We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, one-of-a-kind approach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aljezur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tipi Valley Algarve Eco Surf & Yoga Retreat
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great people, one-of-a-kind approach”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A true retreat, if by retreat you mean, "nothing like your daily life." This was five days of (for a beginner, at least) intensive strengthening of the yoga and baby-surf muscles. Wonderful! The staff is great -- truly international, caring, and great cooks! The surf school instructors were equal parts fun-loving and able to break down the elements of surfing to manageable chunks, and the beaches are gorgeous. I only wish the valley where we slept were closer to the ocean.

In the valley, there's birdsong during morning and evening yoga (alas, regularly interrupted by the twang of mosquitos, due to some standing water near the yoga deck), hammocks and walks among cork trees, proprietor's friendly dogs, a walk down to the river, massages on Thursdays, and the sound of the distant surf to lull you to sleep at night (much needed, after a full day of activity). All of these things make for a lovely adventure. It is nearly impossible to return home and stuff yourself back into day-to-day office life when you're done.

Room Tip: All guests stay in tipis. The big one is right in the center of camp, with three beds. Very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is truly magical. Fond memories of falling asleep to beautiful sounds of birds singing, taking solar heated showers with ocean views, beautiful people, wholesome food, serenity, escape from the chaos, amazing beaches, night skies......What more could I have asked for:) Surf and yoga instructors cater for all levels and are friendly and inspiring! Would love to visit again and definitely recommend! A special holiday!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Come here if you'd like to feel like the Queen of Portugal, perhaps Europe and the world. You eat delicious food, dive into surfing (no matter your experience!), and yoga like you've never yoga-ed before--all surrounded by surreal beauty and some very, very amazing staff in Tipi Valley. Please get a Thai Yoga Massage if the opportunity presents itself. And don't forget to check out the stars. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

In 2010 I went on a location-screening trip, to find a good eco, surf and yoga retreat. I travelled to Portugal, on to Spain, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Maui, Costa Rica, Panama, Brazil, Cape Verde, Denmark and … ended up in Portugal again.

I spent the final months of 2012 in Portugal, visiting permaculture-, eco-, sustainable- and self-sufficient villages/communities/resorts.

And I have found the perfect location! In Aljezur - near Arrifana – Portugal: Tipivalley.

As I was travelling around in Europa, I used my surfvan - which I have equipped with solar panels - surfing the beautiful Southwest Coast waves of Portugal, Tipivalley was a bit hard to find at first. (It hides its location.)
But everybody that I spoke to about eco, surf and yoga projects in Aljezur, Lagos and even Sagres, referred me to Laurie’s Tipivalley.

And I must say, it is a truly excellent place. It offers sustainable tourism with an off-grid ocean view in combination with organic food, surfing remote beaches and yoga.

If loved this small-scale sustainable eco, surf and yoga experience in the Algarve and the Avatar kind of IDea behind it!

@sustainitycoach

Room Tip: All rooms have a their own interesting character but sleeping in the 'Large Tipi' (max 3 peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a magical place! We came to Tipi Valley for 5 days of yoga and surf and we could not have picked a more perfect place. The focus of Tipi Valley is simple, natural living. The staff are wonderfully friendly, and so passionate about the beauty of the surrounding landscapes. Cecilia looked after us for the week.. a truly magnificent chef! Most of the food is made using fruits and vegetables onsite. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a few days of total escapism. Amenities are basic but it really is very special.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Riya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aljezur
0.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parque de Campismo de Armacao de Pera
Parque de Campismo de Armacao de...
#9 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Yoga Portugal
Surf Yoga Portugal
#6 of 60 in Ericeira
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque de campismo Orbitur Ilha de Armona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipi Valley Algarve Eco Surf & Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipi Valley Algarve Eco Surf & Yoga Retreat

Property: Tipi Valley Algarve Eco Surf & Yoga Retreat
Address: | Near Monte Clerigo, Aljezur, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Aljezur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Aljezur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SURFING AND YOGA – THE IDEAL COMBINATIONThe Algarve Surf & Yoga Retreat is located in the beautiful Costa Vicentina Natural Park in Portugal's western Algarve. "A unique yoga and eco retreat ", "a great place to surf, practice yoga and relax ! "Imagine… A unique surf experience.Surf uncrowded waves on the unspoiled West Coast of Portugal.Imagine… Practice yoga in the morning and evening, whilst enjoying the ocean air. Breathe in the essential life force that surrounds and sustains us all. Relax, refresh and revitalise the body, mind and spirit.Imagine… Peace, quiet and tranquility all flowing with nature.Algarve Surf & Yoga Camp - A retreat in the true sense of the word !Surfing and Yoga - The ideal combinationAt Algarve Surf & Yoga Retreat we combine yoga and surfing. These two disciplines compliment each other in both beauty and purpose. By harnessing the energy within ourselves and nature, we find our surfing improves, our outlook on life is elevated, our sense of the here and now is heightened and our mind, body and spirit are in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tipi Valley Algarve Eco Surf & Yoga Retreat Aljezur, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing