We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”
Review of Villas Barrocal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Barrocal
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Villas Berrocal, having spent a week here. What can I say, it was first class,very clean, very friendly, very quiet, just perfect. Yes, I agree a car is needed to get around easily, but we used a local taxi on three occasions to travel into Alberfura and they charged us 15 euros, they were very helpful and prompt. The small supermarket situated just outside of this gated complex had all the basics you need, and the owner was very helpful and friendly. The staff in reception also provided us with useful local information. I would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    68
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
82
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a real find; extremely quiet and peaceful location, very pleasant staff, exceptionally well-maintained site and apartments, all within 5 minutes drive of a fabulous beach. Highly recommended, but you need a car to get around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevee190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in a spacious apartment in a small, quiet village. Units were well maintained and came with all the cookware we needed when we wanted to prepare our own meals. Location was perfect for an off season stay with our plan to explore The Algarve via numerous day trips but a car is a must since this spot is just a little out of the way if one needs to rely on public transit. Lovely pool (unheated), bar, snack bar and garden area on site but limited cafes & restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alex154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Many reviews have been posted and are mainly complimentary. The apartments are all well presented and maintained. The complex is in a residential setting in a small unassuming village with little to attract the holidaymaker other than it's position relative to other attractions in the area. A smart walk to the coast via Salgados or to Armacao de Pera is worthwhile as the coastal area is absolutely superb off season.
Should the weather be indifferent one must be able to read etc. as the televisions are poor and WiFi reception variable. Altogether worthy of the compliments raised by other correspondents.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amateurinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Emailed this accom twice before arriving to ask for quiet location. We explained due to health reasons a need to rest in the afternoons.

On arrival found not quite the location I requested but assured place was very quiet as out of season/not many bookings. On this basis accepted room 103. This was centred in the block and above a level.
Well the walls were very thin and there appeared to be no insulation of any kind. One could hear every drawer and door opening, voices, every bang and bash, scraping of furniture and chairs back and forth across the tiles. Due to constant changes of occupancy in the surrounding apartments and the ensuing cleaning services this meant CONSTANT noise. We were unlucky in that a strange group underneath us made the most excessive noise you could imagine. Two children arrived with a man. Later another man was seen with them but the first man disappeared. Later a woman who seemed not to come out of the apartment. The children aged around 7/9 seemed to be unattended a lot of the time and sounded as though they were trashing the place. (when they finally left after 2 weeks...an engineer came to the apartment with a hammer and the cleaner had to get a vacumm cleaner) they were even running round laughing outside our door at 1am on one occasion.

We were treated to a spanish gypsy party of music, clapping and dancing on christmas eve from an opposite apartment which went on for several hours into the early hours. Hey ho...it was christmas!!!!

On the third day we witnessed an attempted burglary at the property opposite which we could view from our balcony. We later helped with an id description to the police and helped the house owners as we had a birds eye view of them running past us and hiding right by us in the bushes.

The penultimate night a noisy group of three men and a girl arrived at the apartment next door and we can only imagine what was going on, as the sounds were very strange indeed. There was the sound of water running over and over again. The occupants left early morning, having used the towels to wipe down the cars and threw them onto the ground.

There was a LOT of coming and going on at these apartments so we never got the peace we were hoping for.

In relation to getting an afternoon rest ( we went out each morning and came back around lunchtime) we were very lucky if cleaning had taken place by 2pm. More usually after 3pm and sometimes 4pm We got the feeling we were always last as a long stay of a month. Cleaning service pretty good though and frequent towel changes. Linen changed once a week.

The tv of very poor quality, old fashioned portable with poor reception. Not satellite as described but offered BBC news or CNN. CNN being the better reception. Occasionally an english film on.
We didnt go for tv so this wasnt the main concern for us.

Wifi reception very intermittent. If I really needed it I think I may have got a better reception by leaving the apartment and going to the pool area.

Although nice roomy apartments we dont think we would stay there again as it was not peaceful enough for us and would prefer to be able to walk out of the apartment instead of having to go in to a car all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anitabarnes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a lovely place to stay very clean villa had a holiday with my girlfriends 6 of us in sept 2012
all the facilities were there for you too cook with. supermarket needs a car or taxi ride but there is a little shop on the premises very reasonable prices if you forget something freshly baked bread and cakes available and the most wonderful beauty salon where you can get a fantastic massage not the first one you come too the 2nd one you have to ring the buzzer. near the bread shop round the corner a bit expensive but your. worth it . the pool bar is very reasonable and you can have basic snacks, we hired a car you do need transport to get around. great holiday I would recommend this place and if you have children great place for them the pool is clean and well looked after .. from fripps

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fripps_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Villas Barrocal for 12 days in mid October and although the weather was poorer than usual at this time it did not dampen our view of these peacefully situated Villas
As others have said a car is a near essential if you are staying here!
Situated in the small village of Pera, not to be confused with the high rise eyesore of Armacao de Pera ,(about a 40 minute walk away)
Pera is a quiet village with not much going on ,but it is pleasant to wander the alleys and old streets for an hour or two
Be sure to visit Tasquinho De Joao(apologies for the spelling) a restaurant run by a very pleasant lady, her daughters and a French lady cook, the food is excellent, especially the Suckling Pig on Sundays, the portions are enormous and its very inexpensive. If you meet Paulo a chatty local at the restaurant ,don`t forget to buy him a beer, he`s a real nice guy
The Villas are spotless ,cleaned every other day with linen changes each time, The beds are large and firm and the whole apartment is very spacious and comfortable
Andrea ,the receptionist and all the other staff are unobtrusive and very efficient
There is a 20 metre long pool ,also spotless, but take goggles !
The Villas are a little out of the way but if you want peace this may be ideal for you
I`m sure we would be happy to return next time we go to the Algarve

If you go,to Villas Barrocal the Praia Grande beach is about 3 Km from Pera and has miles and miles of beatiful sand to walk on, oh and if you google" save salgados" you can sign a petition to stop the beach and the salt flats and bird sanctuary from being developed

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room for good views! 106 was great and directly opposite the pool and good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BRRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pera
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.8 mi away
Be Smart Terrace Algarve
2.3 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#78 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Colina da Lapa
Colina da Lapa
#3 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
7.7 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vila Senhora da Rocha
Vila Senhora da Rocha
#4 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Barrocal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Barrocal

Property: Villas Barrocal
Address: Urbanizacao do Barrocal | Edf Villas Barrocal, Apartado 164, Pera 8365-211, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Barrocal 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing HolidaysThe Barrocal Villas & Apartments rest in the small village of Pera near the lively resort of Armacao de Pera, just a 5 minute bicycle ride to the spectacular Praia Grande beach on the vacation paradise of the Algarve. Featuring a group of 20 villas and 32 apartments composed of either one or two bedrooms, this 3 Star property is a comfortable base for couples and families wanting affordable accommodation close to a host of activities and attractions, including plenty of golf at the Oceânico Nick Faldo Course, the Oconnell Course and the Salgados Course.Albufeira and Portimão are just a 10 and 15 minutes drive away and Faro International Airport is approximately 55 km from the hotel.Local Tips: The hotel is perfectly positioned for visits to the historic town of Silves with its Castle. Also check out the Salgados Lagoon for an ideal place for bird watching and cycling.Hotel FacilitiesFood, drink and entertainment: Self Catering accommodation. Barrocal Villas & Apartments has a local pool bar available for light meals or snacks or breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villas Barrocal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Barrocal Hotel
Villas Barrocal Portugal/Pera, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing