We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muxima
Nearby Hotels
$98
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Monte da Figueira(Zambujeira do Mar)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte do Papa Leguas(Zambujeira do Mar)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
52
7
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
7
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnatural pooljorgesofiaeucalyptusecoluxuryspotscountrysidenaturebeacheshammocksrelaxationenvironmentcoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 64 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just once in a while everything comes together to make a holiday close to perfect and that was our experience at Muxima. Jorge and Sofia have created a laid back, casual retreat. No TV's, wi-fi only in the guest lounge and quiet, shaded seats and hammocks everywhere. The rooms are simple, comfortable and cool. Book a suite with a kitchenette and separate seating area if you have a family. Chaouen was just perfect for our little family of 3. Our son loved Jorge and adored the animals - a goat, donkey, dogs and a pig, not to mention the hundreds of frogs in the eco-pool. It is simply wonderful.
A great place to let the kids run free. Jorge and Sofia have young boys themselves so there are no worries about it being child friendly. It's only 10-15 mins from some amazing unspoilt beaches which are almost empty.
The daily breakfast is a sociable affair with a varied provision every day and was the highlight of our day. We met a lot of fun, interesting people who also seemed to be enjoying their stay. It is so dark at night we slept incredibly well and more to the point so did our toddler!
We genuinely loved Muxima and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kparsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent three nights here in mid September and really enjoyed it. Jorge and Sofia were welcoming hosts, the breakfasts (served al fresco) were great and the 'biological pool' - a large pond which is cleaned naturally and complete with lily pads and frogs - was unique! We stayed in the Soutouboua suite (bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchenette area) in the 'Casa do Monte', a short distance uphill from the main building. We thought the room was really well decorated and very well equipped for cooking a simple supper (large fridge, all the utensils you need and two electric hobs). Our only complaints would be that it was a bit dark in the room and the bed was quite hard, but apart from that we thought it was great. One other point is that the water is solar heated and although we had brilliant hot, powerful showers in the evening I'm not sure that there would have been so much hot water in the mornings - I don't know but it probably depends on how much you/your neighbours have used the night before. Overall, highly recommended for a warm welcome and a peaceful place to stay close to some great beaches.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the option of preparing food in our room for a simple supper - only the suites have self-catering facilities.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Imagine leaping into a sparkling bio pool with a young child, watching their amazement as they swim up to a lilly-pad full of frogs in the tranquil surroundings of a secluded wooded valley. Or taking hour long breakfasts as your children clamber over haystacks and swings underneath towering old cork trees. Beautiful, regenerating, family-friendly and all run by a lovely couple and their children, who kindly let you into their wonderful world for a few precious days. This is a special place, it's not for everyone, but for those who like the sound of quiet, eco-friendly laid-back luxury.. it is a little piece of heaven, 10 out of ten

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenandbluetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for one night at Muxima in mid-June. At first I was reluctant: the way leading into the house, the isolation, the decor ... I felt it was not for me, I felt I was too old to appreciate the place. But then Jorge and Sofia were so nice, we had such a nice dinner at the restaurant they recommended in Aljezur and after a good night sleep I was convinced. Our room was extremely clean, breakfast was good, the owners were so friendly... For me it was something new, completely different from the kind of accommodation I am used to. We could not stay longer, because we had to move on to the "other" Algarve, but this short stay at Muxima was an interesting, new experience ... All the very best to you, Jorge and Sofia and to your two little boys !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A lovely place, peacefull, where you say goodbye to city and welcome nature. We stayed in Coba, a tematic mexican suit. Excellent in terms of decoration, cleaness, service.
Near Aljezur, and all the beautifull beaches (Amoreira) Muxima is a must go, if you want peace, romantic enviroment.
Go and enjoy for yourself. We must return, Sofia and Jorge done an excellent job...
Muxima is definitly a gem in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoaoRaposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews