We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How a hotel should be run...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saanenmoser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romantik Hotel Hornberg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saanenmoser
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Arriving at the Hornberg the warmth of the greeting sets the tone for the rest of your stay. Christian and Brigitte are charming and attentive hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them if it will ensure you enjoy your stay. This attitude is imbued in their staff who are exceptional, always attentive and helpful. The rooms, decorated in Alpine style, are beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable and absolutely spotless. The hotel is in a beautiful setting at the foot of the Hornberg with stunning views. In winter you can ski right to the door and in summer there are many hiking trails to explore. Alternatively you may take advantage of the Spa, Wellness or the the indoor and outdoor pools. Excellent food made dinner something to look forward too and the breakfast buffet is fantastic. If only other hotels were like this....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 198 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 5 nights for our anniversary and could not be more happy about this hotel. We are very frequent travelers, mostly five stars and leading hotels, and very rarely judge a place as being excellent. This one is - from arrival to departure. The staff could not be more attentive, the food is excellent, and the wine list is full of treasures. The place is just two miles from the Gstaad golf course - a spectacular and challenging layout, and probably the only golf course with a 16 point restaurant to top off a great round. Hiking trails are abundant around. The rooms are cozy and alpine. High-Speed internet throughout. But actually, we are stupid writing this review - now the secret is out. But Christian and Brigitte have earned such an accolade, so we have to be fair.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millionmilerflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for 4 days for my uncle's birthday celebrations in September. He and his family have been coming to the Hotel for many years and knew that this was the perfect place for him to enjoy his 70th with a hundred or so of his nearest and dearest. The service we all received from start to finish was phenomenal. Despite the demands of a party the size of ours, it never felt as though staff were over-ran. The Hotel itself is gloriously smart and the rooms beautifully appointed in in Swiss tradition. The Hotel has a great array of facilities, including a sauna, steam room, Gym, swimming pool (indoors and an outdoor 'natural' pool), so if you don't fancy hitting the slopes of heading for a walk then you've got plenty of options. The views are, as you would expect, stunning. Many use the Hotel to ski from during the Winter months, but I would encourage you not to overlook the possibilities of a Summer or Autumnal holiday here away from the snow. The walks and scenery are just as stunning and I can honestly say that from start to finish, this is a holiday that will be hard to top

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March 2013 and had a lovely stay. The location is excellent for skiing - next door to the gondola and end of the ski piste. The staff couldn't have been nicer - everyone seemed to know our names and were very friendly. We had a lovely big room in the newer part of the hotel. Very spacious and with a large balcony overlooking the ski run. Nice bar area for a drink before dinner sitting by the fire. Food good without being over fussy and you have the option to have a traditional swiss dinner in their little mountain hut - definitely worth doing. Modern swimming pool and a few loungers to relax on. All in all a really nice place and Christian and Brigitte are charming hosts who want to make sure you are well looked after. Would come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

An excellent hotel run by Christian and Brigitte with the prime purpose to please its guests.Nothing is too much trouble and all the staff are excellent in whatever they are doing. The location is perfect for ski in ski out with the main lift only a few yards walk. An example of their attention to detail was when we were on our second visit here, about one year after our first visit the restaurant stafff were fully aware of her food likes and dislikes.

Room Tip: Try for a South facing room with great views towards Gstaad..Try to avoid the upper floors as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfect for its location, right next to ski lifts and ski school! The room (47)we had was perfect! Cosy, clean and lots of space to put all that ski stuff away. The bathroom was also modern and good. Excellent shower pressure. The other room ( 11) was a little dated but also ok. Bathroom also dated. Food was ok, main corse always sounded good but in the end did not look or taste as good. Was mostly bland.
Spent 1 night in the family suite, big but has no charakter and just filled with mostly ikea fixtures. A big disappointment compared to the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was ok but small bath taking all space up and shower that makes the whole bathroom wet, also nowhere to really put anything. Not worth the money at all!!!
The staff can not be more friendly or do enough for you!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our family comes to Hotel Hornberg for 3 generations. It's location is perfect for those who love wintersports because it is less than a 3 minute walk to the slopes. The hotel is close to perfect, the staff will take good care of you and the restaurant is pure, honest, very tasteful and the most friendliest service i've ever had. After a day of walking, shopping in Gstaad or skiïng, you can relax at their fireplace and bar where you can enjoy a aperitif or digestifs, their bartenders will be glad to recommend a great beverage. Also the wellness facilities are excellent. When you stay at Hotel Hornberg, you feel relaxed and is a beautiful hotel for your family regardless to your age since it provides facilities for every age.

Hotel Hornberg is also great for business, Hornberg offers the best services when you would like to arrange a meeting there. The hotel has beautiful modern seminar-rooms. But there are also nice quiet rooms for working.

In short: Hotel Hornberg has a dream location with great views in a peaceful part of nature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanenmoser
3.1 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
714 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
248 reviews
2.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Hornberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Hornberg

Address: Saanenmoser, Saanen CH-3777, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Saanenmoser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saanenmoser
Price Range: $118 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing