We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel-picked an unfortunate date!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel-picked an unfortunate date!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Got a great deal & an upgrade using the best rate guarantee-that in itself was a very easy and quick process.
lot of information to take in at check in but delivered with a great attitude!
Room was a superior king which was miles away from reception but was beautifully laid out with a gorgeous bathroom-separate bath & shower, and an incredibly comfortable (and huge) bed.
We should have got dressing gowns with the room but didn't-not really worth complaining about.
Had room service for dinner. Food was delicious but felt sorry for the poor soul having to carry it all that way!!
No noise from any other rooms and had a lovely sleep until woken at the back of six by a fire alarm (we guessed burnt toast!) staff dealt with it quickly & efficiently and we were back in after 15 mins.
Alarm went off again quickly after we were back in the room but was shut off.
This meant room service breakfast was late-which was understandable, but only received the continental option and not the cooked breakfast we had also ordered. Again- not worth arguing about as partner was in a rush to head off for a long drive and what we did get was lovely and delivered with a smile.
Check out was quick, with again a really pleasant staff member.
When I got to the car, sadly there was an opened condom on the ground beside it.
A fellow guest who was there with a toddler advised that he was going to bring it up with staff so I didn't feel the need, but it did put a bit of a damper on what was otherwise a really pleasant stay.
I genuinely think these issues were just unfortunate one-offs as otherwise the hotel was lovely and spotless, the staff were very pleasant and the decor and facilities were very high quality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkaLegallyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
I am please that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not received robes in you room, if mentioned we could have arranged for them to be delivered to you, housekeeping pass on their apologies for the oversight. When our fire alarm is activated the team must ensure the safety of all guests, they conduct a full evacuation and only on the instruction of the Fire Brigade can we allow guests to return into the building, we appreciate your co-operation and understanding in this matter. There seems to have been an oversight with your cook breakfast, again we are sorry that due to time restrictions we were unable to rectify this prior to your departure. We conduct regular checks of the car park, both for rubbish collection and security checks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    489
    221
    103
    52
See reviews for
314
479
44
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fabulous hotel. Perfect for short stay celebrations. Therapy treatments were carried out by highly professional and skilled staff. Pool and spa area was well maintained also.
The bedroom was comfortable and clean with views overlooking the golf course.
Staff were exceptionally efficient /helpful and breakfast/dinner service was excellent.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayline76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
We value your custom at the hotel and it is a please to read your review, the team endeavour to meet and exceed all guest expectations throughout their stay. The hotel has a variety of facilities for all to enjoy, our location in the heart of Central Scotland makes the hotel a great base for exploring Scotland's Castles, Gardens and other attractions.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a 3 night national golf competition. Generally the hotel was good with the bedroom clean and tidy (although some signs of wear and tear in the bathroom). The package included a buffet dinner which was adequate but uninspiring. Sadly the golf course was in a very poor state due to persistent rain throughout the year. The greens were in surprisingly good condition but the fairways and rough were waterlogged and probably shouldn't have been played but as it was a national competition with people traveling from all over the UK the hotel and green keepers did their best to enable us to play. So overall a pleasant hotel but with so many excellent golf courses to choose from in Scotland I wouldn't rush back to the Westerwood Hotel for a round of golf.

Room Tip: Room 332 was a good size with a double bed. The hotel is some distance from the main road so road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
I am please that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, with regards to the golf course our green-keeping staff have had a very challenging year with the unusually wet summer we have experienced. Decisions to close the golf course are not taken lightly, we review a number of circumstances and the weather forecast for the day before making our decisions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel for the rooms the food and the spa and not forgetting the golf very easy to reach great place to hold a wedding the staff were very helpfull I will have no problem going back to this hotel

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed if you choose the hotel it has free Internet very comfortable beds all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanksbill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read your feedback, we are grateful for the 5 out of 5 rating.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

had a brilliant night to celebrate my sister's special birthday. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Food delicious.Really enjoyed our spa treatment too. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avrilrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read your feedback, the team work hard to ensure that all our guests receive warm and friendly service throughout their stay. We design our Spa packages with relaxation and value for money in mind, we are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went on a Friday special break which included dinner. An allowance of £26 per person is given, and the overall package represented fantastic value. If the offer continues we will definitely return! I also believe the same offer is available on a Sunday night.
Everything from reception welcome, to room, to spa to restaurant was fantastic. The choice and quality of breakfast was first class!
Any minor criticism? Pillows slightly too high for us, dinner was lovely, but the wait between courses was a little too long.
Overall: First Class, Well Done!!

Room Tip: We went for a superior room which was quite a walk from reception, it is a large hotel, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redleader02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read your feedback, the team are always happy to ready feedback such as yours. I am pleased that you found all aspects of the hotel excellent and welcoming.
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Greeted by very friendly staff. Easy check in. Absolutely gorgeous room, large and spotless bedroom with a large bathroom wish separate shower cubicle.
We had dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We had dinner in bar grill area, my husband and I both enjoyed our meals very much, portion sizes just right. (Sticky toffee pudding is to die for :))
The breakfast buffet is fab.
Check out was very easy too.
No issues at all, would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.
Read some reviews and some people appear too happy to please!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaMcGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at The Westerwood Hotel.
It's a pleasure to read your feedback, we are grateful for the 5 out of 5 rating.
I am pleased that you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Our sticky toffee pudding is one of the most popular dished on the menu!
Q Hotels offer a loyalty club "Breakaway Club" offering discounts and special offer rate, you can join for a one off payment, please contact the reservation team for details.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Mayne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Property: The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing