and did not think this would come under a side order, Appart from these to complaints we had a great time and will go back again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It is a pleasure to read your review, the team endeavor to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay. I am sorry that we could not provide robes for you and your guests, however i am pleased that you found the food to a high standard.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Westerwood on a number of occasions over 5 years for a variety of reasons: spa weekend with a friend, business trip, overnight with 12 girlfriends and a romantic weekend with my husband. It fits many occasions.

I love everything about the hotel, especially the restaurant. With the exception of one manager, on one occasion, I have found the staff to be friendly, professional and courteous. The evening meals have been the kind that you remember for a long time. Breakfast is never a disappointment (you know the way you really look forward to it but doesn't meet your expectations?)

The bar and lounge areas are comfortable and spacious. There is a restaurant downstairs but I actually prefer the, still classy, but slightly less formal one upstairs. Wider choice on the menu there too.

Not sure I would pay full price- there are some really good deals at times- but they make up for it with bar bills! Fair enough.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 'new' wing is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
The team endeavor to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay. I am pleased that you have found the meals to be memorable.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westerwood Hotel.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Location is fine, but it appears to be a party revellers hotel, most of whom have no consideration for other guests. Very noisy from adjoining rooms and above, and walls seemed paper thin.
General service was OK, but guests gather around glass entrance vestibule to smoke, and you have to walk through a plume of fog to get in.
Not as good as promised from literature.

Room Tip: Get down early for breakfast, they do not have enough tables to cater for normal 9am rush,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
We do offer Christmas Party nights throughout the month of December, i am sorry that other guests did not have consideration to others while in the bedroom corridors.
We have a smoking area at the rear of the hotel via the lounge and we encourage guest to use this area rather than the front doors.
I am disappointing that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

booked an expensive spa day and was shocked to find the 'spa' over run with kids. think beach balls, floats, screaming excited kids and you get the picture. I complained to the spa manager who wasnt interested and said that they are a family hotel - check the pictures on the web and you will see different. its sold as a relaxing spa day! they prohibited the taking of pictures to show everyone what it is really like. dont waste your money! I asked for a refund and they refused that as well

Room Tip: choose another spa hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizziScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your visit to The Westerwood Hotel.
I am disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your spa day. Our leisure facilities are used by hotel guests and members of the club. I am sorry that you felt our Spa manager was not helpful in assisting you, but she was correct when she informed you that you are not permitted to take photographs of the pool areas, we do not allow picture to be taken as it would be an infringement of swimmers privacy.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
485 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Property: The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing