We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach”
Review of Odeceixe Beach

Odeceixe Beach
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Aljezur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Considered one of the seven best beaches in Portugal. Although, it has more people now than in the past years, it is still relatively quite place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tomanepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    143
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llantrisant, South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In the middle of August - you expect this sort of beach to get busy. You can't keep a beach like this a secret.

This place is really very enchanting. We first visited on a day trip with a toddler 8 years ago. I really was mesmerised then - when there were lillies growing on the cliffs.8 years later we returned with a teenager and a 10yr old, and we all loved it. A bit of a road trip from the Algarve proper, but well worth it in my opinon (even if the road is closed by a RTA, thus causing a massive detour). We are considering setting camp nearer here next time... this part of the Algarve offers so much. The sea here has strong currents, so best to stick near the lifeguards. The river nd the tide here provides quite a variety for a day at the beach.

I feel that a special mention is deserved for the beach cafe "esplanade do Mar" which is near the beach, where the steps are. They make home made chicken pies, samosas, shrimp pancakes, and they were all beautiful. They make THE BEST PASTEL DE NATA EVER (I'm really going to miss them - don't think my cullinary skills are up to making them myself, somehow, despite a few tips from the proprietor. Oh yes, and the fish soup was very good. And the toasties... omlette... Just in case you didn't get the message - I would HIGHLY recommend a visit to the cafe . . . I suppose the queue speaks for itself... Can't wait to return.

PS it is a little cooler here,which was very welcome, as it was 41 degrees on Algarve proper

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Niallafddiancrhaghon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Safe beach”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you're travelling with kids this is a very safe beach. They can have fun in the river and in low tide there are a lot of ponds they can play safely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one of the seven marvels”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The beach is lovely but because it has been labeled one of the seven marvels of Portugal, it has become more populated than any other beach in the area. We steered clear because we like isolated beaches--Praia dos Homens and Bordeira both had fewer people even though Bordeira is a lot like Odeceixe--wide beach with a river inlet. Bordeira also has the advantage of having the cliff walks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljezur, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely, unspoiled beach, fabulous views from the clifftop village above.Very busy in summer holidays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank diversue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odeceixe Beach also viewed

 
Aljezur, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Odeceixe Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing