We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So close to perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn and Stables in Chedworth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn and Stables in Chedworth
The stylish and elegant open-plan living room, with feature fireplace The floor to ceiling windows make it a bright living space, with lovely views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Welcome to The Barn and Stables in Chedworth
The stylish and elegant open-plan living room, with feature fireplace
The floor to ceiling windows make it a bright living space, with lovely views
A perfect spot to relax and unwind
Leading through to the dining area
Wonderful, quality furnishings
Dining table by the fire with seating for eight
The beautifully presented kitchen
Ideal for home cooking!
Bedroom 4 has stunning views and contains a double bed
Bedroom 4's ensuite contains a walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin
The second living room...
...beautifully presented
With amazing views of the garden and surrounding countryside
The wonderful Master bedroom, with plenty of character...
...and a beautiful ensuite bathroom
The large ensuite contains a walk-in shower, toilet and basin
Bedroom 2, another lovely room, with two single beds
The family bathroom contains a free-standing bath, separate walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin
Bedroom 3 contains a zip and link bed, which can be set up as either a king size bed, or two singles
Leading through to the ensuite bathroom...
...which contains a walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin
The beautiful garden...
...with lovely features and views of the surrounding countryside
A lovely spot for al fresco dining
The children's play area, perfect for keeping little ones entertained
Relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity
The Barn and Stables, a wonderful country experience
Chedworth is a stunning, traditional Cotswold village, well away from busy roads
The local pub is a short walk away...
...as is the historic church of St Andrew's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chedworth, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lex2006
england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So close to perfect!”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed here for a week in October.The barn itself is in a lovely setting and is very easy to find.It is situated next door to a small farm shop; expensive but very friendly staff. The barn was well equipped however certain things let it down. The downstairs bedroom had a double duvet inside a king size cover;why?!!! Also in that bathroom there was no shelf in the shower so hours had to put your toiletries on the shower floor, and there was no shelf in the bathroom so you had to put your bits round the sink.The bedroom also had no mirror and an old style tv;little things but things that stop it being 5 star status.I would also reccomend that you take your own towels as you are provided with thin and small ones. The kitchen is lovely and whilst being well equipped it could do with some new frying pans. The barn is lovely and warm and felt very spacious with seven people in.I would reccomend it for a stay and as a good place to explore the Cotswolds; it is the little things that I mentioned which would have made the place amazing!

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Please see below a response from the Property Manager:

Firstly, thank you for your feedback, which we value highly.

In answer to your comments, the duvet cover was actually a double-sized one; albeit hotel spec, and, therefore, larger than standard. The entire towel supply was replaced in mid-October, which was obviously after your stay at the property. The owners are responsible for the decoration, furnishings etc. but I shall make them aware of your suggestions, thank you.

Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodes67
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nearly but Not Quite Perfect”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at the Barn & Stables in Chedworth for New year 2013/14 arriving end December after dark so we didn’t really appreciate how beautiful the house and its location was until the next morning.

The property is huge and extremely well appointed the kitchen in particular is stunning. All the bedrooms are a good size and the fixtures and fittings of extremely good quality, the Philippe Starck Bathroom is a real wow factor.

The Farm shop and cafe right next door to the Barn and Stables was great, we visited daily apart from New Year when it was closed. The food was good (locally sourced) and we topped up our wood and kindling there (although it isn't the cheapest store in the surrounding villages).

But there are a few niggles that prevented this property getting a five star review.

1. Bring your own towels - the towels provided are thin worn and not exactly generous.
2. The Garden wall had blown down in the bad weather which obviously is not the property owners fault as it is unlikely they would have known due to the festive season, however it did prevent our doggie pal being able to be off the lead in the garden.
3. We would have anticipated a few condiments and household cleaning sundries to be provided and although there were some items, the property was missing a few basics, black pepper, bleach or detol, plus no washing powder or fabric softener.
4. This is a huge property and is in need of a deep clean between rentals - we all felt that the quality of cleaning was not 5 star standard.

These are only niggles - we had a fabulous time in the Barn and Stables, and although the bad weather prevented much exploring it is a truly lovely part of the UK and well worth visiting in Summer.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: Cleanliness was not really 5 star
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin K
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for our group”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked this property so we could celebrate my mothers 80th birthday. she lives in B'ham, I live in Sydney and my brother and family live in Brussels so this seemed the perfect place. And it was - beautifully clean and tidy, superbly appointed and maintained.
Extended family arrived from various places in the UK to join us on the Sunday afternoon and the amount of quality, outdoor furniture meant that everyone was comfortable and to have a great time.
Local amenities - the farm shop (make sure you have their fish and chips!), good pub/restaurants, etc - mean that we had a superb, comfortable stay for the whole week.
The bedrooms are large, the beds are very comfortable, the kitchen superb and the whole fit out is of a very high quality.
A couple of slight (and they are VERY slight) disappointments were that there is no provision of soap/shampoo (not even enough for the first night) and the towels were very thin but these in no way should put you off booking this fantastic barn conversion!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDabell
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and perfect space for a party!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed here with friends recently to celebrate a 30th birthday. The house was clean, tidy and the perfect space for chilling, relaxing and enjoying the beautiful country views. Unfortunately it rained the entire weekend, but we did manage a trip to Cirencester (30 mins drive) which was fantastic and the farm shop (2 min walk from front door) served delicious full English breakfasts - if you don't mind the wait when there are more than about 10 people requiring food!
Would recommend anyone to stay here. Perfect weekend away!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerit...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent homestay!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband & I went away with 6 of our friends for a long weekend - this place was absolutely perfect - we all loved it. the house is as beautiful as in the pictures - it is very well maintained. Absolutely no hassle getting here or arranging staying here and it was just a great get away.
We went on a couple of beautiful walks and the farm shop next door were extremely helpful!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of accessing the property
Liked least: nothing this place was perfect & exactly what we wanted!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobsterD
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in everyway”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I booked this pace for 7 people for my wife's 30th birthday party celebration. The main reason was that the property had 4 rooms and also 4 bathrooms, catering for our group perfectly. The property has loads of space - big kitchen and an upstairs living area. The finish to the property is excellent and it was clean and in good order when we arrived. The kitchen is well stocked with the essential equipment - it was just a job remembering where everything was/went! It's a perfect location for the area to explore all the big towns, but has all the facilities you need right in the village - great local pub and the farm shop and cafe next door. The only small complaint I had was that there was no matches or kindling to light the wood burner as described in the welcome pack, however, this was soon rectified with a trip next door to purchase some. We had to buy another bag of logs also - the handful provided wasn't really enough for a long weekend.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Contemporary design, big bedrooms and ensuites
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing