We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Australia
2 reviews
“THE place to relax”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Desparately needed a break but we had little time. we had wanted to visit O'Reillys for a while and 3 hours drive was manageable. We live overlooking rainforest but the quiet, the views, the bird life close up here was wonderful. The room was very comfortable. If you are looking for modern city type resort/hotel style this is NOT it. These rooms are Australian eco friendly and reflect local resources and building products. Ok some things may be dated but why on earth do people expect perfectly functional items to be replaced
just because they are more than 2 years old?? Price surely isn't defined by the newness of your decor!
There is plenty to do without spending on extras but the extras cover a wide variety of activities. Cost wise to me it's like the Royal Show, you would like to go on everything but budget wise you nneedeed to make choices, same here.
Do as many walks as you are able there are some incredible places to be discovered and flora and fauna to be seen.
Food we found to be very good. Breakfast was in our package and I would recommend this option, dinner no more expensive than a city restaurant, yet given distance of procuring fresh produce I think it is reasonable.
This is a family run place, 3 generations or more and family members are incredibly knowledgeable and more than happy to cook your toast, talk about old times and share tales of Queensland pioneering history

Room Tip: There are many room types available so check exactly what you are booking and how close to dining ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriceAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Patrice,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review O'Reilly's.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and your overall experience with our attractions, guest rooms and dining exceeded your expectations!

Have a wonderful week and we hope to see you back up on the mountain again one day soon.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    348
    142
    76
    46
See reviews for
332
556
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This was a very good place to stay and have an introduction to the wildlife of the area and it pays to do the package and pay up front for the excursions, if you are interested. Saw birds in an early morning walk and other wildlife in an evening excursion as well as films and wildlife talks with captive fauna. The room was good and the food excellent, given that it is fairly remote.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EssexFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property.

It sounds like you are very interested in flora and fauna, we hope that our facilities and activities lived up to your expectations throughout your stay.

I have also passed on your feedback to our kitchen team. We recently had a new Head Chef start with us and his primary goals have been to introduce delicious new menus and lift the overall consistency of food quality.

We hope to see you up at the Green Mountains again soon!

Best Regards,

The O'Reilly's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a delightful 2 night stay in a Mountain View Room at this incredible location... On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was absolutely lovely, with a big bathroom and huge bedroom/lounge... The balcony gave us tremendous views over the gardens and mountains and pademelons, wallabies and a variety of birds all visiting the area just below. The breakfast buffet was lovely, the early morning bird walk, fun and interesting and the Glow Worm tour, simply amazing with the passionate stories and knowledge provided by Glen. We walked for hours along the trails, spotting all sorts of wildlife, including pythons, red bellies, wallabies, lizards and amazing birds....my only slight criticism is that the dinner menu was very expensive and limited... We ate in the bar both nights as we didn't like the sound of anything on the restaurant menu...we had a pizza, which was very nice and a chicken dish which was very pricey for what we got.... But all in all, this was one of the best places we have ever stayed....a slice of paradise....would love to spend more time there...highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liam Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Liam,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and were able to really experience what O'Reilly's has to offer in regards to walking trails, flora and fauna.

On another note, we never like to hear negative feedback regarding our dining options, we apologise for your experience with our restaurant on this occasion. I have passed this feedback onto management so that they can use it to make improvements for the future.

We hope to see you at O'Reilly's again one day!

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I recently had the opportunity to take a few days off and chose to visit the Lamington National Park to recharge our batteries. With our busy lifestyles, it was wonderful to be able to take time away from television, radio and the internet, and O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat again proved to be the perfect spot for us. .Our Mountain View room was spacious and clean, with a lovely private balcony overlooking the valleys and mountains. We thought to bring some wine, cheese, quince and crackers with us, so watching the sunset became a very special time. The choice of meals is excellent, with restaurant, bar room and café options and breakfast a highlight, providing an excellent start to the day. The highlight of the region was of course the bushwalking and the tracks from O’Reilly’s provide all level and types of walks, enough to suit all tastes. On all walks you will encounter a wide variety of birds, animals and plants and I would recommend the early morning bird walk as a perfect introduction as to what to look out for. I would also recommend the slide show presentation by Peter O’Reilly where the history of the guesthouse and the story of the Stinson rescue is explained. I have read some previous reviews where the costs at the retreat have been criticised. Please remember that the location and isolation of O’Reilly’s are the main attractions, and we found the costs consistent with other similar locations. Costs can be mitigated by a little planning ahead and taking advantage of the specials, and all in all I would heartily recommend O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat as the ideal getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

We always love to hear positive feedback from our guests and it sounds like you and your partner had a great time during your stay at O'Reilly's!

On behalf of the entire team, I hope that we will see you up on the mountain again one day.

Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I travelled with my best friend for a girls weekend away from the hubby and kids. So, we would have been happy with anything really!
However, the room we stayed in was dated and the bathroom would have had to be about 20 years old. Had we not booked on a 50% off sale and secured the room for $150 a night you would be seriously disappointed with paying $300 for that room. The check in staff did try to offer us a better room but couldn't offer us separate beds, only a queen to share which we weren't comfortable with.
Dinner was beautiful and very nice food. Sure it was a little on the expensive side, but unless you have a self contained cabin where else are you gonna eat??
We went on a Segway tour which was excellent value. The promised 90min tour turned into about 3.5 hours of fun and laughs with other guests. Highly recommend this and the guide was great.
We then rode the flying fox which was also heaps of fun. We only got three goes as there was a group of 21 having a turn. There is a VERY steep dirt hill to climb to get to the top
The rainforest treetop walk is lovely especially early in the morning.
Breakfast was amazing and you really couldn't want for anything more, cereal, pastries, fruit, juice, tea/coffeebacon, sausage, eggs etc and a nice touch with members of the O'Reilly family making the toast for the guests.
We felt the day spa was very expensive and even though we wanted a massage were out off by $150 for an hour.
The beds were very comfortable and the rooms pitch black at night. Lovely birds landing on the railing while we enjoyed happy hour. The sunsets are exquisite - head to the upstairs bar and watch it with a cocktail.
Overall, it was a great weekend and we would definitely return. The staff are lovely, friendly and professional. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicimelda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and honest review of your stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you made such good use of our activities and your dining experience lived up to expectations. We also agree that the sunset at O'Reilly's is up there as one of the best in the world!

As for the pricing of rooms and the spa, we always try to ensure that all of our guests feel that they receive value for money. We value feedback such as yours, as it allows us to determine new and better value pricing strategies throughout the year.

On behalf of O'Reilly's, we hope to see you again on the mountain soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed in one of the older (I think) wooden chalets that overlook the valley. Perfectly acceptable facilities and comfortable. The walks from the hotel are sensational, some a little challenging but worth the extra effort. the food is good in the restaurant and the staff friendly. The residents lounge could be pleasant for after dinner coffee but I was surprised to find it monopolised by the overseas casual staff on working visas. It certainly wasn't a quiet relaxing atmosphere at times !!! The reception said this was the only place the staff could get wifi ! I remain surprised. Yes it was pricey but you could demand the price for the unique locate I guess. The early morning bird walk was superb and free to guests. Sort out the residents lounge and it gets 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property!

We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We apologise for your experience with the library in the evening. As you can see from our location it has been very difficult to roll out internet services for the whole property until 2014. From February - March, Our communications provider will be installing up to date internet services for the whole property including staff housing, so this should be an issue that will never arise again.

We hope to see you up on the mountain again one day.

Best Regards,

The O'Reilly's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed in the cabins which were a 10 minute walk to the main complex. The accommodation was absolutely wonderful, each room had an ensuite and the kitchen was well equipped. Lovely views from the balcony and shared pool. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Downsides were that extras were very expensive. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was about $60 each for a three course meal, other activities also very expensive such as the glow worm tour at $30 each. This tour is advertised as also a spotlighting walk however there were about 30 tourists the night we went thus very noisy so we didn't see a thing apart from the glow worms (which are impressive, but you can see for free if you know where to look in the area). Cabins generally quiet apart from one morning two groundskeepers pulled up outside and had a loud discussion for about half an hour. Can get cold up there even in the summer so pack a jumper! Great walks around the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are glad to hear that your accommodation lived up to expectations, the staff were helpful and our amenities were to your liking.

I'm sorry to hear that our maintenance staff were too loud on one occasion, we will have a meeting with the team to discuss the issue and ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Have a great week and we hope to see you at O'Reilly's again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
23.9 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
19.1 mi away
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
#2 of 7 in Canungra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
18.6 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
21.4 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Property: O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Canungra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing