We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for families with children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Barrocal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Barrocal
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect place for families with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Loved this place. Good quality for reasonable proce. Perfect vacation place for families with children. The pool outside is good. I was traveling with my fiance, but the noise from the pool only hears in the kitchen of the appartment (we've lived in No 104 room).
You do need a car to go to the beach or take a public transport. Bya car it takes about 10 min.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EgleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    68
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
81
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This out of the way resort is wonderful for someone wanting to experience the Algarve but not wanting to be in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of the tourist industry. Just enough out of the way to get peace and quiet, plenty of amenities within walking distance but close to all the action with transportation(car). Staff was very pleasant, would have appreciated a bigger tv for night time viewing, living room furniture could be little more comfortable and a little less rustic, but overall the unit we were in, a 2 bedroom on ground floor as requested. My mother in law has some mobility issues and it was perfect for her. Really lovely place and would recommend to anyone wanting a base in the Algarve to head out from and get to see the real Portugal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mario068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've enjoyed to spent a week on Villas Barrocal. Very quiet environment. Nice accomodations with air conditioned on all divisions. Good kitchen and living room. The pool is small, but enough for the kids to play. Perfect cleaning service. we didn't used the tennis court.

Room Tip: All apartments around the swimming pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsilvapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

- the photos don't show the exact conditions of the house
- in the living room the tv is very small and had problems
- the sofas (and i don't call that sofas but still) are horrible
- the chairs in the table were broken
- the walls were very dirty
- there were no lights in the living room
- the swimming pool is very small and there is no space to put the towels
- there were insects all over the place

Unfortunatelly i payed 1700 euros for a terrible night ... They didn't had the kindness of refund me

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaLourenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas B, Manager at Villas Barrocal, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Senhora Rita Lourenço,

Lamentamos que as Villas Barrocal não tenham satisfeito as suas expectativas.
Na realidade todas as fotos de cada tipo de unidade de alojamento etsão sobejamente publicadas nos diversos canais online inclusive no nosso próprio site.
Em 52 opiniões a sua é a primeira com nivel baixo como já deve ter reparado. è também a primeira vez que respondo a um cliente.
De certeza que a forma como lhe promoveram e venderam o seu pacote na sua agência poderá ter influenciado a sua opinião. o que é lamentável. As Villas Barrocal são e estão perfeitamente identificadas no mercado e para o seu mercado.
Neste aspecto temos conseguido manter o equilibrio e dai as pontuações amplamente favoraveis em quase todos os sites de opiniões. Tripadvisor, booking.com, Zoover. Em todos eles as opiniões são de 8 pontos para cima na escala de 1 a 10.
Provavelmente não eram as Villas Barrocal que a Sr.a Rita Lourenço pretendia mas foi o que a sua agência lhe vendeu.
A partir daqui como todos sabemos a QUALIDADE é um aspecto bastante relativo. O que para si é bom para outro pode já não ser.
Por esta razão existem as médias. Ao fim de mais de 500 comentários a nossa pontuação é MUITO BOA. Isto quer dizer que aqui e ali há sempre um cliente que não encaixa no nosso tipo de alojamento mas a maioria esmagadora que se encaixa e para a qual nos dirijimos todos os dias, visita-nos, aconselha-nos, e recomenda-nos.

Estou ao seu dispor,

Com os meus melhores cumprimentos,

A Direcção,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

These beautiful villas in the small village are a hidden diamond. We had a great holiday there with friends renting 3 villas. The complex is located in the small village of Pera which has virtually nothing there and a car is an essential. There is one restaurant and a bar in town which we didn't visit but one of our friends did and didn't rate it so if you want to eat out you will need to drive.

The villas are clean, spacious and quiet. We were worried before we went that the pool would be overcrowded but that was never an issue. There is free wifi which just reached to our villa but was unreliable it was much better in the pool bar and our teenagers managed to stay connected!
The cleaning service was great and we had the maid service 5 times in 2 weeks and they gave the house a good clean rather than a flying visit. They commit to changing sheets weekly and towels twice-weekly altough they actually did the towels more frequently than that.

Pera is within easy reach of both Albufeira and Armacea de Pera which are both quite lively. We visited Armacea on a few evenings and they have street entertainers in the evening from about 9pm. Make sure you take lots of good insect repellent with you as the mosquitos and other insects are a pain in the evenings and some of us suffered loads of bites.

All the beaches in the area were great, beautiful sandy beaches and most had toilet facilities and a cafe. We bought an umbrella to provide shade on the beach rather than paying to rent shade.

While we were there there was a medieval festival in nearby Silves which was great and we went twice and other group members went 3 times. There was also a Sardine Party (downgraded this year from a festival) in Portimao which was disappointing.

Altogether a fabulous holiday and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Pool view villas were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaSt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had booked this resort last year on the Web site uand were sceptical about all the good reviews it had over the years. Our two weeks last August was probably one of the best family holidays we have had in years. The resort, facilities and management was superb. As a family of 5, we had a three bed villa adjacent to the tennis court, quiet and great views out to the coast line and beach. The accommodation was more than adequate for all of us, three double size bedrooms, two bathrooms and loads of downstairs living space. Outside there is a small garden for BBQ dining and covered parking for the car at the front. The villas are cleaned every three days, with linen and towels changed. The staff cannot be more friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
As for its location, you do need a car, but located in a traditional Portuguese village, you are not in the hustle and bustle of a busy town. The main town of Armacao de Pera with its restaurants and bars in the evening is only 5 mins away, with Carvoeiro and Albufeira only 15 mins away. One of the best and longest beach in Portugal Praia Grande, is only a 5 min drive and great for those lazy days lying on the beach.
If you want a relaxed family holiday this is the place to be and the reviews speak for themselves.
Last August we enjoyed it so much that we ended up buying one of the villas here at Villas Barrocal. We are hear again this August and planning another visit in October. Definitely no regrets!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meiers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family of 6 (4 boys - 7,7,10,16 years) stayed in a 3 bedroom villa for 2 weeks. It is a quiet complex and its location is some distance from the main resort of Albuferia but this is what makes the complex so enjoyable, as you don't have loud youngsters. It is very much a family complex. You need to hire a car to get around, Albuferia is about 15-20km away. However on the complex there is a pool bar (lady who serves is very friendly) with WIFI and event afternoons which includes a reptile show, a bar/cafe outside the complex, as well as a shop (which sells fresh bread daily), a pharmacy not far away and near the pharmacy is a very authentic Portuguese restaurant (selling the most amazing fish, meats etc) which is reasonably priced and very friendly!! The Villas are very quiet, spacious and very clean. The maid service is impeccable.
All in all the complex is brilliant and we had a wonderful holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ndegaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pera
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.8 mi away
Terrace Club
Terrace Club
#5 of 6 in Porches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
8.4 mi away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Vila Senhora da Rocha
Vila Senhora da Rocha
#5 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Barrocal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Barrocal

Property: Villas Barrocal
Address: Urbanizacao do Barrocal III | Edf Villas Barrocal, Apartado 164, Pera 8365-211, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Barrocal 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing HolidaysThe Barrocal Villas & Apartments rest in the small village of Pera near the lively resort of Armacao de Pera, just a 5 minute bicycle ride to the spectacular Praia Grande beach on the vacation paradise of the Algarve. Featuring a group of 20 villas and 32 apartments composed of either one or two bedrooms, this 3 Star property is a comfortable base for couples and families wanting affordable accommodation close to a host of activities and attractions, including plenty of golf at the Oceânico Nick Faldo Course, the Oconnell Course and the Salgados Course.Albufeira and Portimão are just a 10 and 15 minutes drive away and Faro International Airport is approximately 55 km from the hotel.Local Tips: The hotel is perfectly positioned for visits to the historic town of Silves with its Castle. Also check out the Salgados Lagoon for an ideal place for bird watching and cycling.Hotel FacilitiesFood, drink and entertainment: Self Catering accommodation. Barrocal Villas & Apartments has a local pool bar available for light meals or snacks or breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Barrocal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Barrocal Hotel
Villas Barrocal Portugal/Pera, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing