We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Muxima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muxima
Ranked #8 of 17 Aljezur B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Imagine leaping into a sparkling bio pool with a young child, watching their amazement as they swim up to a lilly-pad full of frogs in the tranquil surroundings of a secluded wooded valley. Or taking hour long breakfasts as your children clamber over haystacks and swings underneath towering old cork trees. Beautiful, regenerating, family-friendly and all run by a lovely couple and their children, who kindly let you into their wonderful world for a few precious days. This is a special place, it's not for everyone, but for those who like the sound of quiet, eco-friendly laid-back luxury.. it is a little piece of heaven, 10 out of ten

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenandbluetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Muxima
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for one night at Muxima in mid-June. At first I was reluctant: the way leading into the house, the isolation, the decor ... I felt it was not for me, I felt I was too old to appreciate the place. But then Jorge and Sofia were so nice, we had such a nice dinner at the restaurant they recommended in Aljezur and after a good night sleep I was convinced. Our room was extremely clean, breakfast was good, the owners were so friendly... For me it was something new, completely different from the kind of accommodation I am used to. We could not stay longer, because we had to move on to the "other" Algarve, but this short stay at Muxima was an interesting, new experience ... All the very best to you, Jorge and Sofia and to your two little boys !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A lovely place, peacefull, where you say goodbye to city and welcome nature. We stayed in Coba, a tematic mexican suit. Excellent in terms of decoration, cleaness, service.
Near Aljezur, and all the beautifull beaches (Amoreira) Muxima is a must go, if you want peace, romantic enviroment.
Go and enjoy for yourself. We must return, Sofia and Jorge done an excellent job...
Muxima is definitly a gem in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoaoRaposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We are coming to the Algarve for a special holiday, and after looking at all the hotels in the area, we had our hearts set on Muxima, which sounded perfect for us. The hotel has no facility to book online, so we filled out the booking form on their website with specific dates. After 2 days, we hadn't heard back so tried calling Muxima a couple of times with no answer, and no answering service to leave a message. We then filled out another online enquiry form through the booking service I-escape, who confirmed that the enquiry had gone directly to the owners. Still no response. We finally Googled the hotel again and discovered that we could book only book online at one portal -- only for the site to tell us that the last room for our dates had gone 2 hours before!
Considering we had been trying to contact the hotel for four days without luck, this was really disappointing, and terrible customer service. The owners would probably respond that this is their busiest time of the year - but hey, no communication - no customers. The hotel looks great. But we'll never know.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

This is probably the place where we've been more times... and it's always good to be back.
The rooms, the breakfast, the owners, the kids, the pool... everything is amazing! Definitely recomended for a family with kids. And Sofia and Jorge are always improving the place!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcosFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

If you are looking for a place in the middle of nowhere away from tourism this place is a good choice. It is remote and you could almost feel a bit lonely. There is also a bio-pool with little frogs in it - unusual, but really lovely. You need a car that can handle bumpy roads. It is 6 km to perfect beaches and 5 minutes to a little town called Aljezur with one or two good restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista para a mata possuem varanda e rede de descanso.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aljezur
1.2 mi away
Vicentina Hotel
Vicentina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aljezur
111 reviews
20.5 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Herdade Quinta Natura
Herdade Quinta Natura
#6 of 17 in Aljezur
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Monte do Cardal
Monte do Cardal
#3 of 17 in Aljezur
92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Offline Portugal House
Offline Portugal House
#3 of 42 in Aljezur
53 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vale da Telha
Hotel Vale da Telha
#9 of 17 in Aljezur
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muxima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muxima

Address: Montes Ferreiros Cx Postal 265A, Aljezur 8670, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Aljezur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aljezur
Price Range: $118 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muxima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muxima Aljezur, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing