We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel whatever your reason for visiting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Westerwood on a number of occasions over 5 years for a variety of reasons: spa weekend with a friend, business trip, overnight with 12 girlfriends and a romantic weekend with my husband. It fits many occasions.

I love everything about the hotel, especially the restaurant. With the exception of one manager, on one occasion, I have found the staff to be friendly, professional and courteous. The evening meals have been the kind that you remember for a long time. Breakfast is never a disappointment (you know the way you really look forward to it but doesn't meet your expectations?)

The bar and lounge areas are comfortable and spacious. There is a restaurant downstairs but I actually prefer the, still classy, but slightly less formal one upstairs. Wider choice on the menu there too.

Not sure I would pay full price- there are some really good deals at times- but they make up for it with bar bills! Fair enough.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 'new' wing is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
The team endeavor to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay. I am pleased that you have found the meals to be memorable.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westerwood Hotel.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Location is fine, but it appears to be a party revellers hotel, most of whom have no consideration for other guests. Very noisy from adjoining rooms and above, and walls seemed paper thin.
General service was OK, but guests gather around glass entrance vestibule to smoke, and you have to walk through a plume of fog to get in.
Not as good as promised from literature.

Room Tip: Get down early for breakfast, they do not have enough tables to cater for normal 9am rush,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
We do offer Christmas Party nights throughout the month of December, i am sorry that other guests did not have consideration to others while in the bedroom corridors.
We have a smoking area at the rear of the hotel via the lounge and we encourage guest to use this area rather than the front doors.
I am disappointing that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

booked an expensive spa day and was shocked to find the 'spa' over run with kids. think beach balls, floats, screaming excited kids and you get the picture. I complained to the spa manager who wasnt interested and said that they are a family hotel - check the pictures on the web and you will see different. its sold as a relaxing spa day! they prohibited the taking of pictures to show everyone what it is really like. dont waste your money! I asked for a refund and they refused that as well

Room Tip: choose another spa hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mizziScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your visit to The Westerwood Hotel.
I am disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your spa day. Our leisure facilities are used by hotel guests and members of the club. I am sorry that you felt our Spa manager was not helpful in assisting you, but she was correct when she informed you that you are not permitted to take photographs of the pool areas, we do not allow picture to be taken as it would be an infringement of swimmers privacy.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went here for a Burns Supper...............we addressesd the haggis, there was indeed a haggis however we were given no haggis.....or if we were it was well hidden in the chicken!

Food was super - no arguments in terms of quality, the hotel itself is gorgeous and impressive bar area / dance foor etc etc but felt let down by lack of haggis at the Supper.

Also, I do need to add rather scarey drink prices...it's like a hotel in Glasgow city centre prices!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and food the quality was to a high standard. We are looking into the issue with regards to the main dish, Chef and his team pass on their apologies for your disappointment. We aim to keep our drinks prices competitive with other 4 star properties.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westerwood Hotel.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spa facilities are excellent. Very good food. Excellent rooms with free wi fi.
Very attentive staff. Would go back.
Excellent choice at breakfast with non dairy alternatives as standard. never experienced that in any hotel before, being a non dairy person.
Dining room decor needs updating, but that's the only negative I could find.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade to the superior rooms, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
Myself and the team appreciate your 5 out of 5 score in relation to your recent stay. The team endeavor to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay. We have become more aware of dietary requirements for guests, the team are keen to ensure all guests needs are met. So we have introduced additional items on the breakfast buffet and also highlight gluten free food on our menu.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westerwood Hotel.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a conference in January - one night only, but two lunches, dinner and breakfast were included. Conference facilities seemed fine. The bedroom was good - large, comfortable bed. Bathroom was good too. It was all very modern and clean. The food let the side down. First lunch was buffet style, and there was plenty of choice and it was good. Dinner was wholely unacceptable - quite horrible - sort of boiled chicken wrapped in a piece of undercooked bacon, and the drink was severely overpriced. A bottle of £3.50 Sancerre was priced at £30.00. Pudding was indifferent too. If you are going to run conferences from here you need to feed people well, and perhaps the management had got complacent over the food. Scrambled eggs at breakfast were interesting - slice-worthy, but there was a good choice. Staffing was unenthusiastic - I think a course on customer relations would have helped, although the receiption staff were good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavinia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
I am surprised to read your review, to date we have received very positive feedback from the conference organisers and fellow attendees. Should you attend the conference again i would encourage you to contact the restaurant manager if you found the meal unsatisfactory and they can rectify it straightway. We endevour to ensure our drinks prices are kept as competitive as possible with other 4 star establishments.

Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Although set just off the motorway and being a modern building, this lovely hotel has been styled like a Scottish Lodge. It has an airy of cosy elegance with its many lounges and huge arm chairs. Its easy to relax and wind away the afternoon in one of the lounges, sitting by the fire and sipping Scottish breakfast tea, taking in the stunning views over the golf course and to the hills in the distance.
The staff are warm, and welcoming and happy to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.
The main restaurant has the feel of a private library, cosy and comfortable and the food is excellent. The quality of the meat and fish exceptional, and the chef provides an excellent choice of dishes, even catering for the fussy vegetarian.
The breakfasts are splendid, with lots of choice including local delicacies.
The rooms are beautifully laid out, and the TV even has SKY! The beds extremely comfortable and the temperature of the rooms easy to control.
The staff in the spa provide wonderful treatments (especially wee Laura) and the pool is a lovely, low lit area to relax in.
We had four days of luxury, pampering and relaxation.
I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: As the conference rooms are set well away from bedrooms, I would imagine they are all quiet, but par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feliholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
Myself and the team appreciate your 5 out of 5 score in relation to your recent stay. The team endeavor to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay. I am pleased that you felt at home in the hotel and could relax and unwind in the lounge area. I have passed on your comments to our spa therapist Laura.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westerwood Hotel.
Kind Regard
Richard Mayne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
7.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
10.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
9.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range: $90 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing