We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing birthday celebrations”
other travelers have booked this property
Great comfortable house in fantastic location, 15 mins Glasgow, 35 mins Edinburgh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great comfortable house in fantastic location, 15 mins Glasgow, 35 mins Edinburgh
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Great comfortable house in fantastic location, 15 mins Glasgow, 35 mins Edinburgh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire B
Ayrshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Relaxing birthday celebrations”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back after spending the weekend here to celebrate my 40th with pals and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There were 13 of us in the house over the weekend and the house in no way felt full and we didn't even use the sauna or snooker room. We spent the majority of time in the beautiful kitchen which was always lovely and cosy with the huge aga. It was plentifully stocked with all we needed for cooking etc. The formal living room was my other favourite. We had a games night and quiz in here and again it was tastefully decorated. The girls who stayed in the extension felt it chilly and rooms hard to heat up, but rest of us in the main house were cosy enough (once we worked out the heating). As advised, the only part we struggled with was the terrible single track shared road (500 metres) to get to the property. Two cars had to abandon at the road end and the rest of us had our vehicles scrapped trying to get through the seemingly bottomless potholes which were huge. Taxi company who came for us weren't too impressed at having to go through it either in their vehicles. All in all, the house is stunning, but needs a little tlc in places. It was really clean and tidy. Could do with more loo rolls being left though as 4 to do 13 women over a weekend wasn't suffice.
I'd go back, but not until the road fixed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaDic...
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spacious and Peaceful”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of 12 for a birthday weekend celebration. The house is so spacious with very comfy beds and some lovely modernised parts. The kitchen really is the heart of the home and is cosy because of the aga and appears to be well equipped. Parking around the house is easy. On the down side however, the lane up to house is almost impossible to use due to massive potholes and mounds of mud. We could not judge how deep the holes were and the bottoms of our cars were affected. This would put me off staying again unfortunately. The only other two negative things to say are that it would have been good to have had a few logs left for us for the gorgeous wood burning stove and it was difficult to work the heating so we felt a bit cold in areas of the house other than the kitchen and the upper bedrooms. I did not use the sauna so cannot comment but the shower in the sauna area was very good. The owners have spent a lot of time dressing the house and it was spotlessly clean which was appreciated but please be aware of the extreme difficulty of getting from the main road to the house itself (approx 150-200 m).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amygilmar...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss sold no miss leading. Total let down.”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This review has been written by a guest accompanying the person who booked.
Our booking was for a group of 14, we paid nearly £3000 for a week, The AGA cooker didn't work so we had to cook for 14 people using only a single oven, 4 ring hob and microwave.
The hallway roof leaked as did the conservatory roof.
The pool was filthy and we were unable to use it for fear of disease!
The light didn't work in the sauna so unless you didn't mind sitting in the dark you couldn't use that either.
The whole house is in a sorry run down state.
Complete waste of money, would NOT recommend this property!!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
We were really surprised at this review and it is unclear which booking it relates to, since we received no complaints at the time - and it is not from anyone who booked the house. The Aga Cooker is switched on in the Autumn through until the spring, there is a full sized cooker with 4 gas hobs and a full sized oven, and microwave in the kitchen, which most people find to be perfectly adequate.

The pool is cleaned prior to every visitor to conform to PH levels and safe chlorination - however excessive rainfall will change the colour from blue to green (that's biology and something that happens to all outdoor pools!). If the light didn't work in the sauna. it was simply a case of a bulb needing replaced and there are spares in the utility room. Once again, if you had made a complaint whilst you stayed in the house we could have remedied it. Giving a one star review 2 months after your stay, from someone who didn't make the booking gives us little course for remedy!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

there was 11 of us at the lovely house, very spacious the kitchen leading into the conservatory was really nice. it was warm and comfortable. a few of us went for a Sauna which was really relaxing, too cold for a dip in the pool lol. great location lovely and secluded and private. the only downside but not to do with the house was the lane down, when we went out to dine on Saturday night the Taxi refused to go down the lane because of the road, something to think about if anyone is disabled and is staying here. all in all we all had a fantastic time at this Amazing house

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyShoes...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent house and value for money”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This house was exactly what my group of friends were looking for. We wanted a chilled weekend and this was the ideal escape. The place is so huge we were still finding rooms hours after arriving.

It's spacious, clean, well stocked and modern. You're able to maintain privacy at the same time as mixing with everyone you're staying with.

The pool room, board games, books, sky sports and sauna meant we were kept busy. The kitchen is extremely impressive and comfort levels exceeded what we were looking for.

All in all this was an excellent decision, great value for money and we will certainly be back.

A little note on the downside is the wifi didn't stretch as far as the kitchen, but that's no big deal in the context of things.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thanks for a great review, and so please to hear your group of friends enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Many thanks for a great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;