We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A bit off the beaten path, I can see how this is recommended for couples as a romantic getaway. This place only offers a few rooms that are opposite where the owners live and you really feel like you're being welcomed into their home. The owners are fantastic, and you authentically feel like you could be at a good friend's place. At the same time, the room is private with plenty of solo time if you want it. Couldn't hear anything from the other occupied rooms. Each room is a suite, with full breakfast fixings provided.
Some negatives: the curtains are not black-out; the road to get to the B&B is a bit hard to travel on, be warned if you have a luxery or low-clearance vehicle; no internet. The bed was very not comfortable (too soft).
Definitely recommend this location if you're looking for a relaxing and home-y feeling. A nice break from the impersonal chain hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank where_to_next1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn F, Owner at Wallaby Ridge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review Karen. Our boutique nature certainly gives us the luxury of getting to know our guests (if they so wish of course!). Being a rural property our drive is part of its charm and with that in mind:- enjoy the result - the view is superb. We do have wifi, but it is a user pay system, so I am not sure why you no access. Fortunately we dont face East so we havent felt compelled so far to put in total blockout curtains as there is no direct sun on the windows in the early hours, but, thank you for your feedback. We read it in the light of looking for improvement as well as helping other visitors making their decisions.
We hope you return again some day to finish off your exploring - so much to do in this beautiful part of the Scenic Rim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

I surprised my wife by taking her to to this retreat for her birthday. She keeps thanking me as everything was perfect. The accommodation is first class with wide verandas where you can sit never getting tired of the amazing view down the valley, looking at mountains in the horizon. The wallabies crossing the property avoid the fenced vineyard in front of the veranda. The self-contained bedroom and lounge offer plenty of room with well appointed colonial style furnishings. Your hosts Robyn and John are most gracious and if you ask them to join you in partaking of the wonderful meals they cook for the evening meal, you will find they have a lot to contribute to your knowledge of the area and beyond. Try John's "Poulet roti maison". . Ask anything you need, it's never a problem, you hosts are the most gracious people I have met in a long while.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRandJFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn F, Owner at Wallaby Ridge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Jean-Paul, thanks so much for your lovely comments, its food for the soul when our guests enjoy themselves - especially for a "special event' such as a birthday. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as it is 'just around the corner' from my sisters house (my sister's words, I found out she booked it on the internet even though she lives less than 1km away). However it must be 50% vertical, the track leading to it is challenging for a car! However it's worth it, the apartments are really nice, the breakfast provided is generous and the premises, garden, pool, hot tub and the views are excellent. And quiet. I'd buy the place if it was for sale.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterrexwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn F, Owner at Wallaby Ridge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We enjoy our overseas visitors company and comments, so happy you enjoyed your stay. We call our driveway the "stairway to heaven" it gives us our outlook and view, the incline is no worse than the inclines in the local shopping centre carpark (no 4wd required!) but because of the distance it certainly looks steeper, as you reach the top voila! The wallabies scatter or stand and stare - hence the name...thanks for your visit and comments here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Robyn and John have a great AAA 4 star rated property on the west side of Tambourine Mountain. There are three suites, with private lounges and kitchenettes and these are beautifully appointed, oozing quality.
There are lots of Wallabies and wildlife in the surrounding garden and the long verandah looks out to the west and beautiful sunsets. Another feature is the great BBQ area and picking fresh vegetables and herbs from the garden. It's close to the hub of Tambourine, without the business of being in the thick of it!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RobertLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Used wallaby ridge retreat as base camp for our daughter's wedding at a Canungra winery. Perfect location, just the right amount of friendly attention from our hosts, they even pin on flowers! , fantastic accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble, we even got to visit the chickens with our toddler granddaughter. Homemade pizza dinners, yummy breakfasts? This retreat help create a perfect wedding event, we could not have been happier. We asked to stay forever, but unfortunately they were booked. Thanks so much wallaby ridge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Having read the previous reviews we thought we were onto a winner with our stay here. On the whole we had a very pleasant time. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the location is picturesque. However, the rooms are not as private as we'd hoped. In fact they are essentially upmarket motel style rooms [bedroom, large bathroom with generic pump toiletries - not luxury- , separate lounge and kitchenette] in a row in the front half of the owners' home. For somewhere billed as luxury we might have hoped for an outside seating area with some privacy from our immediate neighbours [ and maybe some of the homemade biscuits everyone raves about or even a breakfast a little different from the 2 fatty rashers, basic sausage etc. ] Basically you come out of the lounge onto a shared patio and you're sipping your glass of red a few metres away from complete strangers doing the same You can't have your room curtains open to see the view from your bedroom or look out from your lounge at night, say,as your fellow guests are walking right past your windows on the way to the pool or spa. Their conversations are clearly audible from your room; in fact we were treated to our neighbours' morning TV preferences at 6am on the Sunday of our romantic getaway.
If you're looking for a nice spot to say within striking distance of Albert River Winery [book ahead as they told us they're doing loads of Scoopons and get really busy at the weekends] and O'Reilly's, this is a real find. But it's not a romantic couples retreat. Just go for it with your eyes open and you'll have a lovely stay

Room Tip: The one furthest from the pool would offer most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAnnie3357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The consistency of all the previous reviews tells the whole story. We just kept nodding our heads and saying 'Absolutely!' to all the other guests' comments.Robyn and John have created a wonderfully private and stress free environment. Robyn was the perfect host. On our arrival she provided all the info we needed to make the most of our stay, but then left us to enjoy the peace, quiet and natural beauty that makes this place so addictive. We loved it so much, we're treating our son and fiance to a pre-wedding getaway here to help them 're-discover' each other before the big event. We're looking forward to go back. We could do with a bit more 're-discovering' ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
3.0 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
128 reviews
19.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
1.0 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#4 of 6 in North Tamborine
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
275 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Odd Gecko
The Odd Gecko
#2 of 2 in Canungra
23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallaby Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallaby Ridge Retreat

Address: 88 Bambling Rd | Wonglepong, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: $115 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallaby Ridge Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained facilities and 4 Star AAA rated. Reception hours 8am - 8pm, EST, 7 days. Free WI-FI. Home-cooked meals / BBQ packs available with advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Wallaby Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallaby Ridge Retreat Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing